.

联合国可持续发展目标第11条旨在拉近各国政府与合作伙伴之间的距离

By on 2017-02-14

奈瓦沙,2017214日 —— 联合国人居署第一届可持续发展目标人居指标技术会议于今天开幕, 参会的50多名代表来自肯尼亚政府、 国家统计局、 私营部门、 学术机构、 非营利性组织、 其他联合国机构等。

预计到2030年,城市居民将占总人口的十分之六。实施得力的话,城市化将有助于全世界克服当前一些主要的全球挑战,包括贫困、不平等、环境恶化、气候变化、脆弱度和冲突等。2015年9月,国际社会批准可持续发展目标独立存在的城市目标,即第11条目标,承认城市化和城市增长是发展的转型力量。

联合国人居署全球城市观测站主任、可持续发展目标核心成员Robert Ndugwa主持会议开幕,强调可持续发展目标第11条目标的一些要求。其中包括确认适当的合作伙伴、保障与合作伙伴共同努力使他们融入执行进程、推动影响力的统一化和最大化、开展明确有效的后续行动等。

他还谈到会议的目标,其中包括,强调完成指标面对的挑战,致力于与合作伙伴一道解决方法、定义、伙伴关系协议、能力开发等问题。针对具体的指标组建工作组,要求对国家统计机构给予系统性的支持,同时强调监督。

 

更广泛的发展背景下的城市化

伙伴关系是关键要素,正如以往的协议《仙台减灾框架》、《基多宣言》(《新城市议程》)、《巴黎气候变化协定》中所见。这一伙伴关系要求在动态多变的全球舞台上整合更多样化的数据。相比20年前,在这样的舞台上,公民社会更有能力表达意愿。在可持续发展目标第11条目标中,联合国人居署的领导地位部分表现为把中央政府和其他合作伙伴联合起来,以促进实施监督工作。

联合国人居署项目司司长拉斐尔·塔兹(Raf Tuts)说,“本次会议的主要内容之一是把国家统计局和地方政府联系起来。我们要通过全国城市样本(National Sample of Cities)等来创建这一联系。”他补充说,“这次会议非常重要,我们把所有目标领域的专家汇聚起来,不是单一课题而是所有课题的专家,尚属首次。”

2016年各成员国签署的《新城市议程》没有单独规定一套指标。可持续发展目标第11条目标将作为衡量《新城市议程》的主源,被视为支持实现其他目标的工具。

联合国人居署研究和能力发展处负责人爱德华多·莫雷诺(Eduardo Moreno)分析了可持续发展目标第11条目标的各项指标。他说,“可持续发展目标第11条目标对所有城市事务工作者都很重要。我们认为,鉴于其人口密度、紧凑性、经济规模发展性,城市有可能实现可持续发展的诸多目标,不仅是在城市领域,还包括更广泛的可持续发展目标。”

在共15项指标中,只有三分之一的指标有清晰的统计数据和协议,这将迫使国家统计机构与其他利益相关方合作,便于监督。联合国人居署确认,需要响应其余的指标,目的是协同磋商,在方法和参与等方面达成一致意见。

 

执行《新城市议程》

联合国人居署研究部门主管Ben Arimah是《2016世界城市状况报告》的主要撰稿人,称,“我们认为,执行《新城市议程》有助于可持续发展目标的实施和本地化。我们认为《新城市议程》不是孤立的文件,而是操作的手段。”

联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)创新与文化司司长乔蒂·侯萨格拉尔(Jyoti Hosagrahar)强调该组织与联合国人居署在文化部门的合作。“我们持续合作……最近一次合作是人居三大会的文化遗产成果文件。”她补充道:“我们有许多共同点,都强调公众参与、社会包容、透明度、诚信度和人权。”她总结,在当前大规模城市增长的背景下,我们把文化视为创造性的力量,有助于建设更优质的城市、实现更好的社会参与。

.

Bridging the gap between national governments, partners, UN for SDG 11

By on 02/14/2017

Naivasha, 14 February 2017 – UN-Habitat’s first technical meeting on human settlements indicators for SDGs opened today with more than 50 participants from the Kenya national government, national statistics agency, the private sector, academic institutions, non-profit organizations and other UN agencies.

It is projected that by 2030, 6 in 10 people will be urban dwellers. If well implemented, urbanization can help the world overcome some of its major global challenges including poverty, inequality, environmental degradation, climate change, fragility and conflict. In September 2015, the international community recognized urbanization and city growth as a transformative force for development through the endorsement of a stand-alone goal in cities, Sustainable Goal 11(SDG 11).

Robert Ndugwa, Head of the Global Urban Observatory and the SDG focal person in UN-Habitat opened the meeting by highlighting some requirements of SDG 11. These include the identification of the right partners; ensuring a joint effort with partners to integrate them in the implementation process, maximizing and unifying the impact and making clear effective follow ups.

He also addressed the objectives of the meeting which include; highlighting indicator level challenges and working towards common solutions with the partners in regards to the methodology, definitions, partnership agreements, capacity development among others. Forming working groups on specific indicators that require a joint systems support to National Statistical Organizations and monitoring was also emphasized.

Urbanization in the wider development context

Partnership is a key element as seen in other previous agreements such as the Sendai Framework Agreement, Quito Declaration of the New Urban Agenda and the Paris Agreement on climate change. This partnership calls for collection of more diversified data in the dynamic global arena where civil society has the ability to express itself compared to 20 years ago. Part of UN-Habitat’s lead role in SDG 11 is to bridge the connection between national governments and other partners in order to facilitate implementation of the monitoring work.

Raf Tuts, Director of Programmes Division in UN-Habitat said, “One of the key elements of this meeting will be the link between the national statistical office and the local government. We have to create this link through National Sample of Cities etc.” He added “This is a very important workshop; it is the first of its kinds that we bring together experts from all the targets, not just in one topic but all the topics.”

The New Urban Agenda, signed by member states in 2016, does not provide its own set of indicators. The SDG 11 indicators will be used as the primary source of measuring the New Urban Agenda which is seen as a supporting instrument for the other goals.

Eduardo Moreno, Head of the Research and Capacity Branch at UN-Habitat presented an analysis of the SDG 11 indicators. He said “SDG11 is important for all who are working on urban issues. We believe that because of density, compactness, and possibilities of economies of scale, cities have the possibilities of achieving many of the SDGs, not only urban, but broader SDGs.”

With a total of 15 indicators, only a third of the indicators have clear data and agreements, which will force national statistical offices to partner with other stakeholders in order to monitor them. UN-Habitat has identified the need to respond to the remaining indicators in order for a well-coordinated  discussion, agreement in methods and participation.

Implementing the New Urban Agenda

Ben Arimah, Head of the Research Unit at UN-Habitat, lead contributor of the 2016 World Cities Report, said, “We believe that implementation of the New Urban Agenda contributes to the implementation and localization of the SDGs. We don’t see the New Urban Agenda as a stand-alone document but we see it as a means for the implementation.”

Jyoti Hosagrahar, Director of the Division of Creativity and Culture at UNESCO highlighted how the agency has engaged with UN-Habitat in the culture sector. “We have worked [together]on a continued basis…the recent effort of course was the culture and heritage outcome document of Habitat 3.” She added: “We have had a lot in common in emphasizing citizen participation, social inclusion, transparency accountability and human rights.” She concluded that there is now a mass urban growth and with that we see culture as a creative force that can help make better quality cities and social participation.

Main Menu