.

世界卫生组织保证水质、保证未来合作

By on 2018-05-21

阿克拉,2018516—— 世界卫生组织(WHO)对于不同的联合国机构在水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)项目中展现的团结一致表示满意。

世界卫生组织(WHO)驻加纳主任Owen Laws Kaluwa说:“这个项目成功率高,合情合理,因为这是有史以来首次不同的联合国机构一道工作却一体行动。”

他说,世界卫生组织在项目期间派出多名该领域的专家,保障最终的成果符合国际标准。“我们依托庞大的全球专业人才库,选派一些专家赴加纳负责这个特定项目,”他在阿克拉的一次访谈中说。

然而,驻加纳主任称,世界卫生组织(WHO)在项目中也面临某些挑战,尤其是在项目初期。“需求评估是一大挑战,事实上,不同机构的工作程序不同,这也是一个小问题,尤其是考虑到该项目要求同步化行动,”他说。

Owen Laws Kaluwa博士及其团队面临的其他挑战还有项目执行区域广袤,使监督工作十分艰巨。“由于我们在Tamale未设办公室,无法做到每天监督项目工作,这给我们带来了挑战,”他说。

当然,世界卫生组织(WHO)拥有方便实用的全球网络,其加纳工作组可以从世界其他地方调集人力资源,对加纳施以援手。“总之,我很高兴项目使人民生活发生了重大转变。我们开凿抗灾的钻孔,填充优质水源,我相信这将降低水源性疾病的发生率,”他说。

Owen Laws Kaluwa博士预测,未来不同的联合国机构间将建立更多类似的伙伴关系,尤其是考虑到联合国正在推行的“一体行动”这一背景。“我认为这是未来的发展规范。如果我们制定可持续的伙伴关系项目,我们很可能取得更多成就。鉴于联合国机构在几乎所有领域都拥有无可匹敌的人才库,这一点不言而喻。”

世界卫生组织(WHO)国家项目官员赞同Owen Laws Kaluwa博士的观点,并列举了项目执行过程中面对的某些困难,包括项目的覆盖距离远。“该项目覆盖广大地区,这给我们带来巨大的挑战,”他说。

他为项目圆满成功而高兴。“这个项目独一无二,我们有史以来第一次与姊妹机构并肩工作,”他说。

世界卫生组织(WHO)环境卫生官员Akosua Kwakye称,该项目的亮点是她参与的行为健康改变活动。“学校儿童接受洗手的概念,令人满意。洗手大幅改善了儿童的健康,”她说。

Akosua Kwakye女士称,该项目还开展了“健康学校赛”,奖励表现优异的学校。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

WHO assures on water quality, future collaborations

By on 05/21/2018

Accra 16 May 2018—World Health Organisation (WHO) is satisfied with the unity of purpose exhibited by the various UN agencies involved in the WASH DPC project.

Ghana Country Director Owen Laws Kaluwa says: the success rate of the project was reasonably high considering that this was the first time we were working together as different UN agencies but delivering in unison.”

He said the organisation deployed many experts in the field during the project ensuring that the end result was meeting international standards. “We leveraged on our huge global resource base of professionals and we brought some of them to Ghana for this specific project,” he said at an interview in Accra.

However, the Country Director says WHO experienced some challenges especially at the beginning of the project. “Needs assessment proved quite a challenge and the fact that the different agencies have different delivery procedures also posed a small hurdle especially in regard to synchronising the project,” he said.

The other challenged Dr. Kaluwa and his team faced was the sheer vastness of the project execution area which made supervision an arduous task. “Since we do not have an office in Tamale, we had some challenge in that we could not do day to day supervision of the project,” he said.

However, the global reach of WHO came in handy as the country team could mobilise human resources from other parts of the world to come into Ghana to lend a hand. “All in all I am happy that the project has made a big difference in people’s lives. We have sunk disaster resilience boreholes with good quality water which I am confident will reduce incidences of water borne diseases,” he said.

Dr. Kaluwa sees more similar partnerships between UN agencies in the future especially when looked at against the milieu of ‘Delivering as One’ which the UN is pushing for. “I see this being the norm, moving forward. If we develop sustainable partnership programmes we are likely to achieve more. This is even more obvious considering that UN agencies have unmatched pools of experts in almost every field.

WHO national programme officer agrees with Dr. Kaluwa and lists some of the difficulties experienced during the project execution as including the distances covered. “The project stretched on a very big area and this posed a big challenge to us,” he said.

He is upbeat that the project was very successful. “This was a unique project which saw us working with our sister agencies for the very first time,” he said.

On her part WHO Environmental Health Officer, Akosua Kwakye, the highlight of the project was the behavioural health change activities that she was involved in. “It was satisfying to see the school children embrace the hand washing concept,” which greatly improved their own health,” she said.

According to Ms. Kwakye the project also ran a ‘healthy schools’ competition’ which saw the institutions doing well feted.

Main Menu