.

联合国副秘书长兼联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士世界人居日致辞

By on 2018-09-30

我很荣幸, 与诸位共同庆祝我任联合国人居署执行主任以来的第一个世界人居日。 在此, 我鼓励在座的每一位积极行动起来, 让这个独特的节日取得辉煌的成功, 完成世界人居日的使命。

世界人居日为我们提供了独有的机会, 使全球关注可持续城市化、 人类住区、 改善城市生活状况等关键问题。

今年世界人居日的全球庆典将在我们的大本营,在人居署的总部暨位于肯尼亚共和国的联合国内罗毕办事处举行,真是适时顺意。本月早些时候,在2018年世界清洁日,我与郡政府、中央政府的官员一起清理了蒙巴萨的海岸。今后,人居署将继续推进双方的伙伴关系,探索如何改善肯尼亚城市的城市废弃物管理,以内罗毕、蒙巴萨和基苏木为开端。

今年世界人居日的主题“城市固体废弃物管理”尤为关键。全球的废弃物总量惊人!一部分废弃物得到回收,但还有很多被置之不理,造成人类健康、动物健康和污染环境的问题。个人、社区、企业、机构、市场、工厂制造的废弃物数量持续急剧攀升。

应对固体废弃物管理带来的挑战要求敢于想象和创新。我任马来西亚槟城市长期间,采用的理念是反思废弃物管理,推行减量、重复利用、回收利用(3Rs)。这个废弃物管理理念采用不同的方式处理垃圾,让垃圾不再只是垃圾。我们都可以略微调整一下自己的消费方式,不使用一次性的塑料制品,如瓶子、杯子、盘子和餐具,有意识地正确回收,修补破旧用品,而非顺手扔掉。

人居署正在发挥更大的作用,支持城市改善固体废弃物管理的做法,领导设计有成本效益的、高效的系统,保障我们合理地收集和处理废弃物。因此我很高兴,在2018年10月1日,人居署与合作伙伴将展开讨论,呼吁采取行动,建设“废弃物智慧管理的城市”,引导有效的废弃物管理。

我相信,有效的废弃物管理应从个人做起。通过集体行动,我们将会建设一个更清洁、更绿色、更安全、更健康、更幸福的世界,适合我们生活、工作和娱乐。我期待肯尼亚乃至全球积极参与世界人居日的行动,努力建设更清洁、更绿色、更安全、更健康的城市。

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director´s message on World Habitat Day

By on 09/30/2018

I am excited to observe together with you, my first World Habitat Day as UN-Habitat’s Executive Director. I would like to encourage each one of you to be actively involved in this unique day to make it a resounding success, and to accomplish the objective that is serves.

World Habitat Day provides us a unique opportunity to focus international attention on key issues surrounding sustainable urbanization, human settlements and improving urban living conditions.

It is timely and fitting that the global observance of World Habitat Day will take place here at our Headquarters, our home, at the United Nations Office at Nairobi, Republic of Kenya. Earlier this month, on World Clean-up day 2018, I spent the day cleaning up the beaches in Mombasa on the Kenyan coast together with county and government officials. Following this, UN-Habitat will explore our partnership further, on how to improve municipal waste management in Kenyan cities, commencing with Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu.

This year’s theme, Municipal Solid Waste Management, is particularly critical. The total waste in the world is enormous! Some of it is recycled but a lot is simply discarded, causing health problems for people, their animals and polluting our environment. The amount of waste produced by individuals, communities, businesses, institutions, markets and factories continues to grow tremendously.

Tackling our waste management challenges requires imagination and innovation. During my time as Mayor of the State of Penang, Malaysia, I introduced an idea of rethinking waste management, to complement the 3Rs of reducing, reusing and recycling. Instead of allowing waste to be simply waste, a different approach to the concept of waste was introduced. We can all make small adjustments to our consumption styles, by using alternatives to disposable plastic items, such as bottles, cups, plates and cutlery, making a conscious effort to recycle correctly and fixing broken items instead of simply throwing them away.

UN-Habitat is scaling up its role in supporting cities to improve their waste management practices, to lead in designing cost effective and efficient systems to ensure we collect and dispose of waste properly. I am therefore pleased, that on 1 October 2018, UN-Habitat and partners will discuss a call for action on Waste-Wise Cities recognising cities that are leading in effective waste management.

I believe that effective waste management starts with us an individual. Through collective action, we can achieve a world that is cleaner, greener, safer, healthier and happier, for us to live, work and play. I look forward to your active engagement in Kenya and around the world on this day in our efforts to promote cleaner, greener, safer and healthier cities.

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director´s message on World Habitat Day

Download 0.00 KB 140 downloads

 

Main Menu