.

新任联合国人居署执行主任号召各级政府对青年人进行持续投资

By on 2018-02-07

“如今,我们面临着前所未有的城市、社会和环境挑战。 从气候变化到激进化,青年人都在面对这些问题的第一线。 青年人是确保我们找到解决办法的希望和未来。”—— 麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士(Maimunah Mohd Sharif),联合国人类住区规划署(UN-Habitat)执行主任。

2018年1月31日,纽约——麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士在第七届联合国经济及社会理事会青年论坛上致辞,呼吁国家和地方政府继续投资全球青年的潜力。这是谢里夫女士作为联合国人居署执行主任在联合国的第一次讲话,在联合国纽约总部向世界各地青年代表致辞。

该论坛侧重于青年在建设可持续的和有适应能力的城市和农村社区方面的作用,参与论坛的部长、政府官员、青年代表人数创下新纪录。与会者讨论了国际社会向青年学习的承诺,以及青年积极参与实施《2030年可持续发展议程》和《新城市议程》的战略。

谢里夫女士宣布联合国人居署青年股承诺建立一个全球城市青年理事会网络(GNUYC)。GNUYC将为城市可持续发展目标做出贡献,以确保城市青年参与城市决策的所有过程。这个由伊斯坦布尔市政府支持的网络将对青年参与决策至关重要,使他们能够与城市合作,共同创造一个更美好的世界。

“我经常对年轻人说,我们必须把‘不可能’改成‘我可能’。我们必须设想一个积极的未来,那就是年轻人在建立健康的、可持续的社区方面发挥领导作用,”谢里夫女士说。GNUYC将在第一年着重于以下目标:

  • 建设青年和地方政府实践社区
  • 建设地方青年中心能力
  • 创造交流知识的机会,使年轻人在地方一级参与到有意义的决策过程中

首届地方青年理事会峰会将于今年晚些时候举行——更多信息请访问unhabitatyab.com

New UN-Habitat Executive Director calls for continued investment in youth across levels of government

By on 02/07/2018

“Today, we face unprecedented urban, social and environmental challenges. From climate change to radicalization, youth are often at the front lines facing these problems. They are our hope and our future in assuring that we can find solutions.” – Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director of United Nations Human Settlement Programme (UN-Habitat)

New York, 31 January 2018 — In her remarks at the 7th Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) Youth Forum, Maimunah Mohd Sharif made a call for national and local governments to continue to invest in the potential of youth globally. This was Ms. Sharif’s first statement at that United Nations as Executive Director of UN-Habitat to youth delegates from around the world in the United Nations headquarters in New York.

The forum, which focused on the role of youth in building sustainable and resilient urban and rural communities, welcomed a record number of ministers, government officials, youth delegates and youth representatives. Participants discussed the international community’s commitment to learning from young people and strategies to include active participation by youth in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and New Urban Agenda.

Ms. Sharif announced a commitment by the UN-Habitat Youth Unit to establish a Global Network of Urban Youth Councils (GNUYC). The GNUYC will contribute to the Urban Sustainable Development Goals to ensure that urban youth are engaged in all processes of urban decision-making. This network, supported by the Municipality of Istanbul, will be critical to involving youth in decision-making and allowing them to working in partnership with their cities to create a better world.

“I often say to young people that we must change ‘Impossible’ to ‘I AM possible’. We must envision a positive future where young people take up leadership in creating healthy and sustainable communities,” says Sharif.   In the first year, the GNUYC will focus on the following outputs:

  • building a community of practice on youth and local government
  • building capacity at local youth centres
  • creating opportunities to exchange knowledge engage young people in a meaningful decision process at the local level

The first Summit of Local Youth Councils will be held late this year – learn more at unhabitatyab.com

Translate »
Main Menu