借力体育事业助推城市经济发展

By on 2018-09-18

哈尔格萨/博沙索和基斯马尤,2018914日 —— 联合国人居署近日在索马里兰、邦特兰和朱巴兰启动了索马里青年就业(YES)方案下的培训师试点培训:体育促进发展与和平。 培训对象是弱势和边缘青年群体,旨在通过培训为他们提供一套适应市场需求的多样化技能,从而增加青年人群在就业市场获得有意义工作的机会。 一百多位年轻人参加了为期10天的紧张培训,培训结合了两种不同的方法,为参与人传授了分析技能,帮助他们增强自信心。

试点项目了解到,体育在培养宽容心态、帮助冲突后恢复和提高青年参与度方面作用明显。此外,潜在的体育运动作为一项工具,在实现发展目标、促进青年人之间建立积极关系,为青年人提供从事健康活动的安全空间方面具有深远意义。

联合国人居署认识到,通过体育实现发展已成为实现青年全部潜能的整体办法中的基本要素之一;在帮助青年人群获得社会经济发展的同时,还能够助推我们城市的经济增长。

用参加培训人员的话来说,试点项目的确是在正确的时间做了正确的事。“我真的很喜欢联合国人居署组织的培训师培训:体育促进发展与和平培训,因为我从中学到了很多关于冲突管理和篮球教练方面的知识。更重要的是,我的分析和沟通能力获得了大幅提升,并且我对说英语也越来越有信心。这些都是无法通过正规教育系统(大学)获得的,所以我觉得自己在就业市场上获得了竞争优势。来自哈尔格萨的25岁的Mohamed Jama说道:“这对我来说非常重要,因为我目前正在寻找一份带薪工作。”

根据联合国人居署的说法,围绕体育和艺术构建青年文化,能够为一个志在吸引更多商业和发展机会的城市注入活力和增加魅力。

培训对象是弱势和边缘青年群体,旨在通过培训为他们提供一套适应市场需求的多样化技能,从而增加青年人群在就业市场获得有意义工作的机会。

该方案下还包括其他主题,诸如性别暴力、移民或性与生殖健康及权利,这些方面在培训中均有落地,以扩大青年人群在日常生活中面临的重要社会问题的范围,同时也为他们了解如何应对其中一些挑战提供了宝贵建议。

来自哈尔格萨的26岁女性Hodan说道:“在参加联合国人居署“体育促进发展与和平”的培训师培训过程中,我发现一个人能够通过体育学到许多东西。我喜欢运动,但是由于缺乏可用的设施,我几乎从来没有这样做过。我们需要更多的运动空间,特别是专为女孩设计的空间,这样我们就可以把在这次培训中学到的知识和技能传授给其他人”。

振兴曾为非洲之角宝贵领域的体育文化,探索体育部门的替代就业机会,可以带来新的投资,提高索马里青年群体的士气。年轻人往往认为,当我们谈论体育事业时,我们谈论的是成为一名职业运动员。他们不一定会看到这个行业在管理、行政、媒体或后勤方面能提供的其他令人振奋的职业选择。从这个角度来看,体育提供了多样化的就业机会组合,也为青年人学习和参与体育事业提供了坚实的平台。

包容性治理、赋权以及认可弱势群体,特别是青年和妇女的贡献,都是联合国人居署实现可持续城市发展综合办法的关键要素。更进一步讲,将体育事业作为支持建设和平工作的战略工具,为创造繁荣的体育文化奠定了基础,这将支持并加强地方和国家两级的城市发展工作。

Harnessing Sport as an Economic Force for Urban Development

By on 09/18/2018

Hargeisa/Bossaso and Kismayo, 14 September 2018-–  UN-Habitat recently launched the pilot Training of Trainers: Sport for Development and Peace in Somaliland, Puntland and in the regional state of Jubbaland, under the Youth Employment Somalia (YES) programme. The training targets vulnerable and at-risk youth equipping them with a diverse set of marketable skills that enhance the opportunities for youth to secure meaningful employment in the job market. Over hundred young people took part in the intense 10-day training that combined two different approaches to provide them with analytical skills and boost their self-confidence.

The pilot project is informed by the fact that  role of sport in fostering tolerance, post-conflict recovery, and youth engagement is immense. Furthermore, the potential sport has as a tool to reach development objectives, enable positive relationships among youth, provide them with a safe space to engage in healthy activities is far-reaching.

UN-Habitat has recognised that development through sport has become a fundamental component of a holistic approach to realising the full potential of youth; contributing to the social and economic development of youth as well as kick-starting economic growth in our cities.

In the words of the paricipants, the pilot was just the right thing at the right time. “I really enjoyed Training of Trainers: Sport for Development and Peace training organized by UN-Habitat as I’ve learned a lot about conflict management and basketball coaching. More importantly, I greatly improved my analytical and communications skills, and I grew in confidence to speak English. None of this I was able to get through formal educational system (university) so I feel like I’ve gained competitive advantage in the job market. This is extremely important to me as I’m currently looking for paid work,” said Mohamed Jama, 25, from Hargeisa

According to UN-Habitat, youth culture around sports and arts bring vibrancy and attractiveness to a city which draws more business and development.

The training targets vulnerable and at-risk youth equipping them with a diverse set of marketable skills that enhance the opportunities for youth to secure meaningful employment in the job market.

The programme also had additional topics, such as gender-based violence, migration or sexual and reproductive health and rights were grounded in the training to widen the scope of critical social issues youth face on a daily basis while also providing valuable tools on how they can tackle some of these challenges.

Hodan, a 26 year old female from Hargeisa said: “During UN-Habitat’s Training of Trainers: Sport for Development and Peace I discovered how much you can learn through sport. I love playing sport, but due to lack of available facilities I hardly ever do. We need more sport spaces, especially designed specifically for girls, so we can pass on the knowledge and skills we’ve learned during this training to others”.

Reviving the culture-of-sport, once a cherished domain in the Horn of Africa, and exploring alternative employment opportunities in the sport sector can bring new investment increasing the morale of the Somali youth. Oftentimes, young people believe that when we talk of a career in sport, we talk of becoming a professional athlete. They do not necessarily see all the other stimulating career options that the industry has to offer whether in management, administration, media or logistics.   Approaching it from this perspective, sport offers a diverse portfolio of employment opportunities as well as grounded platform for learning and engaging youth.

Inclusive governance, empowerment, and the recognition of the contribution of vulnerable groups particularly youth and women are all key elements of UN-Habitat integrated approach to achieving sustainable urban development. Taking it one step further, framing sports as a strategic tool that supports peacebuilding efforts lays the foundation for creating a thriving culture of sport that will support and enhance urban development efforts at the local and national levels.

Main Menu