联合国人居署主导了关于当地政府有效规划可持续发展的非洲城市会议

By on 2018-11-22

摩洛哥,马拉喀什,2018年11月22日 —— 第八届非洲城市峰会第二天的专题是对从当地政府的角度, 广泛地对性别、年轻人、运输、本土融资战略、环境、男女平等、运输、废弃物管理、城市安全以及其他很多议题进行了热烈讨论。

联合国人居署主导了关于 “本地层面过渡计划和规划战略” 会议,并由城市联盟对此提供支持。 专家小组包括瓦加杜古市市长阿曼德·比欧德(Armand Beouinde)先生、(摩洛哥)舍夫沙万市市长默罕默德·塞菲亚尼(Mohamed Sefiani)先生 – 以及来自(南非)德班、城市联盟、国际贫民窟居民联盟、JICA、国际都市与区域规划机构协会、(肯尼亚)基苏木郡、突尼斯、喀麦隆和多哥的代表。

联合国人居署城市规划、扩展和设计处负责人劳拉·彼得雷拉(Laura Petrella),致会议开幕词,询问当前的规划体系是否符合目的。她说:“城市发展的途径存在差异,一如既往是无法接受的。”

瓦加杜古市市长思考了基于合理的制度框架之上的一致性的城市管理模型,这能够实施各项计划和项目。他强调说需要重新组织以服务交付为中心的治理体系,并将其与计划和战略的实施相匹配。

后续讨论聚焦于授权当地和区域政府为非洲城市可持续发展的举措提供支持。主要建议包括需要开发实施工具,比如规定、城市管理专项机制、城市扩展土地储备,和实施计划所需的强有力的地方资源动员机制。

一场关于“中等城市” – 定义为介于50,000至100万居民的城市的会议,强调了其作为五分之一世界总人口和三分之一城市总人口的家园的重要性。

在本次会议之前,由摩洛哥政府、联合国人居署、世界城市及地方政府联盟(UCLG)和世界城市及地方政府联盟非洲分会于7月签署了一项《谅解备忘录》,旨在制定中等城市发展的国家战略。

世界城市及地方政府联盟秘书长伊米莉亚·赛兹(Emilia Saiz)女士说,各国政府应认识到中等城市起到的关键作用。

她说,“我们认为中等城市的议程不应亦步亦趋,我们将中等城市的发展视为世界可持续发展转变过程的组成部分。”

会议的第二部分议程由来自联合国教科文组织中等城市主席、经济合作与发展组织和城市联盟的专家出席,给与了摩洛哥政府展示其愿景的机会,在该愿景中将中等城市置于城市发展议程和区域及国家发展战略的核心。

为期一天的会议“人类流动与迁徙:非洲地方和地区政府当局面对的挑战和机会”探讨了下个月将在马拉喀什举办的“移民周”活动。当天为应对管理迁徙流动人口所带来的各项挑战提供了机会。联合国人居署展示了地中海城市一对一移民项目,该项目由世界城市及地方政府联盟和国际移民政策发展中心实施,为受到影响的城市提供支持,确保移民得到充足的住房和基本服务供给。

联合国人居署参与了由萨哈拉以南地区运输政策计划(SSATP)、国际公共运输联合会(UITP)和低碳运输合作企业组织的座谈会,会议突出强调了《新城市议程》在可持续发展目标本地化所发挥的作用,以及当地政府和国家政府在达到包容性及可持续性人口流动中所起到的互补性和互相支持性的作用。

 

联合国人居署的工作人员还参加了关于年轻人和女性的小组会议,以及由世界城市及地方政府联盟与联合国人居署和信息与通讯技术公司华为举办的关于城市安全的晚间活动。

UN-Habitat leads Africities session on effective local government planning for sustainable development

By on 11/22/2018

Marrakesh, Morocco, 22 November 2018  – The second day of the Africities 8 Summit featured a wide range of lively discussions on local government perspectives on gender, youth, transport, local strategies for financing, the environment, gender equality, transport, waste management, safe cities and many other topics.

The session on “Planning and programming strategies for transition at the local level” was led by UN-Habitat with support from Cities Alliance. The panellists included the Mayor of Ouagadougou Mr. Armand Beouinde, the Mayor of Chefchaouen (Morocco) Mr. Mohamed Sefiani – and representatives from Durban (South Africa), Cities Alliance, Slum Dweller International, JICA, the International Association of Metropolitan and Territorial Planning Agencies, Kisumu County (Kenya), Tunisia, Cameroon and Togo.

Laura Petrella, who heads City Planning, Extension and Design at UN-Habitat, opened the session asking whether current planning regimes are fit for purpose. She remarked: “there are gaps in the ways that cities have developed and business as usual is not acceptable.”

The Mayor of Ouagadougou reflected on the need for a consistent urban management model based on a sound institutional framework that enables the implementation of plans and projects. He emphasised the need to reorganise governance around service delivery and to align this to the implementation of plans and strategies.

The subsequent discussion focused on empowering local and sub-national governments to support the move to a sustainable urban Africa. Key recommendations included the need to develop implementation tools such as regulations, special mechanisms for urban management, land banking for urban extensions, and strong local resource mobilisation for implementation of plans.

A session Intermediary Cities, defined as those with between 50.000 and one million residents, emphasized their importance as being home to a fifth of the world´s total population and one third of the total urban population.

The session followed the signing in July by the Government of Morocco, UN-Habitat, United Cities and Local Government (UCLG), and UCLG Africa of a Memorandum of Understanding  for the development of a national strategy for intermediary cities.

The Secretary General of UCLG, Ms. Emilia Saiz, said national governments should recognize the key role intermediary cities play.

“We think the agenda of intermediary cities should not be a shadow and we see the development of intermediary cities as part of the business of transforming the world to make it sutainable,” she said.

The second part of the session, featuring experts from UNESCO Chair of Intermediary Cities, the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development and Cities Alliance, gave the Government of Morocco the opportunity to present its vision putting intermediary cities at the core of its urban agenda and regional and national development strategies.

A day long session on “Human mobility and migration: challenges and opportunities for local and regional authorities in Africa” discussed “Migration Week” in Marrakesh next month. The day provided an opportunity to address the various challenges in managing migration flows.  UN-Habitat showcased the Mediterranean City 2 City Migration Project, implemented with UCLG and the International Centre for Migration Policy Development, which supports affected cities to ensure migrants are provided with adequate housing and basic services.

UN-Habitat participated in a panel organized by the Sub-Saharan Transport Policy Programme (SSATP), the International Association of Public Transport (UITP) and the Partnership of Low Carbon Transport which highlighted the role of the New Urban Agenda in localizing the Sustainable Development Goals and the complementary and mutually supportive roles of local authorities and national governments in achieving inclusive and sustainable mobility.

 

UN-Habitat staff also took part in panels on youth and women as well as an evening event on safety in cities hosted by UCLG along with UN-Habitat and the information and communication technology company Huawei.

Main Menu