联合国人居署向图尔卡纳郡政府移交Kalobeyei住区规划

By on 2017-05-31

肯尼亚图尔卡纳郡,2017 531日 —— 联合国人居署邀请肯尼亚的一些部长、 首席规划师、 主任、 专家等人讨论了 Kalobeyei 重新安置难民规划草案的内容, 包括其中的潜在问题、 及推动住区发展的开发项目等。

肯尼亚土地住房与城市发展部首席规划师Mark Ewoi Ewesit先生、日本政府代表Yo Ito先生为研讨会揭幕,强调联合国人居署、郡政府、难民、难民营之间的合作,强调城市战略的重要意义。城市战略要求制定具体的规章制度,促进全面、综合、可持续的住区发展。

2016年,在日本政府的支持下,联合国人居署参与实施Kalobeyei综合社会经济发展方案(KISEDP)。图尔卡纳郡的这个项目由联合国难民署(UNHCR)主持,致力于促进肯尼亚政府、联合国机构、开发机构、私营部门、公民社会之间的合作,为Kalobeyei重新安置难民提供可持续的服务和经济机会。

鉴于难民持续涌入的局势,图尔卡纳郡寻求收容难民的其他方式,找出各种机会的平衡点,以刺激难民营的可持续增长。联合国人居署与联合国难民署、图尔卡纳郡政府、其他合作伙伴一道,为Kalobeyei住区筹备综合空间规划,旨在展示人类住区发展的可持续方式。经过实施一年的参与式进程,制定了空间规划,将提交给图尔卡纳郡政府,作为合作进程和规划批准进程的组成部分。

空间规划为其他领域的合作方案和项目设定合作的空间框架,致力于在发展和人道主义干预下合作实施。空间规划的基石是联合国人居署开展的全面社会经济概述分析,囊括难民和难民营、当地专家、驻当地的国际人道主义和发展组织在内的深度参与式进程,图尔卡纳郡各部门专家官员和立法机构的持续支持和投入。

研讨会议程旨在为各部部长明确展示空间规划纲要,保障图尔卡纳郡在Kalobeyei住区项目实施过程中的所有权。图尔卡纳郡原住民传统上是游牧民族,主要问题之一是原住民与新住区的融合,及在经济日益增长的背景下改善居民的生计。需要考虑的其他因素还包括更多关注供水、在基础设施和卫生设施建设中充足的技术应用等。会议还讨论了Kalobeyei住区与娄德沃-娄克车季欧(odwar-Lokichogio)公路的关系,这也是未来投资项目区域潜在经济发展计划的组成部分。

在金融方面,会议讨论了可能出现的发展方向,强调以发展成本估算为切入点,促进金融和经济可持续的住区。政府与私营部门还可致力于制定潜在的伙伴关系政策,推进发展和建设,核算成本,向双方提供投资回报率。

此外,还召开会议,讨论有关社区土地和当前住区土地状况的肯尼亚法律框架。会议聚焦当前住区的租住所有权及可能出现的状况,既要保护难民营利益,又要保障住区长期可持续的发展。

图尔卡纳郡政府深知联合国人居署擅长城市规划设计,表示有信心,一旦获准,空间规划可遵照郡发展规划实施,呼吁联合国人居署支持其增进Kalobeyei难民、难民营与毗邻住区的社会和谐。

郡议会规划委员会荣誉成员和工作人员曾就Kalobeyei重新安置难民的地方咨询空间规划草案进行确认,促进联合国人居署草拟的住区发展纲要赢得广泛积极的反馈。联合国人居署专家、郡政府主要官员正在致力于实现住区的可持续解决方案。本次研讨会为在地方政府治理下切实实施规划奠定了基础。

 

图尔卡纳郡首席规划师介绍Kalobeyei重新安置难民的地方咨询空间规划草案。

日本政府代表启动为期两天的会议

UN-Habitat hands over plans for Kalobeyei Settlement to Turkana County Government

By on 05/31/2017

Turkana, Kenya, 31 May 2017 – UN-Habitat invited ministers, Chief officers, directors and expert officers to discuss the content of the draft plan for Kalobeyei Refugee Resettlement, including potential issues and development projects leading up to implementing the settlement development.

Mr. Mark Ewoi Ewesit, Chief Officer from The Ministry of Lands, Shelter and Urban Development, and Mr. Yo Ito, representative from the Government of Japan opened the workshop, highlighting the collaborative efforts between the UN-Habitat, the County Government and refugee and host communities and the importance of urban strategies requesting specific regulations to allow for a comprehensive, integrated and sustainable settlement development.

In 2016, supported by the Government of Japan, UN-Habitat had joined in the implementation of Kalobeyei Integrated Socio-Economic Development Program (KISEDP), the Turkana-based initiative chaired by UNHCR, that seeks to facilitate collaboration and coordination between the Kenyan Government, UN agencies, development actors, private sector and civil society to build sustainable services and economic opportunities in Kalobeyei Refugee Settlement.

Given the circumstances of continuous influx of refugees, Turkana County sought alternative approach to hosting refugees that can leverage the opportunities related to refugee settlements ability to stimulate sustainable growth. UN-Habitat in partnership with UNHCR, Turkana County Government and other partners prepared an integrated spatial plan for the Kalobeyei Settlement, aimed at demonstrating sustainable approaches to human settlement development. The Spatial Plan, which has been formulated through a participatory process over a period of one year, is to be submitted to the County Government of Turkana, both as part of the collaboration process and also as part of the requisite plan approval process.

The Spatial Plan is setting a spatial framework for coordinating programmes and projects for the other components/sub-components, towards the coordinated implementation under development and humanitarian interventions. The spatial plan has been developed based on a comprehensive socio-economic and mapping analysis conducted by UN-Habitat, as well as on a deeply participatory process involving refugee and host communities, local experts, international humanitarian and development organizations based on the ground and nevertheless continuous support and contribution from expert officers in different ministers in Turkana and the county legislature.

The workshop was structured in order to offer the ministries a clear presentation of the Spatial Plan guidelines and to ensure ownership of the County towards the Kalobeyei Settlement implementation. As Turkana natives are traditionally pastoralists, one of the main concerns was also the integration of locals into the new settlement, and to enhance their livelihoods in the growing economy.  Further factors for consideration include greater emphasis on water provision, and provision of adequate technologies in terms of infrastructure and sanitation. The discussion approached also the relation between Kalobeyei Settlement and the Lodwar-Lokichogio Highway, which as part of a regional potential economic development scheme for future investment projects.

In terms of financial aspects, discussions on possible development directions were conducted with an emphasis on developing cost estimate that will be used as the entry point for promoting a financially and economic sustainable settlement. Potential partnership policies between the government and private sectors can also seek to enhance and capture development and construction costs, providing return of investments for both parties.

A session on the Kenyan legislative framework for community land and on the current land status of the settlement was also conducted. It focused on the current tenure of the settlement and on the possible scenarios to both protect the interests of the host community and ensure the long term sustainability of the settlement.

With acknowledgements to UN-Habitat expertise in urban planning and design, the Turkana County Government has expressed their confidence that once approved; the Spatial Plan can be implemented in lines with the County Development Plans, calling for UN-Habitat to support further social cohesion between refugee and host communities in Kalobeyei and neighboring settlements.

Honorary Members and staff of the Planning Committee of the County Assembly have previously conducted a validation of the draft Advisory Local Physical Development Plan for the Kalobeyei Refugee Settlement, promoting a positive overall feedback for the settlement development guidelines drafted by UN-Habitat. Experts from the UN-Habitat, key officers from the County Government are working towards achieving sustainable solutions for the settlement, and this workshop has set the basis for feasible implementation governed by the local authority.

Turkana County Chief Planner presenting the draft Advisory Local Physical Development Plan for the Kalobeyei Refugee Settlement

The Representative of the Government of Japan opening the 2 days session

Main Menu