居民、外交官和联合国人居署工作人员一起清扫内罗毕

By on 2018-12-04

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士参加2018年肯尼亚内罗毕玛萨瑞贫民窟每月一次的清扫活动。照片版权:朱利叶斯·穆文卢/联合国人居署

内罗毕,2018123—— 肯尼亚最大的贫民窟之一的玛萨瑞贫民窟的许多居民与联合国人居署的工作人员、外交官一道,参加了内罗毕郡政府每月一次的清扫活动。

这次活动的志愿者们,包括人居署执行主任麦慕娜 · 莫哈德 · 谢里夫女士在内,在这个非正式住区的一条大街上穿梭,刨挖、清扫路面上的巨量垃圾,把它们堆积、集中起来。

八月以来,郡政府鼓励内罗毕85个选区的居民在每月的第一个星期六清理他们所在地区的环境,口号是“我的垃圾我负责”。

人居署总部在内罗毕,对清扫运动给予了支持。人居署副执行主任与肯尼亚总统乌胡鲁 · 肯雅塔参加了十月清扫市场的活动,人居署执行主任参加了九月蒙巴萨的清扫活动。在10月1日庆祝世界人居日之际,人居署启动了城市固体废弃物管理项目。该项目聚焦 “具有废弃物管理智慧的城市” ,鼓励所有城市致力于营造更清洁的生活环境。

“我们很高兴,各位领导发起行动,邀请各国领袖和各组织与我们一道清扫玛萨瑞,” 玛萨瑞居民帕特里克说。“我们又荣幸又紧张,因为我们还需要做出更多努力。如果这些领导再来玛萨瑞的时候,看到他们离开后我们就停止了清扫,那就太丢脸了。”

人居署执行主任敦促玛萨瑞的居民向乱扔垃圾说不。“我们不能让今天清扫小区取得的成绩前功尽弃,” 她说。“我们要利用这个机会,开始减少废弃物,组织小区定点收集废弃物,为我们的孩子们植树。”

在清扫活动开始前,执行主任和外交官们在当地一所学校门外植树。

人居署工作组还参观了玛萨瑞环境保护一站式青年中心,并向中心赠送了一台塑料撕碎机。目前,该中心主管是2018年联合国人居奖获得者Isaac Muasa。

清扫活动结束后,内罗毕郡郡长 Mike Mbuvi Sonko 向众人现场讲话,感谢人居署一直支持每月的清扫活动。

“我们自豪,内罗毕郡政府与个人、私营公司、居民协会、地区和国际组织,尤其是今天在场的人居署,建立了工作关系,使清扫活动获得成功,” 他说。

巴西常驻联合国人居署代表 Fernando Coimbra 阁下称,他向玛萨瑞社区、社区领导及青年们致以敬意。

“理应向你们祝贺,向你们保证,我们会支持人居署改善居民生活、提供适当宜居的环境,我们愿为此付诸努力,” 他说。

参加这次清扫活动的还有挪威常驻联合国人居署代表 Elin Bergithe Rognlie 阁下、挪威常驻联合国人居署副代表 Guri Sandborg 女士、肯尼亚常驻联合国人居署副代表 Njambi Kinyungu 女士、肯尼亚尼耶利(Nyeri)郡副郡长 Caroline Karugu 女士。

Residents, diplomats and UN-Habitat staff join hands to clean up Nairobi

By on 12/04/2018

UN-Habitat Executive Director Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif taking part in the Nairobi monthly clean up exercise in Mathare Slum in Nairobi, Kenya 2018 © Julius Mwelu /UN-Habitat

NAIROBI, 3 December 2018 –  A large crowd of residents from one of Kenya’s biggest slums, Mathare, joined UN-Habitat staff members and diplomats for the Nairobi County Government’s monthly clean up.

The volunteers, who included UN-Habitat’s Executive Director Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, walked through one of the main streets in the informal settlement collecting, raking, brushing and digging up some of the huge amount of rubbish on the streets.

Since August, the Country Government has encouraged Nairobi residents in the 85 wards to clean up their environment on the first Saturday of each month under the slogan – My Waste My Responsibility.

UN-Habitat, which has its headquarters in Nairobi, has supported the clean up campaign with the Deputy Executive Director taking part in a clean up of a market in October with President Uhuru Kenyatta and the Executive Director participating in Mombasa in September. On World Habitat Day on 1 October UN-Habitat launched its municipal solid waste management initiative called Waste Wise Cities which encourages all cities to commit to a cleaner environment.

“We are happy that our leaders have taken the initiative to invite international leaders and organizations to join us in cleaning up Mathare,” said Patrick, a Mathare resident. “We feel privileged and challenged at the same time because we need to do more. It will be shameful if these leaders visit again and find that we stopped cleaning the day they left.”

UN-Habitat’s Executive Director urged Mathare’s residents to say no to littering. “Let us not waste today’s achievement in cleaning the neighbourhood,” she said. “We should use this opportunity to start reducing waste, organizing designated waste collection points in  neighbourhoods and planting trees for our children.”

Before the clean up began, the Executive Director and diplomats planted trees outside a local school.

The UN-Habitat team also visited the Mathare Environmental One Stop Youth Centre which is led by Isaac Muasa, the 2018 UN-Habitat scroll of Honor award winner and presented the Centre with a plastic shredding machine.

After the clean up, the Governor of  Nairobi, Mike Mbuvi Sonko, speaking in front of a large crowd, thanked UN-Habitat for its continued support in the monthly clean-ups.

“We are proud of the working relationships that Nairobi County Government has established with individuals, private companies, resident associations, regional and international Organizations especially UN-Habitat who are present today to make the clean-up exercises a success,” he said

H.E. Fernando Coimbra, Brazil’s Permanent Representative to UN-Habitat said he saluted the community of Mathare, their leaders and youth.

 “You deserve to be congratulated, be assured of our support to UN-Habitat in improving lives and offering a proper livable environment we are happy to be part of this effort,” he said.

Those taking part in the clean up also included H.E. Ms. Elin Bergithe Rognlie Permanent Representative of Norway to UN-Habitat, Ms. Guri Sandborg Deputy Permanent Representative of Norway, Ms. Njambi Kinyungu Deputy Permanent Representative of Kenya and the Deputy Governor of Kenya’s Nyeri County, Ms. Caroline Karugu.

Main Menu