.

联合国人居署在第24届联合国气候变化大会上发布国家适应气候变化行动方案应对城市和人类住区问题指南

By on 2018-12-19

波兰卡托维兹,20181212—— 上周,在波兰卡托维兹举行的第24届联合国气候变化大会(COP-24)上,联合国人居署发布了国家适应气候变化行动方案应对城市和人类住区问题指南。 这本指南突出了强化应对气候变化行动的关键意义,办法是使人类住区融入国家适应气候变化行动方案的规划进程。

到2050年,全球超过三分之二的人口将是城市居民,气候变化的一系列潜在影响将带来各种风险,包括海平面上升、极端天气及其他相关灾害。 要采取紧急行动,在城市和国家各级应对贫困、治理、气候脆弱性等彼此相关的问题。 全面而有力的国家适应气候变化行动方案(NAP)是重要的工具,有利于满足适应气候变化的需求、实现国家自主贡献(NDCs)中详述的国家优先发展事项。 城市是实现国家自主贡献(NDCs)所列目标的重要地点,113 个国家在其国家自主贡献中列出了城市优先发展事项,其中很多以适应气候变化为焦点。

国家自主贡献伙伴关系、联合国开发计划署、联合国人居署汇聚地方政府、各国政府、气候金融界代表,讨论把适应气候变化的地方行动与国家政策和规划连接起来的机遇(https://bit.ly/2BhhznJ)。“对于各国政府而言,城市问题就是人口问题,我国城市人口占95%,因此是国家的第一要务,”乌拉圭住房、土地规划和环境部(MVOTMA)的Ignacio Lorenzo强调。

适应气候变化在国家和地方各级都是重中之重。莫桑比克克里马内市市长Manuel Araujo解释,“城市领导人每天都在处理气候变化问题,我们需要与国家和地区各级的合作伙伴、及与我们面对着同样问题的其他城市一道行动起来。”克里马内市制定了本地的适应气候变化行动方案,正在把本地的方案融入国家适应气候变化行动方案中。因此,该市积极促进国家行动方案,联合其他城市、莫桑比克全国城市协会(ANAMM)和国际合作伙伴。

把人类住区和全国城市发展界的关键利益相关方融入国家适应气候变化行动方案,将推进国家行动方案的规划进程,强化应对气候变化行动,促进建设具有抗灾韧性的国家。上述行动要求中央政府、次地区政府和地方政府及关键私营部门、公民社会行动者紧密合作与协同。

在联合国人类住区问题平行主题会议(https://bit.ly/2UUywO8)发布增补指南的仪式上,关注的焦点是强化和加快执行、推动城市采取紧急行动。欧盟地区委员会第一副主席分享了欧洲的经验,即欧盟和各国政府制定目标,指导和培训地区和城市,支持适应气候变化的立法,投资能力建设,以期向更有效的低碳、韧性发展转型。绿色气候基金出席了发布式,期盼国家自主贡献强化由国家领导的适应气候变化行动的方案、规划和实施。德国发展研究所的Horstmann博士倡导拓宽适应气候变化行动的关注点,把适应气候变化的因素融入所有公共与私人投资。

这份最新发布的规范指南是对《联合国气候变化框架公约》(UNFCCC)国家自主贡献技术纲要的补充。凭借这份指南,人居署随时准备支持各成员国把人类住区更有力地融入国家适应气候变化的方案和行动中。

欲了解更多信息,请联络marcus.mayr@un.org

UN-Habitat Launches Guide to Addressing Urban and Human Settlement Issues in National Adaptation Plans at COP-24

By on 12/19/2018

KATOWICE, POLAND, December 12, 2018 – The UN-Habitat guide to Addressing Urban and Human Settlement Issues in National Adaptation Plans was launched at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP-24) in Katowice, Poland last week. The guide highlights the crucial role of scaling up climate action by integrating human settlements into national adaptation planning and processes.

As over two-thirds of the global population becomes urban by 2050, it will be faced with risks from a range of potential impacts of climate change including rise in sea levels, extreme variations in climate, and other related disasters. Urgent action is required to address the inter-connected issues of poverty, governance, and climate vulnerability both in cities and at the national level. Robust and comprehensive National Adaptation Plans (NAP) are important tools in delivering the adaptation needs and priorities of nations as detailed in the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs). Cities are a critical location to achieve these NDC targets as 113 countries have urban priorities in their NDCs, much of it focusing on adaptation.

The NDC Partnership, UNDP and UN-Habitat convened participants from local and national governments and the climate finance community to discuss opportunities for connecting local climate adaptation action with national policy and planning [https://bit.ly/2BhhznJ]. “For national governments, looking at cities is looking at population, in our case 95 per cent, and therefore the highest priority for government,” emphasized Ignacio Lorenzo from the Ministry of Housing, Land Use and Environment (MVOTMA) in Uruguay.

Climate Change Adaptation takes top-priority both at national level and local levels. The Mayor of Quelimane, Mozambique Manuel Araujo explains that “city leaders are dealing with climate change daily and we need to engage with partners at national and regional levels, as well as other cities dealing with the same issues like us.” The City of Quelimane has developed a local adaptation plan which is being integrated into the National Adaptation Plan. It has thus contributed positively to national efforts along with other cities, the National Association of Municipalities of Mozambique (ANAMM) and international partners.

Integrating human settlements and key stakeholders of the national urban development community into national adaptation planning will strengthen National Adaptation Plans and processes, enhance climate action and promote the process of building resilient nations. This integration requires close cooperation and coordination between national, sub-regional and local governments as well as key private sector and civic society actors.

During the Launch of the Supplementary Guide at the UN Side Event on Human Settlements [https://bit.ly/2UUywO8], focus was on scaling and speeding up implementation and motivating cities to take urgent action. 1st Vice President Markkula of the Committee of Regions shared the European experience, where EU and National Governments set the targets, mentor and train regions and cities, support climate-compatible legislation and invest in capacity building towards a more effective low-carbon and resilient transformation. The Green Climate Fund, present at the launch, is looking to NAPs to strengthen country-led programing, planning and execution of adaption action. Dr. Horstmann of the German Development Institute advocated for broadening the focus of, and integration of climate adaptation and climate compatibility into all public and private investments.

With this new normative guide supplementary to the UNFCCC NAP Technical Guidelines, UN-Habitat stands ready to support Member States in integrating Human Settlements more strongly into National Adaptation Planning and action.

For more information please contact: marcus.mayr@un.org

Main Menu