.

本地妇女和难民营妇女支持能源与适应气候变化综合规划

By on 2017-12-08

Kalobeyei2017128—— 联合国人居署与世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)、宾夕法尼亚州立大学农学院国际项目办公室合作启动项目,在Kalobeyei 新难民营和本地社区生产型煤,以改善烹饪所需的能源供给。

该项目得到日本政府,日本国际农林水产业研究中心(JIRCAS),国际农业研究磋商组织(CGIAR)水、土和与生态系统(WLE)支持。项目研究主题是可持续城乡关系。

在综合性、参与式的进程中,该项目鼓励技术开发、创造就业、创收,鼓励难民与本地社区共同营造清洁健康的生活,以建设可持续的、融合的难民营。

12月,该项目开办了第一期培训班。培训班由Mary Njenga博士促成。她是非洲乃至全球生物能源、环境管理和社会性别领域著名的科学家和从业者。

 

传统的烹饪燃料

在卡库玛(Kakuma)和Kalobeyei,本地社区和难民营都以木炭和木柴为烹饪燃料。最贫困住户得到烹饪所需能源的救济,但只够满足他们约10%的需求。

难民妇女在周围树林拾柴。这项劳动对于妇女、儿童既劳累,又威胁到生命,包括强奸的威胁,还造成难民与本地社区发生冲突,导致土地恶化等。本地妇女使用传统的窑烧制木炭,几天时间才能烧出炭,且产量很低。

许多小块废木炭用不了,就堆弃在生产场地。培训班教学员们回收这些废木炭、小树枝等资源,用来生产型煤。学员们还得到机会,在难民营分捡有机废弃物,用于制作型煤。

Kalobeyei镇本地妇女使用小枝条制作木炭,用于生产型煤。照片版权:Mary Njenga

培训班在筹备过程中得到联合国人居署的支持。世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)的专家培训了本地社区的20名妇女,主要加工原材料、手工制作并检测型煤、及用型煤做烹饪燃料。前两天,妇女们学习了不同的制作工艺,第三天妇女们试验用型煤做燃料,给全组同学煮茶。

 

住房和能源供给的综合规划

学员们注意到,以阴凉地晒了三天的炭泥为粘结剂,制作出来的型煤虽然看起来比木炭、木柴产生的热量小,但用作烹饪燃料一点不差。妇女们兴奋地发现,型煤烧得慢、烧得久。她们期待以型煤为烹饪燃料,用玉米和豆子做一道叫作gather的菜。做这道菜需要几个小时,耗费大量燃料。

该项目旨在使用难民营中不同来源的有机废弃物,尤其是市场原料,手工制作型煤,销往市场,作为替代木炭和木柴的可持续燃料之选。这将有助于降低难民烹饪所需能源的高额赤字。难民们应对赤字的策略是,或出售或交换他们微薄的救济食品,以取得烹饪用的燃料。

世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)将开展实验,评估型煤的燃料特性,并进行烹饪检测,评估使用型煤做烹饪燃料产生的气体及颗粒物浓度。实验结果将用于建议采用最健康的做法,进一步影响住房的设计。

该项目保障了公共空间的可持续性,保护了本地自然资源,在经济上赋权妇女,在难民和本地社区间建立联系促进和谐共处,同时抓住了经济机遇。

Kalobeyei镇的本地妇女

Women in Host, Refugee Communities Supporting Energy, Climate Change Integrated Planning

By on 12/08/2017

Kalobeyei, 8 December 2017 – In collaboration with the World Agroforestry Center (ICRAF) and the Office of International Programs, College of Agricultural Sciences, Pennsylvania State University, UN-Habitat has launched a project for briquette production in Kalobeyei new refugee settlement and the host community in a commitment to improve access to cooking energy.

The programme is supported by the Government of Japan, the Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS) and Water Land and Ecosystems (WLE) of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) through its research theme on sustaining rural-urban linkages.

Through the integrated and participatory process, this project encourages skills development, job creation, income generation and establishment of sustainable integration of refugees and host communities by working together for a clean and healthy livelihood.

In December, the first workshop was facilitated by Dr. Mary Njenga, a renewed research scientist and practitioner on bioenergy, environmental management and gender in Africa and worldwide.

Traditional cooking fuels

In Kakuma and Kalobeyei, both host and refugee communities depend on charcoal and firewood as cooking fuel. Where cooking energy is included in relief, it is provided to the most vulnerable households and only covers about 10% of their needs.

Refugee women source firewood from the surrounding woodlands, an activity that is exhausting and life threatening for women and children including rape and is associated with conflict with host communities and land degradation. Women in the host community produce charcoal using traditional kilns that takes days to have charcoal ready and the amounts produced are so low.

Lots of charcoal waste made of small pieces that are not useful are left in the production sites as well as small branches of trees, resources they are being trained to recover for briquette making. Opportunities are also being identified for sourcing of organic waste in the refugee camp for briquette making.

Host community women in Kalobeyei town, making charcoal from small twigs for briquette production. Photo by Mary Njenga

With preparation support from UN-Habitat, the ICRAF expert has trained 20 women from the host communities focusing on processing raw materials, hand making and testing of briquettes as well as using them for cooking. In the first two days the women learned different manufacturing techniques, and in the third day of the workshop the women tested the briquettes by cooking tea for the whole group.

Integrated planning for shelter and energy provision

They noticed that the briquettes made from charcoal dust and soil as a binder dried in three days under shade and although they appeared to produce less intense heat compared to charcoal or firewood they cooked as well. The women were excited that the briquettes burned slowly for a long period and they looked forward to using them for cooking gather, a mixture of maize and beans, which takes hours to prepare consuming a lot of fuel.

The project aims to use waste organic materials from different sources at the Refugee Settlement, in particular from markets, and use it for hand making briquettes that will be sold in the market as sustainable alternatives to compliment charcoal and firewood. This will help reduce the high cooking energy deficit suffered by the refugees who as a coping in strategy barter or trade the little food they receive to source cooking fuel.

ICRAF will conduct laboratory tests to assess the burning characterizes as well as carry out cooking tests to assess the concentrations of gases and particles resulting from cooking with the briquettes. The results will advise on the healthiest practice that further influences the shelter design.

The activity ensures sustainability of public space, conservation of the local natural resources, economic empowerment for women and establishing linkages between refugee and host communities towards a peaceful coexistence, while seizing economic opportunities

Host community women in Kalobeyei Town

Translate »
Main Menu