联合国人居署在2019国家适应气候变化行动方案博览会上发布国家适应气候变化行动方案应对人居问题指南

By on 2019-04-10

韩国松岛,2019410—— 联合国人居署借国家适应气候变化行动方案博览会在韩国举行之机, 推广其制定的最新指南。

国家适应气候变化行动方案博览会为人居署提供了机遇, 发布国家适应气候变化行动方案应对城市和人居问题的最新指南, 并应各国的要求、评估各国的意愿, 在国家适应气候变化行动的规划进程中加强人居工作。

目前,在《巴黎协定》和国家自主贡献(NDCs)中,适应气候变化的需求和各国的优先考虑事项数量庞大。迄今为止,113个国家在其国家自主贡献中列出了城市及城市相关的适应气候变化优先事项,其中许多国家,共73国,以在城市一级适应气候变化的行动为焦点。

松岛的年度会议由《联合国气候变化框架公约》(UNFCCC)下设的最不发达国家事务专家组(LEG)承办,旨在促进交流经验,推动广大行为方和利益相关方之间就如何推进国家适应气候变化行动方案达成伙伴关系。该会议汇聚了300多名专家及各国政府、国际组织、私营部门组织和学术界的代表。

要使城市和人居问题融入国家适应气候变化行动方案,应当赋权各国更全面地应对城市社区及相关城市经济活动的需求,以适应气候变化。另一个重大机遇是各国政府可以利用城市大规模适应气候变化、发展项目的机遇。适应气候变化、发展项目是今年国家适应气候变化行动方案博览会的主要焦点。该博览会的会址紧邻绿色气候基金(GCF)的办公地点。 

对于人居署而言,国家适应气候变化行动方案提供了重大机遇,帮助各国实现更具韧性、更可持续的城市发展,对于实现《可持续发展目标》的目标11(建设可持续的城市和社区)和目标13(气候行动)所含的具体目标至关重要。人居署制定的国家适应气候变化行动方案指南代表着在支持城市和各国从战略上提升城市适应气候变化的行动规划的进程中迈进了一步。该指南是《联合国气候变化框架公约》国家适应气候变化行动方案技术纲要的补充文件,旨在支持各国的城市和城市一级的规划者、专家和决策者在适应气候变化的工作中更好地理解适应气候变化行动对于人类住区的需求、带给人类住区的机遇,尤其是如何与《巴黎协定》国家自主贡献所设立的更广泛的目标联系起来。

即将出现的城市化和气候变化发展趋势很可能加剧城市应对海平面上升日益严峻的威胁、气候极端变化及相关灾害的脆弱度。城市人口日益增长,要求建立新的基础设施,这给城市带来机遇,可以采取更具成本效益的举措,以适应气候变化(和缓解气候变化)、提升行动、吸引支持适应气候变化的资金。

根本性的问题主导了会议的进程,指出和描述如何利用资金杠杆来有效地执行国家适应气候变化行动方案,及各国政府、次区域政府、地方政府、私营部门和公民社会行为方需要采取哪种合作或协作机制。

绿色气候基金和几个伙伴政府出席了本次发布会。发布会还意味着人居署诚邀各国和城市提升行动、加快执行。人居署随时准备支持各成员国更有力地把人居融入国家适应气候变化规划和行动。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

UN-Habitat presents guide on addressing human settlements in National Adaptation Plans at NAP Expo 2019

By on 04/10/2019

Songdo, Republic of South Korea 10 April 2019—  UN-Habitat is using the ongoing National Adaptation Plans  (NAP) Expo in South Korea to promote a new guide it has developed.

The NAP Expo format provides the opportunity for UN-Habitat to present its newest guide on Addressing Urban and Human Settlement Issues in National Adaptation Plans and to gauge interest in and respond to country requests on strengthening human settlement components in their National Adaptation Planning process. 

Currently, adaptation needs and priorities of countries expressed in the Paris Agreement and NDCs are tremendous. To date, 113 countries have included urban or urban related adaptation priorities in their Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), and many of these -73 countries – are focused on city level climate change adaptation action in cities. 

The annual event in Songdo event organized by the Least Developed Countries Expert Group (LEG) under the UNFCCC is meant to promote exchange of experiences and foster partnerships between a wide range of actors and stakeholders on how to advance National Adaptation Plans (NAPs). The event brings together over 300 experts and representatives from national governments, international organizations, private sector organizations and academia.

Integrating urban and human settlements issues into NAPs should enable countries to more comprehensively address the needs of urban communities and related urban economic activities to adapt to climate change. Another major opportunity is for national governments to harness the opportunities of cities for large scale adaptation impact and project development, a major focus of this year’s NAP Expo, held at the doorsteps of the Green Climate Fund (GCF). 

For UN-Habitat, the NAP process offers a great opportunity to help countries achieve more resilient and sustainable urban development, critical to the achievement of the goals and targets of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 11 (Sustainable Cities and Communities) and 13 (Climate Action). The NAP guide prepared by UN-Habitat constitutes a step forward in supporting cities and countries to strategically scale-up urban adaptation action planning. This guide comes as a supplement to the UNFCCC’s NAP technical guidelines and is designed to support national city and city level planners, experts and decision-makers working on climate change issues to better understand the need and opportunities that adaptation actions can bring in human settlements, and particularly how this links with broader goals and ambitions laid out in the NDCs under the Paris Agreement. 

Upcoming urbanization and climate change trends are likely to increase the vulnerability of cities under the growing threats from sea level rise, extreme variations in climate and related disasters. The need for new infrastructures to accommodate growing urban population needs represent an opportunity for cities to apply more cost-effective measures to address climate adaptation (and mitigation), scale-up action, and attract adaptation finance.

Fundamental questions guided the session, pointing out and describing how to leverage finance for the effective implementation of NAPs and which cooperation and coordination mechanisms are needed between national, sub-regional and local governments, key private and civic society actors.

 This launch, in the presence of the Green Climate Fund and several partner governments, is another invitation from UN-Habitat to countries and cities to scale up and accelerate the implementation, as UN-Habitat still stands ready to support Member States in integrating Human Settlements more strongly into National Adaptation Planning and action.

Main Menu