联合国人居署向城市政策制定者发出公开信,呼吁采取紧急行动限制全球变暖

By on 2018-12-10

1210—— 联合国人居署和其他几个组织签署了一封公开信, 呼吁城市政策制定者立即采取行动, 确保其战略将全球变暖控制在工业化前水平 1.5 °C 以上。

最近,政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)的世界领先气候科学家报告了 1.5 °C上升的影响,并警告说,任何增加将大大增加干旱、洪水、极端高温和贫穷。 该报告称,1.5 °C的上升在技术上是可行的,但需要立即采取措施使全球经济脱碳。

IPCC 报告的概要现已发布。联合国人居署和在世界各地城市工作的其他九个网络,协会和非政府组织以及国际组织签署了一封公开信,呼吁市、州和地区政府采取紧急行动。信中指出:“科学是明确的 – 要想有机会达到 1.5 °C,我们必须在未来二十年内将全球二氧化碳排放量降至零。”

 

这封信的内容如下:

有关城市政策制定者概要的公开信—— IPCC 就 1.5 °C全球变暖的特别报告对城市意味着什么?

2018年12月10日

亲爱的同事们:

我们是一个以可持续发展为重点的城市网络、协会和非政府组织以及在全球城市中工作的国际组织。我们希望提请您注意为城市政策制定者制作的概要,其中汇总了政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)发布的关于将全球变暖限制在 1.5 °C的最新科学内容。

面向城市决策者的新概要

“城市政策制定者概要”是针对所有城市问题工作者的综合性概要,明确指出城市和地区应该瞄准的唯一途径是将全球变暖限制在1.5°C而不是2°C。我们正站在2018年的十字路口。我们无法限制变暖;事实上,根据《巴黎协定》,到本世纪末,目前各国所做的努力将导致气温升至2.9至3.4°C。这不但将对水和粮食安全、生活水平和人类健康产生巨大影响,还将对我们这一代及后代产生严重影响。科学是明确的 – 为了把握1.5°C的良好机会,我们必须在未来二十年内将全球二氧化碳排放量降至零。我们还必须大幅度减少如甲烷和黑碳等其他污染物。情况的严重性不容低估;我们每年都很难减少这些排放量,近两年减少了1.5°C通道达到零排放的窗口。与此同时,我们必须迅速投资,帮助我们的公民、企业和基础设施在不断变化的气候中茁壮成长。

你能做什么?

我们需要采取积极的策略,将升温限制在1.5°C,同时让我们的城镇、城市和地区为2°C或更高的温度做准备。

城市、州和地区政府可以集中精力在六个领域来解锁1.5°C更安全的未来,即城市能源系统、建筑、交通和城市规划、绿色基础设施、可持续土地利用和水管理。这些领域的行动将带来可观的共同利益,包括改善公共卫生和减少空气污染。

所有部门和各级政府必须以综合方式开展工作,以实现所需的城市转型。没有一个参与方可以独自做到这一点。在涉及能源网格脱碳和财政可用性方面尤其如此,因为国家政府可以发挥特别重要的作用。与以下机构合作编写的文件:* 世界自然基金会的一个星球城市挑战根据建议减排轨迹1.5°C对城市进行评估,并引导他们采取重大影响行动

我们呼吁更高排放的城市、州和地区将重点放在快速和远距离脱碳以及保护基础设施和经济资产免受预测的气候变化上。

我们呼吁较低排放的城市、州和地区认识到气候变化带来的人类风险,并制定战略以改善气候适应能力并限制未来的排放增长。

为什么现在要采取行动?

根据最新科学研究,我们的排放量不到十年就将达到排放的高峰。这意味着地球上所有人类系统的完全转变。没有这一点,实现可持续发展目标和保持我们迄今取得的发展进步将变得越来越困难。

为了继续为您的公民提供发展和生活质量,需要将应对气候变化纳入您所做的每件事。每项战略、政策、项目和融资机制都需要与1.5°C兼容。我们与您并肩行动并提供所需支持助您过渡到低碳、气候适应性强的世界。

根据最新科学研究,我们的排放量不到十年就将达到排放的高峰。这意味着地球上所有人类系统的完全转变。没有这一点,实现可持续发展目标和保持我们迄今取得的发展进步将变得越来越困难。为了继续为您的公民提供发展和生活质量,需要将应对气候变化纳入您所做的每件事。每项战略、政策、项目和融资机制都需要与1.5°C兼容。我们与您并肩行动并提供所需支持助您过渡到低碳、气候适应性强的世界。

签署

城市联盟

CDP

气候联盟

C40城市气候领导小组

气候与能源市长全球公约

ICLEI

联合城市和地方政府(UCLG)组织

联合国人居署

WRI罗斯可持续城市中心

世界自然基金会

一个星球城挑战*

由以下建议城市决策者概要流程的城市提供支持:

巴塞罗那市议会Ajuntament de Barcelona(西班牙)

布宜诺斯艾利斯市(阿根廷)

墨尔本市(澳大利亚)

弗雷德里克沙文市(丹麦)

首尔市(韩国)

 

公开信函文本可以在下面找到,可以在这里下载。

打开信函

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

UN-Habitat signs open letter to urban policymakers calling for urgent action to limit global warming

By on 12/10/2018

10 December – UN-Habitat and several other organizations have signed an open letter, calling on urban policymakers to take immediate action ensure that their strategies keep global warming to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels.

Recently, the world’s leading climate scientists in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reported on the impact that a rise of 1.5 °C would have and warned that  beyond that any increase will significantly increase the risks of drought, floods, extreme heat and poverty. The report said that the 1.5 °C rise was technologically feasible but would require immediate action to decarbonize the global economy.

A summary of the IPCC report has now been released. UN-Habitat and nine other networks, associations and NGOs and international organisations working in and on cities worldwide have signed an open letter calling on city, state and regional governments to take urgent action. The letter states : “The science is clear – to stand a good chance of achieving 1.5°C, we must reduce our global CO2 emissions to zero within the next two decades.”

 

The letter reads as follows;

 

OPEN LETTER ON THE SUMMARY FOR URBAN POLICYMAKERS WHAT THE IPCC SPECIAL REPORT ON GLOBAL WARMING OF 1.5°C MEANS FOR CITIES

10 December 2018

Dear Colleagues:

We are a group of sustainability-focused city-networks, associations and NGOs and international organisations working in and on cities worldwide. We want to draw your attention to a summary produced for urban policymakers, which condenses the latest science published by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) on limiting global warming to 1.5°C.

A New Summary for Urban Policymakers

The Summary for Urban Policymakers is a comprehensive summary for all those working on urban issues that makes it clear that the only pathways that cities and regions should aim for is to constrain global warming to 1.5°C rather than 2°C. We are standing at a crossroads in 2018. We are not on track to limit warming; in fact, current nationally determined contributions under the Paris Agreement will lead to warming of between 2.9 and 3.4°C by the end of the century. This will have huge implications on water and food security, living standards and human health and will have grave implications for our generation, and all generations to come. The science is clear – to stand a good chance of achieving 1.5°C, we must reduce our global CO2 emissions to zero within the next two decades. We must also dramatically reduce other pollutants, such as methane and black carbon. The gravity of the situation cannot be underestimated; each year we fail to get started on these emissions reductions, the window to reach zero emissions on a 1.5°C pathway is reduced by two years. At the same time, we must rapidly invest in helping our citizens, businesses and infrastructure to thrive in a changing climate.

What Can You Do?

We need to pursue aggressive strategies to limit warming to 1.5°C, while preparing our towns, cities and regions for warming of 2°C or more.

There are six areas where city, state and regional governments can focus to unlock a 1.5°C safer future. These are: urban energy systems, buildings, transport and urban planning, green infrastructure, sustainable land use and water management. Action in these areas will bring considerable co-benefits including improved public health and reduced air pollution.

All departments and levels of government must work in an integrated way to enable the urban transition required. No one actor can do this alone. This is particularly true when it comes to energy grid decarbonization and the availability of finance, where national governments have an especially important role to play. Documento elaborado en colaboración con: * WWFs One Planet City Challenge assesses cities’ against recommended emission reduction trajectories for 1.5°C, and guides them to big impact action

We call upon higher emitting cities, states and regions to focus on rapid and farreaching decarbonization and the protection of infrastructure and economic assets from predicted climatic changes.

We call on lower emitting cities, states and regions to recognize the human risks posed by climate change and to put in place strategies to improve climate resilience and limit future growth in emissions.

Why Act Now?

According to the latest science, we have less than a decade to peak our emissions. This means a complete transformation of all human systems on earth. Without this, achieving the Sustainable Development Goals and maintaining the development progress we have made to date will become increasingly difficult.

To continue to deliver development and quality of life for your citizens, responding to climate change will need to be integrated into everything you do. Every strategy, policy, project and financing mechanism will need to be 1.5°C-compatible. We stand by you and offer our support to aid you in the transition to a low-carbon, climate resilient world.

According to the latest science, we have less than a decade to peak our emissions. This means a complete transformation of all human systems on earth. Without this, achieving the Sustainable Development Goals and maintaining the development progress we have made to date will become increasingly difficult. To continue to deliver development and quality of life for your citizens, responding to climate change will need to be integrated into everything you do. Every strategy, policy, project and financing mechanism will need to be 1.5°C compatible. We stand by you and offer our support to aid you in the transition to a low-carbon, climate resilient world.

Signed,

Cities Alliance

CDP

Climate Alliance

C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy

ICLEI

United Cities & Local Governments (UCLG)

UN-Habitat

WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities

WWF

One Planet City Challenge*

Supported by the following cities that advised the Summary for Urban Policymakers process:

Ajuntament de Barcelona (Spain)

Buenos Aires Ciudad (Argentina)

City of Melbourne (Australia)

Frederikshavn Municipality (Denmark)

City of Seoul (South Korea)

 

The open letter text can be found below and can be downloaded here.

Open Letter

Download 327.26 KB 35 downloads
Main Menu