.

麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫关于可持续蓝色经济会议的特稿

By on 2018-11-22

普林西比岛生物圈保护区Praia Salgada。照片版权:Antonio Abreu

下周,肯尼亚将成为全球瞩目的焦点。 来自全球各地的数千名代表将齐聚肯雅塔国际会议中心,参加可持续蓝色经济会议。

联合国人类住区规划署(联合国人居署)祝贺肯尼亚共和国政府、加拿大和日本共同主办首届全球性蓝色经济会议。 这次会议给全世界,尤其是联合国大家庭,提供了独一无二的机遇,来学习如何通过创新手段,可持续利用美丽的海洋的潜能,同时保障发展中国家的人民,包括妇女、青年、原住民等,都参与进来。

蓝色经济一词源于2012年举行的联合国可持续发展会议(“里约+20”峰会)。 各成员国在会上承诺 “保护和恢复海洋和海洋生态系统的健康、生产力和韧性,维护其生物多样性,赋权在今天和未来保护和可持续利用海洋和海洋资源” 。

蓝色经济是新概念,倡导更好地管理海洋和其他蓝色资源,同时提供包容性的模式,便于沿海地区或拥有重要水体的地区利用水资源惠及全民。“里约+20”峰会有助于各国形成一个共识,即全球的海洋需要特别关注和协同行动。这是《可持续发展目标》专门制定针对海洋的目标的基础。《可持续发展目标》的目标14旨在“保护和可持续利用海洋和海洋资源以促进可持续发展”。

当前,沿海国家和岛国是蓝色经济运动的前沿,倡导根据本国的情况、制约因素和面对的挑战,量身定制解决方案。某些国家认为蓝色经济只包括海洋和海洋资源;对于其他国家,蓝色经济则指可持续利用所有水资源(海洋、湖泊、河流和湿地),以促进经济增长、改善生计、创造就业。海、湖泊、河流和湿地都汇入大洋和海域,在广义上以某种方式促进了蓝色经济的概念。

人居署赞同推行综合创新的举措,用于耗减海洋乃至全部水体资源的经济活动。内陆城市也受到资源耗减的影响,程度与沿海城市、海岛城市不相上下。

当前,城市和人类住区是蓝色经济的前沿,全球各地有许多城市中心位于沿海和滨水区。全球贸易的90%经由港口城市及国家运转。例如,西印度洋的沿海城市每年旅游业、渔业、沿海农业、矿业、海水养殖、港口和沿海运输部门的收入高达250亿美元(联合国环境规划署,2009年)。因此,城市必须认同、培养和可持续地管理其自然资本的价值,尤其是水体的价值。

人居署及其合作伙伴支持各国利用城市的潜能,获益于蓝色经济,办法有提高可持续人类住区的生计、创造“绿色”和“蓝色”就业、建设可持续的住房和基础设施、管理废弃物、保护生态、恢复沿海和滨水区等。我们倡导各国考虑综合城市规划和海洋空间规划,以之作为可持续蓝色经济的重中之重。因此,通过制定综合性的沿海与海洋空间规划,把空间规划与海域综合管理相结合,是重要举措,有益于指导国家和次国家政府的政策制定者、地方政府官员、海洋保护专家和其他公众利益相关方。

在肯尼亚,人居署向基苏木湖畔规划和再开发项目提供技术援助,同时保障环境的保护,提升了基苏木市中心商业区的投资潜力。基苏木湖畔规划和再开发项目旨在沿湖岸创建优质的公共空间。

圣多美和普林西比易于遭受气候变化的冲击,已经给海滨住房的可持续性造成不利影响。人居署支持政府重新安置受灾社区,为灾民建设了新的小区,包括136幢住房和公共设施。这一举措对于海滨保护有直接影响,利于旅游业和生物多样性保护。

人居署大力倡导在所有人类住区进行韧性城市规划和设计。基础设施和基本服务的低碳规划是必需的,有利于促进地方经济发展,预防城市加剧环境的恶化。同时,至关重要的是,应特别关注水管理、废水、海洋和海洋污染,将其作为可持续城市发展的关键支柱。

人居署为推动首届可持续蓝色经济会议而自豪,随时准备支持各国进一步寻求机会,在各城市和蓝色经济之间建立联系,因为城市是易受影响的危险地带,同样也是繁荣和可持续城市发展的驱动与机遇所在。

 

麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士是联合国副秘书长、联合国人类住区规划署(联合国人居署)执行主任。

下载《联合国人居署关于蓝色经济和城市的背景文件》

《青年和蓝色经济宣言》,2018年11月18日

Op-Ed By Maimunah Mohd Sharif on Sustainable Blue Economy Conference

By on 11/22/2018

Príncipe Island Biosphere Reserve – Praia Salgada – (c) Antonio Abreu

Next week, Kenya will be in the global spotlight as thousands of delegates from around the world will gather at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre for the Sustainable Blue Economy Conference.

The United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) congratulates the Government of the Republic of Kenya, Canada and Japan for co-hosting the first global conference on the Blue Economy. It is a unique opportunity for the world, especially the United Nations family, to learn how we can sustainably harness, through innovative means, the potential of our beautiful waters, while ensuring that people in developing nations, including women, youth and the indigenous people, are included.

The Blue Economy is a term that stems from the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) that was held in 2012 where member states pledged to “protect and restore the health, productivity and resilience of oceans and marine ecosystem to maintain their diversity, enabling their conservation and sustainable use for present and future”.

It is an emerging concept which encourages better stewardship of our oceans and other blue resources, while at the same time, provides for an inclusive model in which coastal zones, or areas with significant waterbodies, can begin to extend the benefit of those resources to all. Rio+20 helped states develop a common understanding that the world’s oceans and seas require special attention and coordinated action. It became the basis of a Sustainable Development Goal dedicated specifically to oceans. Goal 14 aims to “conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development”.

Today, coastal and island states are at the forefront of the Blue Economy movement, advocating for solutions tailored to their circumstances, constraints and challenges. Some see the Blue Economy as only including ocean and marine resources; for others, the Blue Economy refers to the sustainable use all water resources (oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and wetlands) for economic growth, improved livelihoods and job creation. Seas, lakes, rivers and wetlands all feed into oceans and marine zones, thereby broadly contributing, in one way or another, to the Blue Economy concept.

UN-Habitat subscribes to an integrated and innovative approach to the economic consumption of resources of not only oceans but all waterbodies. Inland cities are also affected as much as coastal and island cities.

Cities and human settlements today are at the forefront of the Blue Economy and many urban centres are located along coasts and waterfronts around the world. Ninety per cent of world trade goes through port cities and countries. For example, coastal cities in the West Indian Ocean, derive USD 25 billion per year from tourism, fisheries, coastal agriculture, mining, mariculture, ports and coastal transport sectors (UN Environment, 2009). Cities must therefore recognize, nurture and sustainably manage the value of their natural capital, particularly their waterbodies.

UN-Habitat and its partners support states in harnessing the potential of cities to benefit from the Blue Economy through enhancing sustainable human settlement livelihoods, “green” and “blue” job creation, sustainable housing and infrastructure, waste management, ecological protection and restoration of coastal and waterfront areas. We advocate for states to consider integrating urban planning and marine spatial planning as a priority for a sustainable Blue Economy. Bringing together spatial planning and integrated coastal zone management through the development of integrated coastal and marine spatial plans are therefore important steps to guide national and sub-national government policy-makers, local government officials, marine protection experts and other civic stakeholders.

In Kenya, UN-Habitat provides technical input into Kisumu’s Lakefront Planning Initiative, a project developed to create quality public space along the lakeshore, while ensuring environmental protection, thereby enhancing the investment potential of the city’s central business district.

In São Tomé and Príncipe, where climate change vulnerabilities have negatively impacted housing sustainability along beachfronts, UN-Habitat supported the government to resettle affected communities by constructing a new neighbourhood with 136 houses and public facilities for the beneficiaries. This had a direct impact on the preservation of beaches, both for tourism and biodiversity conservation.

UN-Habitat strongly advocates for resilient urban planning and design for all human settlements. Low-carbon plans for infrastructure and basic services are needed to promote local economic development and to protect cities from further contributing to environmental degradation. Concurrently, it is critical to pay particular attention to water management, wastewater, oceans and marine pollution as a key pillar of sustainable urban development.

UN-Habitat is proud to be associated with this first edition of the Sustainable Blue Economy Conference and stands ready to support countries to further explore opportunities to establish the linkages between cities and the Blue Economy, in terms of cities as hotspots of vulnerability, but equally as well as drivers and opportunities for prosperous and sustainable urban development.

 

Maimunah Mohd Sharif is the United Nations Under-Secretary-General and the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat).

Download the UN-Habitat Background Paper on Blue Economy and Cities

Youth and the Blue Economy Declaration Nov 18 2018

 

Main Menu