.

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜女士会晤肯尼亚部长,重申联合国人居署致力于支持肯尼亚的优先发展事项

By on 2018-03-07

最近, 联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士会晤了肯尼亚外交与国际贸易部长兼大使 Monica Juma 博士。 执行主任还会晤了肯尼亚交通、基础设施、住房与城市发展部长 James Macharia 阁下。

在分别进行的两次会晤中,麦慕娜女士都重申人居署致力于支持肯尼亚政府在《2030愿景》和《第三个中期计划》(MTP3)等国家框架内制定的优先发展事项。执行主任还声明,人居署愿意支持乌胡鲁·肯雅塔总统的“四大议程”,尤其是议程的第三支柱,即致力于向肯尼亚人民提供100万负担得起的低成本住房单位。执行主任补充道,“作为联合国系统人类住区和住房领域的核心机构,人居署愿意提供技术支持,推动为肯尼亚人民提供负担得起的低成本住房”。

麦慕娜女士补充道,《肯尼亚国家人居项目文件》(2018-2021)是协调国家行动和调集资源的关键工具。

住房部长 James Macharia 祝贺执行主任履任新职,补充道,这次会晤恰逢其时,表明麦慕娜女士渴望在就职前听取政府的意见。执行主任向 James Macharia 部长介绍了人居署正在实施的、由肯尼亚、日本、瑞典等捐款方资助的国家级项目。

外交部长Monica Juma大使重申,肯尼亚致力于强化设在内罗毕的人居署,补充道“联合国人居署在内罗毕的工作是推动肯尼亚执行《新城市议程》的重要动力”。

非洲区域办事处主任 Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza 陪同执行主任出席了两次会晤。

UN-Habitat’s Executive Director, Mme Maimunah meets Kenya’s Cabinet Secretaries; reaffirms UN-Habitat’s commitment to supporting host country priorities

By on 03/07/2018

UN-Habitat Executive Director Mme Maimunah Mohd Sharif recently met with Kenya’s Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs and International Trade Amb. Dr. Monica Juma. The Executive Director also met with Cabinet Secretary for Transport, Infrastructure, Housing and Urban Development Hon. James Macharia.

During the two meetings held separately, Mme Maimunah reaffirmed UN-Habitat’s commitment towards supporting Kenya government’s priorities as outlined in the national frameworks including the Vision 2030 and the MTP3. The Executive Director also stated UN-Habitat’s readiness to support President Uhuru Kenyatta’s “Big Four Agenda”, especially Pillar 3 of the agenda that aims at delivering 1million affordable and low cost housing units for Kenyans adding that “as the human settlements and housing focal point agency within the United Nations family, UN-Habitat is willing to provide technical support in the delivery of affordable and low cost housing for Kenyans”.

Mme Maimunah added that the Habitat Country Programme Document for Kenya (2018-2021) is a critical tool for coordination of country level activities as well as for resource mobilization.

While congratulating the Executive Director on her new appointment, Housing Cabinet Secretary James Macharia added that the meeting was timely, an indication that Mme Maimunah was keen on listening to government before embarking on her new appointment. Cabinet Secretary James Macharia was also informed of UN-Habitat’s country level programmes which are implemented through funding from Kenya, Japan, and Sweden among other donors.

Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary Amb. Monica Juma reaffirmed Kenya’s commitment to strengthening UN-Habitat in Nairobi adding that “UN-Habitat’s presence in Nairobi is an important driver for implementation of the New Urban Agenda in Kenya.”

During both meetings, the Executive Director was accompanied by Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza, Director of Regional Office for Africa.

Main Menu