联合国人居署与金山大学举办全球南方首届城市法律日会议

By on 2019-04-10

约翰内斯堡,2019410—— 最近,全球南方有史以来第一届城市法律日会议在南非召开。 该活动由联合国人居署和金山大学(Wits University)发起。

金山大学法学院 Chalsty 中心主办的这次会议以 “法律、《新城市议程》和可持续城市” 为主题。

“城市法” 是广义的概念,指的是对城市化、城市治理和城市形态产生影响的法律。 在典型意义上,城市法包括地方政府法、规划法、住宅法和城市财政法,同时还涉及公共健康法、税法和环境法等。

城市法律日的宗旨是反思撒哈拉以南非洲的法律和宪法体系是否完备,可以应对不同方面的需求,从而有效地执行《可持续发展目标》(SDG)的目标11,即建设安全、可持续、有韧性、包容的城市,并履行《新城市议程》的相关承诺。

南非西北大学Potchefstroom校区的城市、法律和环境可持续系SRACHi主任Anél du Plessis教授分享了她的调研成果。她调研了为执行可持续发展目标11南非法律和政策框架的建设情况。

在南非调研综述之后,会议评估了马拉维、津巴布韦和赞比亚的城市法状况。马拉维高等法院法官Zione Ntaba慨叹,官僚结构、财政自主与马拉维宪法和法律界定的地方政府职能不相匹配,并指出,马拉维城市法,包括不同时代、不同职能的法律、政策框架和规章制度似乎方向各异,不互相配合,使一致努力实现《新城市议程》目标的过程复杂化。

Zione Ntaba法官进而暗示,《新城市议程》的某些基本假设与发展中世界城市的现实情况不同步,这一观点得到了非洲城市学院(African Urban Institute)的Archimedes Muzenda先生的认同。Archimedes Muzenda先生联想到津巴布韦地方政府如何疲于应对“危机管理”式的治理,而无力有效地实现《新城市议程》的目标,阐明非正式性、经济压力、政治分歧的政府不仅损害了城市履行《新城市议程》的能力,也导致了“官方”法律结构与其“实际”职能之间出现断层。

赞比亚规划师学院院长、赞比亚大学城市研究和规划中心合伙人Chibomba先生认为,针对Archimedes Muzenda先生突出的某些问题,有效的解决方案是从宪法规定的地方自治政府获取规划、土地使用管理和相关城市治理权力。在赞比亚,Chibomba先生展示,《可持续发展目标》和《新城市议程》的法律内化与宪法修订的进程同步,导致赞比亚的政府结构明确与上述目标相协调。

Chibomba先生对于土地法和公众参与的担忧得到其他与会代表的响应。他们中许多人还强调,实现《可持续发展目标》的目标11和《新城市议程》(按照预想都在2030年前完成)的期限太短。

会议讨论的焦点随后转移到城市财政法。非洲城市法和财政中心的Matthew Glasser博士赞扬《新城市议程》致力于保障执行切实目标、妥善调集资源。

Matthew Glasser博士的许多告诫出自南非城市网络的优良城市治理项目经理Danga Mughogho先生。他介绍了南非城市网络最近的“城市财政状况”报告纲要。报告的核心讯息是南非城市及其居民都在经历金融危机,揭示南非城市的市政服务关税结构呈现令人担忧的退化趋势。

联合国人居署城市立法部门介绍了规划法调查的成果。调查对象是联合国全球样本城市中撒哈拉以南非洲地区的城市。调查揭示,大多数样本城市的范围蔓延至城市发展边界外(比实际所需的范围大很多且超出比例),人口密度处于次优水平。

总之,信息丰富的城市法律日会议成功地完成了既定目标,通过多种方式刺激讨论,以应对现有法律框架的不足及“本地化”、“法律化”相关的挑战,并履行《可持续发展目标》的目标11和《新城市议程》的相关承诺。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

UN-Habitat and Wits University hold Global South’s premier Urban Law Day

By on 04/10/2019

Johannesburg 10 April 2019—The first ever Urban Law Day in the Global South was recently held in South Africa, an initiative of UN-Habitat and Wits University.

Wits School of Law’s Chalsty Centre played host to the event which had the theme “Law, the New Urban Agenda and Sustainable Cities”.

“Urban law” is a broad term referring to laws impacting on urbanisation, urban governance and the urban form. It typically encompasses local government law, planning law, housing law and municipal finance law, and also touches on, for instance, public health law, tax law and environmental law.

The aim for the day was to reflect on the readiness of various aspects of domestic legal and constitutional systems in sub-Saharan Africa for the effective implementation of Sustainable Development Goal (‘SDG’) 11, which calls for safe, sustainable, resilient and inclusive cities and the associated commitments in the New Urban Agenda (‘NUA’).

Professor Anél du Plessis, SARCHi Chair in Cities, Law and Environmental Sustainability at the North-West University in Potchefstroom, shared her research on the readiness of South Africa’s legal and policy framework for implementation of SDG11.

The South African overview was followed by assessments of the state of urban law in Malawi, Zimbabwe and Zambia.  Justice Zione Ntaba from the High Court of Malawi bemoaned the poor alignment of bureaucratic structures and fiscal autonomy to the constitutional and legislative demarcation of local government responsibilities in Malawi, and also noted that the incongruence of Malawian urban law – with laws, policy frameworks and bylaws from different eras and with different purposes seemingly pulling in different directions – complicated the coherent pursuit of the NUA’s aspirations.

Justice Ntaba further hinted that some of the NUA’s underlying assumptions were out of step with the reality of developing world cities, a view shared by Mr. Archimedes Muzenda from the African Urban Institute. Relating how Zimbabwean local authorities have been too occupied with ‘crisis management’-style governance to effectively pursue the NUA’s objectives, Mr. Muzenda showed that the realities of informality, economic strain and politically divided authority detracted not only from cities’ ability to pursue the NUA, but also lead to a chasm between ‘official’ legal structures and their functioning ‘on the ground’

According to Mr. Chibomba, president of the Zambian Institute of Planners and associate of the University of Zambia’s Centre for Urban Research and Planning, an effective solution for some of the problems highlighted by Mr. Muzenda is to source planning, land use management and related urban governance powers in constitutionally ensconced autonomous local government. In Zambia, Mr. Chibomba showed, legal internalization of the SDGs and the NUA coincided with a process of constitutional amendment, leading to Zambian structures of government having been explicitly aligned to these instruments.

Mr. Chibomba’s concerns over land law and public participation were echoed by other participants, many of whom also emphasized that the timeframe for achieving the goals of SDG11 and the NUA (which both envisage compliance by 2030) was too short.

The focus then shifted to municipal finance law, with Dr Matthew Glasser of the Centre for Urban Law and Finance in Africa commending the NUA for its commitment to ensuring that implementation of its substantive targets are appropriately resourced.

Many of Dr Glasser’s warnings were borne out by Mr. Danga Mughogho, manager of the South African Cities Network (‘SACN’)’s Well-governed Cities Programme, who presented a synopsis of the SACN’s recent ‘State of City Finances’ report. With the central message that both South African cities and their inhabitants are experiencing financial crisis, the report revealed a worrying regressive trend in South African urban municipal service tariff structures.

The Urban Legislation Unit of UN-Habitat presented the outcome of a Planning Law Survey it conducted for the Sub-Saharan Region of the UN Global Sample of Cities. The survey revealed that most of the cities sampled were sprawled beyond their urban development boundaries (which were already disproportionately large compared to need), and functioned at sub-optimum density levels.

Overall, the information-packed Urban Law Day succeeded in its aim to stimulate discussion over ways to address shortcomings in existing legal frameworks, as well as related challenges of ‘localising’, ‘legalising’ and implementing the commitments of SDG11 and the NUA.

Main Menu