.

地方政府专家在第八届非洲城市峰会上讨论可持续城市发展

By on 2018-11-21

在马拉喀什举行的第八届非洲城市峰会的入口处。照片版权:联合国人居署,2018年

摩洛哥马拉喀什,20181120—— 数千名地方政府专家参加了第八届非洲城市峰会,讨论推行可持续发展政策,以改善非洲城市居民的生活。

这一首要的泛非洲会议由世界城市和地方政府联合组织非洲分会(UCLGA)承办,每三年举行一届。 第八届非洲城市峰会在摩洛哥的马拉喀什举行,主题是“向可持续城市和区域转变:非洲地方政府的作用”。 与会者包括各部委大臣、地方政府代表、公民社会、非政府组织、工会、私营部门、传统管理者、学者、国际发展机构等。

在开幕全体会议上,世界城市和地方政府联合组织主席、摩洛哥内政部大臣、塞内加尔达喀尔市长发表讲话。 三人都强调地方政府在向可持续城市转变的过程中发挥着关键作用。

平行会议由联合国人居署承办,主题为“非洲人口变迁:对城市规划的影响”。会议探讨非洲从高出生率、高死亡率向降低出生率、死亡率转变能到达何种程度。与会者讨论了关键决定因素,包括出生率、生育能力、移民、健康率和死亡率,把非洲的发展趋势与非洲大陆以外的发展趋势相互比较。

会议由人居署前司长、非洲城市智库(Urban Think Tank Africa)现任主席阿利乌尼·巴迪阿尼(Alioune Badiane)先生主持。他强调一个事实,到2050年,非洲将成为人口最多的大陆,居民多达22亿。

“非洲将成为决定全球一切事务的大洲。我们准备好应对人口的这次飞跃了吗?”他问。

非洲城市峰会关于人口变迁的会议。照片版权:联合国人居署,2018年

人居署全球城市观察站部门主管Robert Ndugwa先生指出,“非洲城市人口日益增长,需要优化管理,提供教育和医疗服务,以保障高质量地提升技能。配备了适当的技能组合之后,我们才能利用人口红利。”

其他发言人有日本横滨市副市长小林一美(Kazumi Kobayashi)先生、法国政府土地顾问Jean François Tribillon先生、摩洛哥国家规划委员会的Aziz Farzane先生。非洲许多地区的经历与横滨市的经历截然不同。横滨市虽然人口日益减少,但面对当前非洲许多城市遭遇的类似挑战,仍实现了复苏。

南非地方政府协会举办了题为“开展城市和区域规划以提高社会经济产出”的会议。会议由世界城市和地方政府联合组织主席Mpho Parks Tau先生、联邦地方政府论坛秘书长Greg Munro博士和人居署代表Laura Petrella女士共同主持。

会议讨论了不同利益相关方面临的机遇,即在执行城市和区域规划的国际方针、辅助指南《主导变革》过程中,不同利益相关方发挥自身作用产生的机遇。会议总结,需要倡导更好地记录和报道非洲地方政府执行国际方针的情况。

峰会为期四天。期间,人居署、世界城市和地方政府联合组织与不同合作伙伴一道,举办了几场专题会议和公开会议。在展会上,人居署的展台展示了在可持续城市化领域本机构开展的工作和最新的出版物。

Local government experts discuss sustainable urban development at the Africities 8 Summit

By on 11/21/2018

Entrance to the Africities 8 Summit being held in Marrakesh: Credit UN-Habitat-2018

Marrakesh, Morocco 20 November 2018 – Thousands of local government experts are attending the Africities 8 summit to discuss improving people’s lives in Africa’s urban areas by adopting sustainable development policies.

A flagship pan-African event organized by the United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLGA) the Summit takes place every three years. The theme for the eighth edition taking place in Marrakesh, Morocco is: The transition to sustainable cities and territories: The role of African local governments. Participants include ministers, representatives of local authorities, civil society, NGOs, trade unions; the private sector, traditional rulers, academics and international development agencies.

The opening plenary was addressed by the President of UCLG, the Interior Minister of Morocco and the Mayor of Dakar, Senegal, all of whom emphasized the essential role of local governments in the transition to sustainable cities.

A parallel session organized by UN-Habitat on “The demographic transition in Africa: implications for urban planning” explored how far Africa is along the demographic transition from high birth and death rates to lower ones. Participants discussed key determinants including birth rates, fertility, migration, health and death rates, comparing trends in Africa with those outside the continent.

The session was chaired by Mr. Alioune Badiane, former Director of UN-Habitat and current president The Urban Think Tank Africa who highlighted the fact that Africa will be the most heavily populated continent by 2050 with 2.2 billion inhabitants.

“Africa will be the determining continent for everything that happens in the world – are we ready for this major jump in population?” he asked.

Session on demographic changes at Africities Summit: Credit UN-Habitat-2018

Mr. Robert Ndugwa, Chief, Global Urban Observatory Unit, UN-Habitat noted that “the increasing urban population in Africa needs to be well managed with education and health services provided to ensure quality skills development. Then we can take advantage of the demographic dividend with the right skills sets.”

Other speakers included Mr. Kazumi Kobayashi, Deputy Mayor of Yokohama, Japan, Mr. Jean François Tribillon, Land Advisor to the French Government Mr. Aziz Farzane from the National Planning Commission in Morocco. The experience in much of Africa was contrasted to Yokohama’s where despite having a declining population, the city of Yokohama managed to bounce back in the face of similar challenges faced by many African cities today.

The South African Local Government Association organized a session on “urban and territorial planning for improved socio-economic outcomes” which was co-chaired by Mr. Mpho Parks Tau, President of UCLG, and Dr Greg Munro, Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Local Government Forum with Ms. Laura Petrella representing UN-Habitat.

The session reflected on opportunities for different stakeholders to play a role in implementation of international guidelines on urban and territorial Planning and the supporting guide ‘Leading Change’ concluding that there is need to advocate for better documentation and reporting on adoption of the guidelines by local authorities in Africa.

During the four-day summit UN-Habitat and UCLG organized several thematic and open sessions in collaboration with different partners. The UN-Habitat booth at the exhibition showcased the agency’s work and most recent publications in sustainable urbanization.

Main Menu