.

联合国人居署执行主任在可持续蓝色经济会议上发布《青年宣言》

By on 2018-11-27

版权 : Gamba Kizito

内罗毕,20181127—— 在可持续蓝色经济会议第二天的会上,联合国副秘书长、联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜 · 莫哈德 · 谢里夫女士发表讲话,敦促各国和区域政府、市长、区域发展组织、联合国机构和发展合作伙伴,审视《联合国人居署青年宣言》的成果,采纳其中的推荐意见。

在郡长和市长会议的主旨发言中,谢里夫女士赞扬了《青年宣言》中富于创意、侧重行动的推荐意见。《青年宣言》于11月23日由青年和蓝色经济会议的300名青年代表讨论通过。该会议在内罗毕联合国大楼召开,是可持续蓝色经济会议的预备会议。

她强调需要在所有各级推行整体综合的可持续发展规划,指出:“气候变化真实存在,是城市必须考虑的关键因素之一,海平面上升的治理问题必须由市政府和郡长来解决。”

执行主任提醒数百名郡长、市长、地方政府代表,2018年世界人居日的主题是“城市固体废弃物管理”。这个主题在废弃物管理与蓝色经济之间建立了直接的联系。

“如果我们不管理废弃物,它们就会灌入下水管道,然后排入河流,最终涌入海洋。内陆的一切废弃物最终都归于海洋,”她说。

她宣布,人居署和内罗毕郡政府将合作于2018年12月1日在玛萨瑞贫民窟开展清扫活动,动员贫民窟的社区组织和学校参与。她说,这项活动将鼓励社区定期组织清扫、进行社区宣传、提高居民意识。

“我们必须鼓励居民,在可能的情况下,尽量不要产生废弃物,或者减少废弃物并回收利用。但是我想补充一点,即第一个R,重新思考。我们需要重新思考消费习惯,时常扪心自问我们是否需要所消费的一切。这样做,将减少废弃物的产生量,鼓励我们为零废弃物而奋斗,”谢里夫女士说。

她邀请与会者到展会上参观人居署的展台,提到,人居署致力于促进城市的可持续蓝色经济,这一点正是人居署最新出版的《蓝色经济和城市》背景文件所强调的。

谢里夫女士重申,人居署承诺全力支持肯尼亚政府实现“四大发展目标”。她说,人居署已经成立了工作组,以探索在住房、食品安全(food security)、健康和制造业等领域的协作。

“如果我们在城市推行整体性的可持续发展规划,把沿海和淡水水域的规划完全融合在内,就会激发无限的潜力,从而利用海洋资源实现繁荣发展。只要我们妥善管理城市,就会有很多机遇,”她说。

谢里夫女士说,参会的许多市长和地方政府代表阐明,地方政府和次国家政府发挥着重要作用,使城市和城市地区更可持续。

“作为发展大潮中的一员,我深感自豪。我希望,我们可以共同创造长远的影响,”她最后说。

UN-Habitat Executive Director unveils Youth Declar-Action at the Sustainable Blue Economy Conference

By on 11/27/2018

Copyright: Gamba Kizito

Nairobi, 27 November 2018 – Speaking on the second day of the Sustainable Blue Economy Conference, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN-Habitat, Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif urged national and regional governments, mayors, regional development oganizations, UN entities and development partners to examine the findings of the UN-Habitat Youth Declar-Action and adopt its recommendations.

In her keynote speech delivered at the Governors and Mayors Convention, Ms. Sharif praised the creative and action-oriented recommendations in the document adopted by 300 youth participants at the Youth and Blue Economy Conference held on 23 November at the United Nations Complex, Nairobi as a precursor to the main Conference.

Can we say that and mention attended by hundreds of  governors, mayors and local govts of water facing cities and towns

Emphasizing the need to adopt holistic and integrated sustainable development plans at all levels, she noted that: “Climate change is real and is one of the key factors that cities must take into consideration, and the question of managing the rise in sea levels must be addressed by municipal authorities and governors.”

The Executive Director reminded the hundreds of governors, mayors and local government representatives of the theme of World Habitat Day 2018 Municipal Solid Waste Management, drawing a direct link between waste management and the blue economy.

“If we do not take care of our waste it ends up in the drain, then in the river, and finally in the ocean whatever happens in the hinterland ends up in the ocean,” she said.

She announced that UN-Habitat and the County Government of Nairobi would partner in a clean-up exercise involving community groups and schools in the Mathare slum on 1 December 2018, saying the initiative would encourage regular community clean-ups, community sensitization and awareness raising.

“We must encourage residents not to generate waste at all where possible, or to reducing and recycle it. But I want to add the first R – Rethink. We need to rethink our consumption habits by constantly asking ourselves whether we need everything we consume. This will reduce the amount of waste we generate and encourage us to strive towards zero wastage,” said Ms. Sharif.

Inviting participants to visit the UN-Habitat booth at the exhibition, she mentioned that the agency’s work in promoting sustainable blue economies in cities is highlighted in the newly published UN-Habitat Blue Economy and Cities background paper.

Reiterating UN-Habitat’s commitment to fully support the Government of Kenya towards achieving the Big4 Agenda, Ms. Sharif said a task force had been set up to explore areas of collaboration in housing, food security, health and manufacturing.

“If we get our cities right through holistic and sustainable development plans that fully integrate coastal and fresh water bodies, the potential to transform marine resources into prosperous development is infinite. There are a lot of opportunities if we make our cities right,” she said.

Ms. Sharif said the large number of mayors and local authority representatives at the meeting demonstrated the important role of local and sub-national governments in making their cities and city regions more sustainable.

“I am proud to be part of this momentum and hope that we can create a long-lasting impact together,” she concluded.

Main Menu