.

阿布扎比将主办2020年世界城市论坛

By on 2017-03-27

阿布扎比市的黄昏,阿拉伯联合酋长国 © Philip Lange

纽约,2017327日 —— 阿拉伯联合酋长国首都阿布扎比将主办2020年第十届世界城市论坛(WUF10)。 联合国人居署, 即联合国人类住区规划署作为世界城市论坛的召集方, 于2017年3月23日周四宣布第十届世界城市论坛的招标结束。

联合国副秘书长兼联合国人居署执行主任克洛斯博士向阿联酋外交事务国务部长安瓦尔·本·穆罕默德·卡尔卡什(Anwar bin Mohammed Gargash)告知了这个决定。

第十届世界城市论坛将是首届在阿拉伯地区举办的论坛,对于实施2016年在厄瓜多尔基多通过的《新城市议程》意义尤为重要。第九届世界城市论坛定于2018年2月在吉隆坡召开。

克洛斯博士向阿布扎比和阿联酋政府表示祝贺,强调在阿拉伯地区召开第十届世界城市论坛意义重大。阿拉伯地区近年来城市化增长迅速,当前注重以可持续的方式引导城市发展。克洛斯称,“第九届世界城市论坛和第十届世界城市论坛是关键的平台。我们将通过这两个平台,评估如何管理可持续城市发展、实现《可持续发展目标》、及实施《新城市议程》。”

 

全球首要的城市会议

世界城市论坛(WUF)作为非立法性的技术论坛,由联合国人类住区规划署(Un-Habitat)召集,自2002年创立至今。

联合国大会第69/226号决议承认,世界城市论坛是首要的全球平台,供政策制定者、地方政府领导人、非政府组织和专家等在可持续城市发展和人居领域互动交流。

论坛汇聚了广大领域各行各业的专家。参会者包括,但不局限于国家政府、区域政府、地方政府、非政府组织、社区组织、专业人员、研究机构和学院、私营部门、发展金融机构、基金会、媒体、联合国组织及其他国际机构等。

2002年第一届世界城市论坛在内罗毕举行,参会人数为1200人。此后,参会者的数量和多样性迅猛增长,在2014年哥伦比亚麦德林召开的第七届世界城市论坛达到峰值,参会人数超过2.2万。

 

《新城市议程》和世界城市论坛

《新城市议程》于2016年10月在厄瓜多尔基多召开的第三届联合国住房和城市可持续发展大会(人居三)上通过,得到所有参会国家的一致同意。这份文件设定了未来几十年城市发展的共同愿景和全球标准。《新城市议程》标志着我们思考、建设、管理城市的方式发生了模式转变。

世界城市论坛得到《新城市议程》认可,是汇报《新城市议程》执行情况的平台,汇集了多边组织、公民社会、私营部门和学术界的真知灼见。

 

第十一届世界城市论坛招标程序

2022年第十一届世界城市论坛的选择程序将于2017年4月启动,征集申办城市的项目意向书。第十一届世界城市论坛主办城市/国家将在2018年吉隆坡召开第九届世界城市论坛期间宣布。

Abu Dhabi to host World Urban Forum in 2020

By on 03/27/2017

City of Abu Dhabi at dusk, United Arab Emirates © Philip Lange

Nairobi, 27 March 2017– The capital of United Arab Emirates, Abu Dhabi, will host the Tenth session of the World Urban Forum (WUF10) in 2020. UN-Habitat, the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, as the convener of WUF, announced the decision on Thursday 23 March 2017 concluding the bidding process for WUF10.

United Nations Under-Secretary-General and UN-Habitat Executive Director, Dr. Joan Clos, has informed Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Anwar bin Mohammed Gargash, of the decision.

WUF10 will be the first Forum to be held in the Arab region and it will be particularly relevant to the implementation of the New Urban Agenda after its adoption in Quito, Ecuador, in 2016, and the Ninth session of the World Urban Forum to be held in Kuala Lumpur in February 2018.

Dr. Clos has extended his congratulations to Abu Dhabi and the Government of the United Arab Emirates and has highlighted the importance of organizing WUF10 in a region that has experienced rapid urbanization in the past years and that is now focusing on directing urban development in a sustainable way. Clos said that “WUF9 and WUF10 are key platforms where we will be able to review how we are all managing sustainable urban development, achieving the Sustainable Development Goals and implementing the New Urban Agenda”.

The World’s Premier Conference on Cities
The World Urban Forum (WUF) is a non-legislative technical forum convened by the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) since 2002.

The United Nations General Assembly in its resolution 69/226 recognizes the World Urban Forum as the foremost global arena for interaction among policymakers, local government leaders, non-governmental organizations and expert practitioners in the field of sustainable urban development and human settlements.

The Forum gathers a wide range of experts from every walk of life. Participants of the Forum include, but are not limited to, national, regional and local governments, non-governmental organizations, community-based organizations, professionals, research institutions and academies, professionals, private sector, development finance institutions, foundations, media and United Nations organizations and other international agencies.

The number and diversity of participants since the first World Urban Forum held in Nairobi in 2002, with 1,200 participants, has increased exponentially, peaking in WUF7 held in Medellin, Colombia, in 2014, with over 22,000 participants.

The New Urban Agenda and the World Urban Forum
The New Urban Agenda was adopted in October 2016 at the United Nations Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development (Habitat III) in Quito, Ecuador. It is a result of a unique consensus among all participating states. The document sets out a common vision and global standards for urban development in the coming decades. The New Urban Agenda offers a paradigm shift in the way we think, build, and manage cities.

The World Urban Forum is recognized in the New Urban Agenda as a platform to report on the implementation of the Agenda and to incorporate the inputs of multilateral organizations and civil society, the private sector and academia.

WUF11 bidding process
The selection process for the Eleventh session of the World Urban Forum in 2022 will start in April 2017 with a call for expression of interest for cities that would like to host the event. The selected WUF11 host city/country will be announced during the WUF9 in Kuala Lumpur in 2018.

Translate »
Main Menu