在世界人居日全球庆祝活动中,肯尼亚总统呼吁对固体废弃物采取紧急行动

By on 2018-10-02

 

肯尼亚,内罗毕,2018年10月1日 —— 在世界人居日当天,肯尼亚总统乌胡鲁 · 肯雅塔在联合国人居署总部内罗毕发表讲话,呼吁针对 “众多而且日益严峻” 的固体废弃物问题采取紧急行动。

肯雅塔总统敦促每个人承担起管理废弃物的个人职责,这些废弃物包括个人、社区、机构和企业制造的垃圾和其他废弃物。他是在肯尼亚政府和联合国人居署共同举办的世界人居日全球主要活动,即“全球庆典”中发表此次演讲的;本年度活动的主题是“市政固体废弃物管理”。肯雅塔总统说,“在这个急速城市化的世界中,固体废弃物管理是我们这个时代面临的最为严峻的挑战之一,我们必须采取紧急行动”。他呼吁我们采取创新性和可持续性的解决方案,以处理全球每年制造的超过20亿吨的固体废弃物。

他称赞联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·谢里夫(Maimunah Mohd Sharif)女士为加强联合国人居署作为可持续性城市化的中心所投入的精力、热情和努力,并呼吁联合国人居署为肯尼亚和其他国家提供相关专业知识和建议。

联合国人居署执行主任告诉广大听众,固体废弃物管理是她所重视的一个问题,也是联合国人居署优先考虑的重要事项,它为城市提供支持使其变得更加清洁和绿化。

她宣布启动一项“废弃物减量城市”号召行动,当天下午专家小组对此进行了进一步探讨。她说,“这呼吁世界各地的城市、城镇和社区反思、减少、回收、拒绝和再利用废弃物,而且我们将为此提供一个必要的平台”。

谢里夫女士敦促城市管理当局发挥其应有的作用,帮助改变废弃物管理行为,并确保将废弃物收集者统一纳入到正式经济中。她还谈及了与私营部门和民间团体组织合作以寻找包容性和有效性的解决方案的重要性。

肯雅塔总统向久负盛名的联合国人居奖的五名获奖者授予了奖章,以示对其所做的改善城市社区的工作的认可。

获奖者是:肯尼亚玛萨瑞环境保护青年组织主席Isaac Muasa 先生,他鼓舞全社区参与环境保护活动;中国江苏省徐州市,以表彰其恢复环境和创新型的废弃物管理;古巴城市规划院年执行《新城市议程》的2017-2036年国家行动计划;已故的美国国际城市发展研究院Mona A. Serageldin博士,以表彰其致力于实践研究的伟大贡献;以及印度尼西亚泗水市长丽斯玛(Tri Rismaharini),她落实了以人为本和包容性的城市改造。

At World Habitat Day Global Observance, Kenya’s President calls for urgent action on solid waste

By on 10/02/2018

 

Nairobi, Kenya, 1 October 2018 – President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya, speaking at UN-Habitat headquarters in Nairobi on World Habitat Day, called for urgent action to address the ‘enormous and growing’ problem of solid waste.

President Kenyatta urged every person to take personal responsibility for managing waste, which includes rubbish and other waste produced by individuals, communities, institutions and businesses. He spoke at the main global event of World Habitat Day known as the Global Observance, co-hosted by the Government of Kenya and UN-Habitat under this year’s theme, ‘Municipal Solid Waste Management’. “Solid waste management poses one of the greatest challenges of our time in a rapidly urbanizing world and we must take urgent action,” said President Kenyatta, who called for innovative and sustainable solutions to tackle over 2 billion tonnes of solid waste produced globally each year.

He commended the Executive Director of UN-Habitat, Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, for her vigour, passion, and commitment to strengthening UN-Habitat as a focal point for sustainable urbanization and called for UN-Habitat to provide expertise and advice to Kenya and other countries.

The UN-Habitat Executive Director told the large audience that solid waste management was a theme close to her heart and an important priority for UN-Habitat, which was supporting cities to become cleaner and greener.

She announced the launch of a call for action for Waste Wise Cities, which was discussed further in the afternoon by a panel of experts.  “This calls for cities, towns and communities around the world to rethink, reduce, recycle, refuse and reuse waste and will provide the platform necessary to do so,” she said.

Ms. Sharif urged city administrations to play their part in helping change waste management behavior and to ensure waste pickers were integrated into the formal economy. She also spoke of the importance of working with the private sector and civil society organisations to find inclusive and effective solutions.

President Kenyatta presented the five winners of the prestigious UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour with plaques to recognize their work in improving urban communities.

The winners were: Mr. Isaac Muasa or Kenya, chair of the Mathare Environmental Conservation Youth Group, for inspiring community-wide involvement in environmental conservation; Xuzhou City, Jiangsu Province, China, for its restoration and innovative waste management; the National Action Plan for the Implementation of the New Urban Agenda in Cuba 2017-2036 by the Institute of Physical Planning; the late Dr Mona A. Serageldin of the Institute for International Urban Development, U.S.A., for her huge body of practical research; and the Mayor of  Surabaya City, Indonesia, Tri Rismaharini for implementing people-centred and inclusive city regeneration.

Main Menu