.

青年欢迎联合国人居署执行主任

By on 2018-01-23

 

“从不能行变为我能行!” 执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士告诉东非最大的贫民窟基贝拉 6 所学校的上百名青年。

昨天,联合国人居署举办了热情洋溢的 KaribUNi 欢迎会,欢迎新一届执行主任来到联合国和内罗毕。执行主任参观了内罗毕儿童的交流活动。这项活动联合国人居署每年举办一次,用于提高人们对联合国、对青年在全球的发展机会的认识。作为曾经的马来西亚青年,执行主任讲述自己的人生经历,传达希望与启迪。

“我来自一个小村,那时我和你们一样年轻,家里没有电,我只能用煤油灯,没有水,我从井里打水,” 她告诉青年们,“那时候,教育对我是最重要的事。所以不管你在贫民窟,在村里,还是在城里,教育都非常重要。”

年龄在10岁至18岁的青年与老师们一起参加了活动。学校关注的焦点是赋权女童和女青年。

“执行主任谢里夫女士,我们很荣幸欢迎你来到联合国。我们为你就任这一重要岗位感到骄傲,你是一名女性,你激励了我们所有人,尤其是女青年。”在青年们的欢呼声中,妙手教育中心的老师Harriet Luvanga说道。

执行主任在讲话最后鼓励青年正面地思考和行动。

“你们所有人都很年轻,你们是未来的领袖。你们要正面思考,”执行主任说,“如果你做到这一点,你就会从不能行变为我能行。”

Young People Welcome Executive Director to UN-Habitat

By on 01/23/2018

 

“Change the Impossible to I’m possible!” Executive Director Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif tells the over hundred young people from 6 schools in Kibera, the largest slum in East Africa.

UN-Habitat welcomed its new Executive Director to the United Nation and Nairobi with a rousing KaribUNi yesterday. The Executive Director dropped by Nairobi Children’s Exchange Programme, an annual event hosted by UN-Habitat to raise awareness about the UN and the opportunities that young people have internationally. She came with a message of hope and inspiration from her life as a young person in Malaysia.

“I came from a village, and at that time when I was your age, there was no electricity, I had to use a kerosene lamp, no water, I took water from the well,” she told the young people, “To me at that time, education was the most important thing. So please whether your are in a slum or a village or in a city, education is very important.”

The young people, aged 10 through to 18, came with their teachers. A strong focus of the schools is the empowerment of girls and young women.

“Executive Director Maimunah we are honored to greet you here at the UN. We are so proud that you have been appointed to this important position; and you being a woman, you have inspired all of us, especially the young women.”  stated Harriet Luvanga, a teacher from Gifted Hands Education centre to cheers from the young people.

The Executive Director ended her talk imploring the young people to think positively and act.

“All of you are young; you are the future leaders. You have to think positive,” stated Executive Director, “If you do this you can change the impossible to I’m possible.”

Main Menu