.

约翰内斯堡在社区领导的城市设计中测试《我的世界》和混合现实

By on 2017-09-19

学员们探索混合现实中的设计。照片版权:Felix Vollmann/联合国人居署

约翰内斯堡,2017919——联合国人居署及其合作伙伴正在探索如何使用“混合现实”促进社区参与城市公共空间的规划。

近年来,联合国人居署越来越多地使用数字工具,推动可持续城市发展,常常与技术伙伴展开合作。

2012年以来,人居署与《我的世界》的制作公司Mojang合作,实施Block by Block方案(Block by Block),即以《我的世界》作为社区参与工具,用于设计城市公共空间。《我的世界》是全球最流行的视频游戏之一,是一款想象力丰富的简单3D建模工具,全球用户量超过1亿。

该项目在《我的世界》里建设公共空间,向公民提供设计培训,给学员机会在这款游戏中重新设计空间,并向地方政府决策者提出意见建议。这个方法极为成功,为全球各地30多个城市所采用,包括内罗毕、阿克拉、孟买、河内、普里什蒂纳、墨西哥城、利马、开罗和加沙等。

同时,人居署与科技公司爱立信的设计战略组合作,调研如何使用信息通信技术促进城市的社会变革。此类的一个项目Maji Wazi探索如何使用基础的水位传感器和众包数据支持内罗毕贫民窟的供水。该项目以过去的一项行动为基础。该行动提供机会制定诸多明确的概念,用于讨论内罗毕未来移动网络和城市繁荣之间的潜在联系。

 

混合现实的应用

约翰内斯堡Braamfontein《我的世界》培训班。照片版权:Joakim Formo/爱立信公司

目前,上述两项合作均被纳入“通过公共空间建设公共城市”项目(Building the Public City Through Public Space)。该项目由约翰内斯堡发展局(Johannesburg Development Agency)、联合国人居署、南非金山大学(Wits University)联合实施,旨在改善约翰内斯堡的公共空间。人居署在约翰内斯堡Fak’ugesi节(Fak’ugesi Festival)期间组织试点培训,以测试如何把“混合现实”作为Block by Block项目的附加组件。

混合现实是新技术创新,包括虚拟现实和增强现实,使用户可以在“现实世界”体验数字对象。如果虚拟现实是浸入完全的数字环境,那么增强现实就是在现实世界的视角中叠加数字对象,混合现实则是把现实环境与虚拟环境混合起来,营造新型体验,使物质对象和数字对象实时共存和互动。

在城市规划设计领域,这就意味着虚拟建筑被现实建筑和树木部分遮挡,反之亦然,或把公关空间的柏油路变为草地,或使一些基础设施透明,可以从后方看到。

爱立信的设计战略实验室正在开发混合现实的应用软件,使上述体验达到城市规模,即时、移动、实时、感受真切。目前,许多虚拟现实和增强现实的设备由于传感器跟踪范围有限,或要求设置跟踪设备,而仅限于室内环境或特定场所。

 

即时、移动、实时

爱立信设计战略组认为,这意味着城市规模的混合现实平台的一大要素是城市的3D模型。该模型可以作为精确设备定位和数字对象真实渲染的参考。一些城市已经开始开发这一模型。

3天来,毗邻的露丝班克学院(Rosebank College)和南非金山大学的学生们与居民、路人、Faku’gesi节的参与者一道,使用《我的世界》众包并共同设计理念,改善约翰内斯堡内城Braamfontein的公共空间Eland公园(Eland Park)。

《我的世界》是有效的工具,可使非专业人士把城市设计理念迅速绘制成3D,并提交给专业人士和市政府。本次培训班提出的建议各不相同,但都关注提高繁华的Bertha街的安全,促进Stiemens街的步行化,及为定期使用这一空间的数百名学生加强安保、提供坐椅和活动等。

学员们使用《我的世界》完成设计后,爱立信设计战略组把学员们的作品导入混合现实的应用程序原型,建设公共空间的精细3D模型。人们在外出时,可以使用配有3D传感器的特殊智能手机,观看现实生活的《我的世界》设计,包括绕过数字对象在街道上行走,就好像那些对象真实存在一样。

南非金山大学的城市设计师解读了人们通过《我的世界》项目表达的需求和意见,设计出首个3D提案,用于改善这个场所。其提案可以通过混合现实平台观看。

联合国人居署、约翰内斯堡发展局、南非金山大学将合作把这次创新的社区参与项目中提出的部分理念付诸实施。相关工程定于2018年完工。令我们激动的是,将来有可能继续试验混合现实和合作城市设计。这是正在发展的最新技术,应用于城市发展领域明显有诸多可能,例如使公民参与进程更包容、更便利等。

Testing Minecraft and mixed-reality for community-led urban design in Johannesburg

By on 09/19/2017

Participants exploring their designs in mixed reality. Credit: Felix Vollmann/UN-Habitat

Johannesburg, 19 September 2017 – UN-Habitat and its partners are exploring how “mixed reality” can be used to boost community participation in planning urban public space.

Over the last few years, UN-Habitat has increasingly been working with digital tools for sustainable urban development, often in collaboration with technology partners.

Since 2012, the organization has been working with Mojang, the company that makes Minecraft, on Block by Block, a programme that uses Minecraft as a community participation tool in the design of urban public spaces. Minecraft is one of the world’s most popular video games, best imagined as a simple 3D modelling tool, which has over 100 million users worldwide.

The project builds public spaces in Minecraft, provides design training to citizens and then gives them the opportunity to redesign the spaces in the game and present their ideas to local government decision-makers. The methodology has proven remarkably successful and has been used in more than 30 cities worldwide, including Nairobi, Accra, Mumbai, Hanoi, Pristina, Mexico City, Lima, Cairo and Gaza.

At the same time, UN-Habitat has been working with technology company Ericsson’s Strategic Design unit, to investigate how ICT can contribute to urban social change. One such project, Maji Wazi, explored how basic water sensors and crowdsourced data could support access to water in Nairobi’s slums. It built on a previous activity which had the scope to develop a number of tangible concepts to frame discussions about the potential relations between future mobile networks and urban prosperity in Nairobi.

Bringing mixed reality to the mix

Minecraft workshop, Braamfontein, Johannesburg. Credit: Joakim Formo/Ericsson

Now these two collaborations are coming together as part of Building the Public City Through Public Space, a Johannesburg Development Agency, UN-Habitat and Wits University project to improve public spaces in Johannesburg. UN-Habitat arranged a pilot workshop during the Fak’ugesi Festival in Johannesburg in order test how “mixed reality” could be used as an additional component in the Block by Block process.

Mixed reality is a new technical innovation which includes both virtual and augmented reality and allows you to experience digital objects in the “real world”. If virtual reality is immersion in a completely digital environment and augmented reality is digital objects overlaid on a real-world view, mixed reality is the blending of real and virtual environments to create new types of experiences where physical and digital objects coexist and interact in real time.

In the context of urban planning and design, this could mean virtual buildings being partly occluded by real buildings and trees, or vice versa, or having the asphalt in a public space change to grass, or making some infrastructure transparent to be able to see behind it.

Ericsson’s Strategic Design Lab are developing mixed reality applications that enable these experiences on a city-scale; instant, mobile, in real time, and with a very realistic experience. Many of the current virtual and augmented reality devices have sensors with a limited range or require a setup with tracking devices, which makes them limited to indoor environments or specific locations.

Instant, mobile, real-time

Ericsson Strategic Design think that this means that one key component for a city-scale mixed reality platform is a 3D model of the city, which can serve as a reference for precise device positioning and realistic rendering of digital objects. Some cities have already started developing these.

Over three days, students from nearby Rosebank College and Wits University worked with residents, passers-by and Faku’gesi Festival participants to use Minecraft to crowdsource and co-create design ideas to improve Eland Park, a public space in Braamfontein, inner-city Johannesburg.

Minecraft is an effective tool to enable non-professionals to quickly sketch out urban design ideas in 3D and present them to professionals and city authorities. The ideas from this workshop were varied and focused on improving safe access across the busy Bertha Street, pedestrianising Stiemens Street, increasing security and providing seating and activities for the hundreds of students who regularly use the space.

Once the participants finished designing in Minecraft, the Ericsson team exported their creations to a mixed reality prototype application, building on a detailed 3D model of the public space. People could then go outside and, using special smartphones with 3D-sensors, view their Minecraft designs in real life, including walking around the digital objects out on the street as if they were physically present.

An urban designer from Wits then interpreted the needs and ideas that people expressed through the Minecraft process and designed a first 3D proposal for improving the site. This could also be viewed through the mixed reality platform.

UN-Habitat, the Johannesburg Development Agency and Wits will now work together to physically implement some of the ideas that have come out of this innovative community participation process. Work is expected to be completed in 2018. We are also very excited with the possibility of continuing to experiment with mixed reality and collaborative urban design. This is very much new technology under development, but clearly has many possible applications in the urban development field, for example making citizen participation processes more inclusive and accessible.

Translate »
Main Menu