斐济总理警告称一个严重的恶劣天气事件几乎能毁灭弱势国家

By on 2019-06-04

内罗毕,2019527—— 在联合国人居大会开幕的第一天,部长们举行会晤进行讨论,主题为:基础设施、城市与地方行动:动员履行 2019 年联合国气候行动峰会承诺。

与会代表集中探讨了九个方向之一的基础设施、城市与地方行动项目,该项目曾在九月举行的联合国秘书长气候行动峰会上得以探讨并在联合国人居署支持下,由肯尼亚与土耳其两国共同主导,其中包括城市贫民的交通、建筑以及气候应对能力等方面的内容。

斐济总理弗兰克·姆拜尼马拉马向其他与会部长及代表发出警告,称 “许多弱势的经济体离彻底毁灭只需一个严重的恶劣天气事件”,并呼吁建立新的融资机制和开发新的技术以减轻风险。

“目前,我们全体做出的全球承诺与其所要达到的目标相差甚远,我们的星球正以高于未工业化时代三摄氏度的水平升温,我们必须阻止这场噩梦继续扩展,” 他表示。

肯尼亚政府交通与基础设施内阁秘书,詹姆斯·马查里亚先生呼吁发起联合行动,称“我们必须认识到,各国不可能单独减轻气候变化所带来的威胁,如果我们要抗击气候变化并建设应对气候变化的能力,那么各国同心同德、精诚合作、共同承担责任则至关重要”。

土耳其环境和城市化部副部长兼国际气候变化谈判首席谈判代表,教授穆罕默德·艾明·比尔平纳博士主张采取紧急且具有变革性的行动,以减少建筑物排放。

作为‘分散式气候融资’子项目的代表,德国环境、自然保护和核安全部长韦尼娅·舒尔茨女士强调城市气候行动面临的结构性障碍之一是缺乏融资渠道。

巴西大使和孟加拉国、巴基斯坦、哥斯达黎加、英国以及欧盟的代表也在会上发表了各自的看法与讲话。

以下是来自于合作伙伴的思考。来自贫民窟居民国际联盟(SDI)的希拉·帕特勒女士强调了贫民窟居民国际联盟在“代表人民”方面所起的作用,并表示贫民窟居民国际联盟“十分自豪 联合国人居署能邀请他们就新兴的‘建设城市贫民应对气候变化的能力’倡议进行密切合作”。

(摩洛哥)舍夫沙万市市长兼全球气候能源市长盟约成员之一,穆罕默德·塞菲亚尼也强调了全球市长盟约对‘建设城市贫民应对气候变化的能力’这一倡议的支持。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

Fiji’s Prime Minister warns vulnerable countries are one severe weather event away from decimation.

By on 06/04/2019

Nairobi, 27 May 2019 – During the first day of the inaugural UN-Habitat Assembly, Ministers met to discuss  Infrastructure, Cities and Local Action: Mobilizing Commitments for the SG’s Climate Action Summit 2019.

Delegates focused on one of the nine tracks being discussed at the UN Secretary-General’s  Climate Action Summit in September namely Infrastructure, Cities and Local Action, which is co-led by Kenya and Turkey with the support of UN-Habitat. This includes transport, buildings and climate resilience of the urban poor.

The Prime Minister of Fiji,Frank Bainimarama warned Ministers and other delegates that “many vulnerable economies are only one severe weather event away from complete decimation” and called new financing mechanisms and new technologies to mitigate the risk

“Presently, our collective global commitments fall badly short of where they need to be, placing our planet on track for three degrees Celsius of warming above pre-industrial levels [which] is a nightmare scenario that we cannot allow to unfold,” he said.

Mr. James Macharia, Cabinet Secretary, Transport and Infrastructure, Government of Kenya called for joint action saying: “we must recognize that individual states cannot by themselves mitigate the threat of climate change, international cooperation, shared responsibilities and solidarity are vital if we are to combat climate change and build climate resilience”.

Prof. Dr. Mehmet Emin Birpinar, Deputy Minister of Environment and Urbanization and Chief Negotiator for International Climate Change Negotiations of Turkey advocated for urgent, transformative action to reduce emissions from buildings.

Ms. Svenja Schulze, Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear safety from Germany who was representing the ‘Decentralized Climate Finance’ sub-track highlighted one of the structural obstacles facing urban climate action as a lack of access to financing.

There were also remarks from the Ambassador of Brazil and representatives from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Costa Rica, the United Kingdom and the European Union.

This was followed by reflections from partners. Ms. Sheela Patel from Slum/Shack Dwellers international (SDI) emphasized SDI’s role in “representing the people” and stated that SDI “are very proud that UN-Habitat has invited [them] to work very closely on” the emerging ‘Building the Climate Resilience of the Urban Poor’ Initiative.

The Mayor Mohamed Sefiani, Mayor of Chefchaouen (Morocco) and a Board Member of the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy (GCoM), also emphasized GCoM’s support for the ‘Building the Climate Resilience of the Urban Poor’ Initiative.

Main Menu