.

驻加纳协调员赞扬联合国机构间的新合作

By on 2018-05-21

阿克拉,2018年5月16日 —— 联合国常驻加纳协调员Christine Evans-Klock称,四家机构新近协作在加纳特定地区开展了联合国的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)联合项目,必须予以鼓励。

她指出,联合国日益以“一体行动”为优先事项,此类合作项目将在全球多地推广,由联合国负责运作,救助民众。联合国人居署(Un-Habitat)、联合国儿童基金会(Unicef)、世界卫生组织(WHO)和联合国开发计划署(UNDP)等联合国四家机构携手执行这个项目,得到诸多受益人与合作伙伴的赞许,取得了成功。

“这一创新项目成功地结合了四家不同机构各自的专长,让他们并肩合作。这也是一个复杂的项目,”Christine Evans-Klock女士在阿克拉办公室接受采访时说。

该项目覆盖了加纳的三个省份,使参与项目的机构得到解决复杂问题的完美时机,她补充道,项目的独特特征是易于升级、可持续。

常驻协调员称,每家机构都发挥特别作用,有助于不给“同室操戈”留下死角。“四家机构有效地解决了不同部分的问题,证明当团队成员彼此需要时,团队工作的效果最佳,”她说。

Christine Evans-Klock女士对捐赠方加拿大全球事务部(Global Affairs Canada)赞不绝口。全球事务部在项目执行中发挥了积极作用。“加拿大全球事务部非常积极地参与预算、查验时间表、保障项目全程清晰,”她指出,加拿大人在项目区内开展了多项工作。

她还赞扬了各村的酋长全力支持项目,这从他们村里的妇女也愿意全程参与可见一斑。“女性在水和环境卫生方面呼声强烈,她们总在催促地方领导人给她们供水,”她说。

Chereponi区Cherkpiri社区的居民。加纳北部地区受益于水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)项目,享受到安全、清洁的供水。照片版权:联合国人居署

该项目的一个意外之喜触动了Christine Evans-Klock女士,即项目帮助青春期的女孩不再辍学。该项目的一个内容是与学校的保健室合作,教授青春期女孩个人卫生,在月经期为她们提供更衣室。

常驻协调员透露,她的作用是对团队加以领导,保障与合作伙伴的沟通渠道畅通。加纳政府近来的这一转变顺带着卫生部也有所改变。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

Resident Coordinator hails novel collaboration of UN agencies

By on 05/21/2018

Accra 16 May 2018—The UN Resident Coordinator for Ghana Christine Evans-Klock, says the novel collaborative efforts of the four agencies that worked on the Joint UN programme on WASH in Disaster Prone Communities (DPC) project in selected areas of Ghana was something that must be encouraged.

According to her, with the UN moving more towards prirotising the Delivering as One platform, such a collaboration would be replicated in many places worldwide where the UN is running projects to help the people. Four UN agencies- UN-Habitat, Unicef, WHO and UNDP joined hands in delivering the project which has been hailed by many of the beneficiaries and partners as successful.

“It was quite an innovative project that managed to get the relative expertise from four different agencies and have them work together. It was also quite a complex project,” Ms. Evans-Klock said at an interview in her office in Accra.

The fact that the project was spread over three regions of Ghana gave the participating agencies the perfect opportunity to address complex issues, she said adding that a unique feature of the project was that it could be easily scaled up and sustainable.

According to the Resident Coordinator, the distinctive role played by each agency was quite helpful leaving no room for ‘sibling rivalry’. “They addressed the various components very effectively proving that a team works best when they need each other,” she said.

Ms. Evans-Klock was all praises for the donor, Global Affairs Canada, which played an active role in the project execution. “Global Affairs Canada took a very active role in the budgeting, checking on the timelines as well as ensuring that there was clarity throughout,” she said pointing the many missions the Canadians took to the project areas.

She also hailed the village chiefs for their wholehearted embracement of the project which was demonstrated by their willingness to involve women in the whole process. “The women had a very strong voice especially on water and sanitation under which they constantly pushed the local leaders to give them water,” she said.

Cherkpiri Community residents in Chereponi District – Northern Ghana region enjoy safe clean water courtesy of the WASH in DPC project. Photo©UN-Habitat

An unintended outcome of the project which touched Ms. Evans-Kock’s heart was the fact that it helped keep adolescent girls in school. The project had a component under which, working with schools’ health clubs, adolescent girls were taught on personal hygiene and were provided with changing rooms when they were in their menses.

The Resident Coordinator disclosed that her role was to provide leadership to the team as well as keeping clear channels of communications with the partners. The recent change of government had brought with it a small hitch in that the line ministry had changed.

Main Menu