.

参与式贫民窟改造方案通过社区管理基金赋权妇女和女童

By on 2017-03-28

通过执行贫民窟改造项目, 联合国人居署在建设包容性治理能力、 促进适当住房、 改善贫民窟居民生活水平等方面积累了丰富的经验。 凭借上述经验, 在其参与式贫民窟改造方案( PSUP ) 中, 联合国人居署在贫民窟改造和预防工作中加强了全市范围的综合性临场处置举措。

参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)由非洲、 加勒比和太平洋地区国家集团(ACP)倡议, 欧盟委员会(EC)资助, 在非洲、 加勒比和太平洋地区的 35 个国家实施。 目前有 160 多个城市参加这一方案。 方案自 2008 年启动以来, 一直由联合国人居署负责执行。 参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)推行参与式、 临场处置的贫民窟改造, 方法是使人权举措主流化, 在基层参与式决策进程中认可适当住房权。

在肯尼亚,基里菲县(Kilifi)姆特瓦帕镇(Mtwapa)的超过1.5万户居民受益于参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)。该方案尤其关注改善社区最贫困成员的生活,利用可持续资助模式,解决影响妇女和儿童的问题。参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)采用社区管理基金(CMF模式,促进赋权妇女和女童,以之作为社区能力建设的坚实基础。社区管理基金(CMF)把贫民窟改造预算的10%用于小区改造项目,并由社区自身来概念化和执行上述项目。

姆特瓦帕的参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)为贫民窟妇女带来了以下切实利益:

  • 提升妇女在决策进程中的代表权,方法是把社区发展委员会(CDCs)的代表席位分配给贫民窟妇女,从而保障妇女的相关需求在贫民窟改造进程中得到优先考虑。目前,所有代表席位中45%由妇女占据。
  • 妇女从储水罐取水所需的时间从平均30分钟缩短到10分钟,所有住户与最近的储水罐之间的距离缩短到最远150米,在整个项目区按固定间隔额外设置5个供水点。
  • 通过参与式土地规化项目,姆特瓦帕的Majengo和Mzamabarauni住区进一步保障了女性户主家庭的租住权。该项目旨在保障居民的租住权。
  • 获批通过的小区安保计划在包容性、参与式规化进程中,优先考虑妇女事务,注重提升妇女和女童在公共场所的安全度。
  • 建立妇女企业经营和技能培训中心,使失业的年轻母亲具备基本技能,可以从事和维持创收活动。该中心已使140多名妇女受益。

最贫困住户大多是女性户主家庭。在地方经济发展和服务供应中,社区管理基金分配优先考虑最贫困住户。社区管理基金批准了7个项目,其中4个项目针对成员均为女性的组织。

Mungu Pamoja Nasi是一个女性户主家庭组织,主要由寡妇组成。该组织提交的经费提案旨在提高饮用水的储水能力,购置手推车给Majengo住区的住户送水。作为售水商,该组织的提案致力于社区利益分享,提高储水能力将直接造福社区,改善所有住户的供水,使水费低于普遍的、20升标准的商业水费。用手推车送水使住户得到了更大的供水量,高于妇女自己取水的量。门对门送水收取最低费用,用于手推车的维修保养,给10多个青年提供了全职工作。该项目受到社区和其它利益相关方的高度欢迎。

寡妇构成的妇女组织在肯尼亚姆特瓦帕执行社区管理基金项目。

参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)安装的水罐可以储水,在市政供水不足时保障供水不间断。.

参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)详见:
https://unhabitat.org/urban-initiatives/initiatives-programmes/participatory-slum-upgrading/

联系联合国人居署住房和贫民窟改造处参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)经理Kerstin Sommer。  Kerstin.Sommer@unhabitat.org.

Drawing from its extensive experience in building inclusive governance capacity, promoting adequate housing, and improvement of living standards for people living in slums through implementing slum upgrading projects, UN-Habitat has consolidated an integrated, in-situ citywide approach to slum upgrading and prevention in its Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme (PSUP).

PSUP, an initiative of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States is funded by the European Commission (EC) and is operational in 35 countries in the African, Caribbean and Pacific regions. More than 160 cities are currently participating in the programme which has been implemented by UN-Habitat since inception in 2008. PSUP implements participatory in-situ slum upgrading by mainstreaming the human-rights based approach which acknowledges the right to adequate housing into participatory decision-making processes at the grassroots level.

In Kenya, more than 15,000 households have benefited from implementation of the PSUP in Mtwapa Township of Kilifi County, with specific focus on improving livelihoods of the most vulnerable members of the community through sustainable funding models that address issues affecting women, girls and children. By adopting Community Managed Funds (CMF) model, PSUP has catalyzed empowerment of women and girls as a solid foundation for building capacity at the community level. The CMF allocates 10 percent of the slum upgrading budget to neighbourhood upgrading projects that are conceptualized and implemented by the communities themselves.

The PSUP project in Mtwapa has delivered the following tangible benefits to women living in the slums:

  • Enhancement of women representation in the decision making process by allocating representative slots in Community Development Committees (CDCs) to slum women, thereby ensuring that women related needs are prioritized in the slum upgrading process. 45 percent of all representation slots are held by women.
  • The time spent by women on collecting water from central stand pipes has been reduced from an average of 30 minutes to 10 minutes, while the distance covered to the nearest standpipe has been reduced to a maximum of 150 meters for all households through installation of 5 additional freshwater kiosks at regular intervals through the project area.
  • Security of tenure for women-headed households has been enhanced in Majengo and Mzamabarauni settlements of Mtwapa through a participatory land regularization programme that aims to guarantee security of tenure for residents.
  • Through an inclusive participatory planning process that has prioritized women’s issues, a neighbourhood security plan focusing on enhancing safety for women and girls in public spaces has been approved.
  • A women entrepreneurship and skills training center has been established to equip unemployed young mothers with the basic skills necessary to start and sustain income generating activities has benefited over 140 women.
  • The most vulnerable households, the majority of them headed by women, were given priority in allocation of Community Managed Funds for local economic development and service provision. Out of 7 CMF projects approved, 4 were for women only groups.

A women headed households group (Mungu Pamoja Nasi) comprising mostly of widowed women, submitted a proposal for funding to increase storage capacity for potable water and purchase handcarts to distribute the water to households in the Majengo settlement. As the group was already in the water vending business, they submitted a community benefit sharing proposal in which the increased water storage capacity would result in direct benefits to the community through improved access for water all households at rates lower than prevailing commercial rates for standard 20 litre cans. Distributing wate using handcarts enables households to access higher volumes of water than the women would normally carry. A minimal fee charged for door-to-door delivery is used to maintain the handarts and provide fulltime employment to more than 10 youths. The project has enjoyed high acceptability by the community and other stakeholders.

Learn more about PSUP:
https://unhabitat.org/urban-initiatives/initiatives-programmes/participatory-slum-upgrading/

Contact Kerstin Sommer, PSUP Manager, Housing and Slum Upgrading Branch, UN-Habitat.  Kerstin.Sommer@unhabitat.org.

Images
Image
PSUP
寡妇构成的妇女组织在肯尼亚姆特瓦帕执行社区管理基金项目。
Image
PSUP1
参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)安装的水罐可以储水,在市政供水不足时保障供水不间断。.
Categories