Add Your Heading Text Here

Moderator: Raphael Obonyo

Policy Specialist and Youth AdvocateCo-founder and Director of the Youth Congress

Former member of UN-Habitat Youth Advisory Board

Presenter: Christian Benimana

Socially Focused Architect Founder and Director of African Design Center

Rwanda Country Programs Director of MASS Design Group

Speaker: Gideon Keter

Member of Parliament, Chairman of Jubilee Youth League President and Founder of Youth Senate Kenya

Speaker: Sanda Ojiambo

Social Investment Professional

Head of Corporate Responsibility, Safaricom

Speaker: Isaac Kaka Muasa

Youth Activist and Advocate

Leader of Mathare Environmental Conservation Youth Group

Speaker: Shamoy Hajare 

Founder of the Jamaica School for Social Entrepreneurship Co-founder of the Youth Entrepreneurship Project Member of Secret Birds Caribbean

2016 Commonwealth Young Person of the Year- Caribbean and Canada region

Speaker: Nafula Wafula

Vice Chairperson for Policy and Advocacy of Commonwealth Youth CouncilPrograms Director of Brydges Centre.


Tentative Event Programme

 10 August 2018 (Gigiri Complex, Nairobi)

08:00am - 9:30am: Registration of participants (1h and 30 mins)

09:30am –10:00am: Assemble in Conference Room 4 (30 mins)

10:00am –10:10am: Welcoming Remarks – H.E. Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, UN-Habitat Executive Director (10 mins)

10:10am –10:15am: Video message from H.E. Mr. António Guterres, Secretary General of the United Nations (5 mins)

10:20am –10:25am: Remarks by DESA (5 mins) (TBD)

10:25am –10:30am: Remarks by H.E. Ms. Sara Hradecky, Ambassador of Canada to the United Nations (TBC) (5 mins)

10:30am –10:35am: Remarks by H.E. Dr.  Mohamed Abdulghani Khayat, Ambassador of Saudi Arabia to the United Nations (TBC) (5 mins)

10:35am –10:40am: Opening of discussion by Raphael Obonyo, Director of the Youth Congress (5 mins)

10:40am –10:50am: Presentation by Christian Benimana, African Design Center (10 mins)

10:50 am –11:45am: Interactive discussion (55 mins)

  • Civic spaces, Gideon Keter, Member of Parliament, Kenya Young Parliamentarians
  • Digital spaces, Sanda Ojiambo, Head of Corporate Responsibility Safaricom
  • Public spaces, Isaac 'Kaka' Muasa, Mathare Environmental Conservation Youth Group Leader and Shamoy Hajare, Jamaica School for Social Entrepreneurship
  • Physical spaces, Faith Nafula Wafula, Commonwealth Youth Council

11:45am – 12:05pm: Q&A (20 mins)

12:05pm – 12:15pm: Closing remarks by United Nations Inter-Agency Network for Youth Development Co-Chairs (10 mins)

12:15pm – 2:30pm: Refreshments