.

主要行动者召开会议推动缅甸执行应对气候变化的国家政策

By on 2018-11-05

缅甸内比都,201811—— 150 多名代表,包括缅甸各部委、邦和地区政府官员、及学术界、私营部门、公民社会和发展合作伙伴的代表,参加了内比都举行的会议,庆祝缅甸气候变化联盟(MCCA)举行的成就,讨论后续的举措。

五年来,缅甸气候变化联盟支持缅甸政府,在其改革和发展议程中考虑到气候变化的问题。大会最后举行的推广研讨会汇聚了重要的利益相关方,讨论执行国家政策和项目,在缅甸抵御气候变化的影响。

五年来,得益于欧洲联盟的资助、及联合国人居署、联合国环境规划署的技术和运营支持,缅甸政府大有进步,制定了专门的治理框架,应对气候变化对缅甸经济的破坏性冲击,改善人民生活,同时为低碳未来做出规划。缅甸气候变化联盟提高了公众的认识,加深理解、增强能力,在地方层面的部门政策和为适应气候试行的举措中考虑到气候变化的问题。

近期发布的政府间气候变化问题委员会《全球升温1.5摄氏度特别报告》(Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report on Global Warming of 1.5ºC )描绘了世界无望的未来。如果不断然采取行动,把全球升温控制在1.5摄氏度,那么在气候变化的破坏下,世界的未来将一片晦暗。缅甸的风险尤为突出。据记录,缅甸发生的洪灾、旋风、旱灾数量有所增长,造成大量人员死伤、基础设施被破坏、财产损失、经济冲击等严峻后果。气候变化是缅甸发展公认的重要威胁,体现为最近通过的《缅甸可持续发展规划》(MSDP)。该规划把应对气候变化的行动直接纳入其第五项目标,即为后代子孙保护自然资源和环境。

缅甸自然资源与环境保护部部长吴翁温(U Ohn Win)在大会最后的推广研讨会上说:“其实,气候变化的挑战只有通过在各部门的利益相关方、机构、私营和公共部门、及缅甸公民之间建立起伙伴关系,才能解决。”

欧洲联盟驻缅甸代表团合作事务主管Johann Hesse博士强调:“欧洲联盟致力于支持在缅甸乃至全球采取行动抵御气候变化。缅甸气候变化联盟推动缅甸政府的工作,为缅甸搭建了有气候韧性的、低碳的发展之路。《缅甸气候变化政策和战略》一经通过,即将从战略上应对气候变化给缅甸造成的严峻影响,将保障社会经济发展与高效利用资源相辅相成。”

联合国环境规划署亚洲和太平洋区域办事处地区气候变化协调员Mozaharul Alam强调,近年来,缅甸已经为实际行动奠定了稳固的基石,包括发展政策工具、确认适应和缓解气候变化的融资机遇等,使缅甸踏上了采取迫切行动应对气候变化的正确道路。他重申,缅甸准备采纳定下明确期限的战略,即《缅甸气候变化战略和总体规划》。该规划设立了部门目标,从要点上保障韧性建设不会把任何一个人落下,包括弱势部门和群体、解决方案提供商等。

人居署驻缅甸国家项目经理Bijay Karmacharya提醒与会者:“大家不要忘记,针对气候变化建立强大的法律制度框架,以实践行动为支撑,将有助于我们实现《可持续发展目标》,消除贫困,打造强大的经济体,在所有地方建设更安全、更健康、更宜居的社会。”

大会最后的推广研讨会集中两个高层小组座谈,讨论各部委如何执行《缅甸气候变化政策》(MCCP)和《缅甸气候变化战略和总体规划2018-2030》(MCCSMP),及学术界、私营部门、媒体和公民社会的合作伙伴如何进一步支持在缅甸所有部门执行气候变化行动。

Key actors gather to foster implementation of Myanmar’s national climate change policy

By on 11/05/2018

Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, November 2018– – Over 150 participants, ranging from government officials across ministries and from Myanmar’s States and Regions to representatives from academia, private sector, civil society and development partners, gathered in Nay Pyi Taw to celebrate the achievements of Myanmar Climate Change Alliance (MCCA) and discuss next steps.

The MCCA programme has supported the Government of Myanmar to integrate climate change considerations into its reform and development agenda over the last five years. The final dissemination workshop brought together important stakeholders working on the implementation of national policies and programmes against the impact of climate change in the country.

Thanks to the financial contribution of the European Union and the technical and operational support of UN-Habitat and UN Environment, the Government of Myanmar has made great strides over the last five years in developing dedicated governance structures to address the destructive impacts of climate change on Myanmar’s economy, and to improve the lives of its people, while planning for a low-carbon future. The MCCA has raised awareness, enhanced understanding and capacity to integrate climate change considerations into sectoral policies and piloted climate adaptation measures at the local level.

The recently released Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report on Global Warming of 1.5ºC paints a bleak picture of a future world riddled by climate impacts if drastic actions are not taken to limit global warming to 1.5ºC. Myanmar is especially at risk, having recorded increased incidents of floods, cyclones, and droughts which have caused immense loss of lives and suffering, damage to infrastructure and assets and economic impacts. Climate change is recognised as a key threat to the country’s development, as reflected by the recently adopted Myanmar Sustainable Development Plan (MSDP), where action on climate change is directly incorporated under its fifth goal on natural resources and the environment for national posterity.

At the final dissemination workshop, U Ohn Win, Minister of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation said: “In effect, the challenges posed by climate change can only be addressed by a partnership of stakeholders, across sectors, institutions, the private and public sector and citizens of Myanmar.”

Dr Johann Hesse, Head of Cooperation, Delegation of the European Union to Myanmar, emphasised: “The European Union is committed to support action against climate change within its borders and across the world. MCCA has contributed to the government’s efforts to build a climate resilient and low carbon development pathway for Myanmar. The Myanmar Climate Change Policy and Strategy – when adopted – will offer a strategic answer to the severe impact of climate change in the country and will ensure that socio-economic development goes together with an efficient use of resources.”

Mozaharul Alam, Regional Coordinator, Climate Change Programme, Asia and the Pacific Office of UN Environment, emphasized that the right building blocks for action have been laid in Myanmar in the last years, including the development of policy instruments and identification of finance opportunities for adaptation and mitigation, which sets Myanmar on the right path for taking urgent action on climate change. He reiterated that Myanmar is about to adopt a clear timebound strategy in the form of the Myanmar Climate Change Strategy and Master Plan which has sectoral goals and targets, and which contains key points that ensure resilience is built in a way that leaves no one behind – both vulnerable sectors and societies, solution providers.

Bijay Karmacharya, Country Programme Manager for UN-Habitat, reminded the audience: “Let us not forget that a strong legal and institutional framework on climate change, backed by action on the ground will help us achieve the Sustainable Development Goals to end poverty, build stronger economies and safer, healthier, and more liveable societies everywhere.”

The final dissemination workshop brought together two high-level panels to discuss how sectoral ministries would implement the Myanmar Climate Change Policy (MCCP) and the Myanmar Climate Change Strategy and Master Plan (MCCSMP) 2018-2030 and how partners from academia, private sector, media and civil society can further support implementation of climate change actions across all sectors in Myanmar.

Main Menu