.

加沙地带社区使用“我的世界”参与设计公共空间

By on 2017-08-25

加沙地带拉法,2017825—— 联合国人居署与联合国妇女署、巴勒斯坦住房委员会、艾莎妇女儿童保护协会、加沙门户(GGateway)合作, 在拉法市 Al-Shoka 地区建设安全包容的公共空间,目的是改善城市环境,提高居民的生活水平,尤其是对于儿童和青年而言。

该项目率先使用流行的“我的世界”视频游戏,这是加沙地带首次运用这一工具让社区参与公共空间的设计过程,并借鉴联合国人居署以往在东耶路撒冷Sur Baher和Wadi Al Joz小区的公共空间干预举措。

约40名社区成员,主要由青年和妇女组成,参加了为期三天的培训,包括讨论优良的公共空间设计、社区参与的重要性,及如何利用“我的世界”这项工具推动社区参与设计过程。学员们分成小组,在“我的世界”的虚拟环境中创建他们设想的公共空间。

 

加强归属感

培训最后一天,学员们介绍了他们的设计,进行小组讨论,就提议的设施和服务达成一致意见。随后,综合全体同意的意见制定最终模型。这个模型将成为景观设计师完成最终公共空间设计的基石。

“我们很高兴参与设计将在我们城市建设的公共空间,参与公共空间的规划和设计激励我们发挥公共财物的所有权,加强归属感,”学员赛义德(Saeed)说。“我渴望看到受我们的设计和想象启发而建设的公共空间落地开花。”

联合国人居署数字项目官Pontus Westerberg指出,联合国人居署和“我的世界”开发商Mojang建立了称作“Block by Block”(堆积木)的全球伙伴关系,旨在让青年参与城市地区的规划进程,赋予青年机会,向规划师和决策者展示他们对城市未来的期许。

“当地社区为制定有魅力的设计方案而付出的努力和专注令我感动,这表明虽然局势艰难,但当地社区提高小区生活水平的意愿强烈,我期待看到最终的公共空间植根于本次培训中提出的意见,”Pontus Westerberg说。

 

直观可视化

利用“我的世界”,其重要性在于能使社区成员,尤其是男女青年,以直观可视化的方式,表达他们的需求和意见。“我的世界”是公共空间和更广泛的空间规划进程民主化的重要工具,具有成本效益、互动性强。

“至关重要的是,投资推动社区赋权和能力建设,改善加沙地带的社会经济状况。目前,我们注重提高妇女和青年的能力,使他们参与不同层级(规划、设计和执行)的有效决策进程,利用创新的工具和举措,”联合国人居署驻巴勒斯坦国办公室主管Zeyad Elshakra说。

该项目隶属比利时王国政府资助的“利用数字工具提高加沙地带人权、创建包容的公共空间”项目。

Minecraft for community participation to design public space  in Gaza Strip

By on 08/28/2017

Rafah, Gaza Strip, 25 August , 2017 – UN-Habitat in partnership with UN Women, the Palestinian Housing Council, Aisha Association for Woman and child protection, and GGateway are creating a safe and inclusive public space in the Al-Shoka area in Rafah city in order to improve the urban environment and the living conditions of residents, in particular children and youth.

The initiative is pioneering the use of the popular Minecraft video game for the first time in Gaza Strip as a tool to engage the community in the design process of the public space, and builds on UN Habitat’s previous public space interventions in Sur Baher and Wadi Al Joz neighbourhoods in East Jerusalem.

Around 40 community members, mainly youth and women, participated in the 3 day workshop that included discussions on good public space design, the importance of community participation, and how to use Minecraft as a tool for engaging the community in the design process. The participants were divided into teams and built their visions of the public space within the virtual environment of Minecraft.

Increased sense of belonging

On the last day, the participants presented their designs and a group discussion was held to agree on the proposed facilities and services. Afterwards a final model that combines the agreed upon ideas was developed which will be the base that the landscape architect will develop the final public space design upon.

“We are very happy that we participated in the design of the public space that will be constructed in our town, our participation in the planning and design of public spaces encourages us to take the ownership of the public properties and increases the sense of belonging,” said Saeed, one of the participants. “I am eager to see the public space that inspired by our designs and imaginations implemented on the ground.”

Pontus Westerberg, Digital Projects Officer at UN-Habitat’s noted that UN-Habitat and Mojang – the creator of Minecraft – have a global partnership called  “Block by Block”, which aims to involve youth in the planning process in urban areas by giving them the opportunity to show planners and decision makers how they would like to see their cities in the future.

“I am impressed with the commitment and efforts exerted by the local community to produce attractive designs, which indicate the strong will and desire to improve the standard of living within their neighborhoods despite the hard conditions they suffer from, and I look forward to seeing the final public space based on the ideas generated in this workshop,” said Westerberg.

Visual and intuitive

The importance of utilizing Minecraft rests on its ability to engage community members, especially youth from both genders, in a highly visual and intuitive manner that allows the expression of their needs and opinions. Minecraft is a critical tool for democratizing public space and broader spatial planning processes in a cost-effective and highly interactive manner.

“It is extremely essential to invest in the community empowerment and capacity building to enhance the socio-economic situation in Gaza Strip, now we are focusing on strengthening the capacity of women and youth to participate in an effective decision-making process on different levels (planning, design, and implementation), utilizing innovative tools and approaches” said Zeyad Elshakra, Head of UN Habitat office in the State of Palestine.

This initiative is implemented under the “Utilizing digital tools to promote human rights and create Inclusive public spaces in Gaza Strip” project, which is funded by the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium.

Translate »
Main Menu