通过区域合作加快参与式贫民窟改造

By on 2017-12-14

雅温得,20171214—— “我呼吁大家去探索知识、经验和做法,进一步提升我们在贫民窟改造方面的合作,” 喀麦隆住房和城市发展部部长 Jean Claude Mbwentchou 阁下在参加第二届加拿大、中国和非洲可持续城市化国际会议上如是说道。 该会议于2017年12月8日至14日在喀麦隆召开。 全球各地的政府及非政府组织代表强调了在2030年之前世界南北区域合作,通过贫民窟改造以消除贫困的益处和重要性,只有这样才能实现全球可持续发展目标。来自发展中国家和发达国家的参加者交流共享了采用何种途径调动资源、获得资金、执行计划并且将贫民窟改造倡议制度化。

据估计,现今全球十亿人口生活在发达国家和发展中国家,我们需要采取紧急行动以便使他们获得诸如饮用水、环境卫生和住房在内的基本城市服务。在此背景下,参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)促进了会议期间举行的培训、圆桌讨论以及小组讨论。大家针对以人为本的工具、政策倡议和发展行动进行了交流,这就提供了可以复制的贫民窟改造的解决方案。位于非洲、太平洋和加勒比地区的参加国从南南合作和三边合作中获益良多,这些国家贫民窟改造方面的财政、机构和技术能力由此得到加强。

 

由世界南北合作获得的创新

现在越来越需要国家和地方政府为非国家行为体创造有利的环境,以便于他们在贫民窟改造上开展合作。我们看到了实实在在的变化,这证明社区管理基金的利用是成功的。布基纳法索、喀麦隆、刚果民主共和国、加纳、肯尼亚、莫桑比克、马拉维、尼日尔和塞内加尔等国家分享的参与式贫民窟改造经验展示了社区如何利用全部项目基金的10%改变了520,700人口的生活条件。基金在执行过程中对青年和妇女进行了特别关注,因此也有助于减轻不平等现象。

“社区管理基金能够使生活在Nkolbikok, AfanMabé 和 Sissia街区贫民窟的青年人获得环卫设施,由此也就满足了当地基本的经济需求。”Emmanuel Ngnikam博士报道说。他是环境研究行动基金会的一名工程师。“在部委一级,我们通过政策和社区引领治理框架的机制,利用了一直存在的行政干预。我们正在和居民委员会协力推进贫民窟改造,” 来自喀麦隆住房与城市发展部的SipliantTakougang先生补充道。

学术和研究机构的重要性,尤其是关于创新方面也是不容忽视。“工程和规划系的学生正在开发环保型的废弃物循环管理的装置,以此来为贫困人群提供负担得起的服务。我们研究和测试工作成果所在的社区团体正在推广普及这一倡议。我们需要市政府和国家当局支持这个复制推广的过程。”来自开普敦大学的Marie Timo强调说。

有关中国市长如何与社区团体合作,利用当地政府资源为贫困街区提供饮用水、环境卫生设施、教育和废弃物管理服务的案例,为参会者展示了来自亚洲的实例。“公私部门之间结成伙伴关系,正在推进基础服务的提升,但是问题卡在了准入上。因此,市长们需要扮演战略性的角色,”来自卡尔顿大学的Gianni·Benjamin强调道。来自美国的Cherie Howard强调了私营部门铺筑路面的创新如何为贫困街区的人们提供了长久的、负担得起的环保型解决方案,也因此松动了社会流动,提升了跨区域的合作。“作为私营部门,我们对这一层面的合作表示欢迎,这将推动发展中国家和发达国家间合作伙伴关系的建立和发展。”

 

以人为本的合作

同有组织的团体合作很重要,这属于包容性的方式,已经证明是成功的。为此目的,参与式贫民窟改造方案将市长和专家编织成一个网络铺展开来,这样能够加强合作、迸发创新的火花并且加快推进转变措施,提高贫民窟居民生活水平和条件。

总之,合作不但将使国际、地区、国家和地方的倡议具有特色和包容性,并且还能确保无人掉队,尤其是妇女、青年和弱势群体。

Fast-tracking Participatory Slum Upgrading through Regional Cooperation

By on 12/19/2017

Yaounde, 14 December 2017 “I call on you to explore knowledge, experiences and practices that further enhance our cooperation in slum upgrading,” said Honourable Jean Claude Mbwentchou, the Minister of Housing and Urban Development in Cameroon, during the 2nd International Conference on Canadian, Chinese and African Sustainable Urbanization that took place from 8-14 December 2017 in Cameroon. Government and non-governmental representatives from across the world highlighted the benefits as well as importance of cooperation amongst regions in the global north and south to end poverty through slum upgrading by the year 2030, if the Global Goals are to be achieved. Participants from developing and developed countries shared approaches being utilised to mobilise, finance, execute and institutionalise slum upgrading initiatives.

An estimated one billion people are currently living in developed and developing countries, and require urgent action inorder for then to access basic urban services that include water, sanitation and shelter. It is against this background that the Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme (PSUP) facilitated training, round table and panel discussions at the conference. The exchange of tools, policy initiatives and development actions that are people centred offered slum upgrading solutions that can be replicated. Participating countries located in Africa, Pacific and Caribbean regions are benefitting from south-south and triangular cooperation through which financial, institutional and technical capacities in slum upgrading are being strengthened.

Innovations from the global north and south

There is an increasing need for national and local governments to provide an enabling environment for non-state actors to collaborate in slum upgrading, and the use of Community Managed Funds is proving successful in achieving tangible change. PSUP experiences shared from Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Malawi, Niger and Senegal demonstrated how 10 percent of the overall programme funds were utilised by communities to transform the living conditions of 520,700 people. The fund’s implementation process made particular focus on youth and women and therefore also contributed to a reduction in equality.

‘Community Managed Funds enabled youth living in the neighbourhoods of Nkolbikok, Afan Mabé and Sissia neighbourhoods to provide sanitation facilities in slums and by doing that, met the basic and local economic needs,” reported Dr. Emmanuel Ngnikam, an Engineer working with Environment Research Action. “At the Ministerial level, we harnessed the on-going interventions through policies and the institutionalisation of community led governance frameworks. We are working with Resident Committees to upgrade slums,” added Mr Sipliant Takougang, from the Cameroon Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.

The importance of academic and research institutions especially with regard to innovations cannot also be ignored. “Students of engineering and planning departments are developing environment friendly waste recycling and management plants as a way of providing affordable services to the poor. Community groups where we are researching and testing our work are popularising the initiative. We need city and national authorities to support the replication process,” highlighted Marie Timo from University of Cape town.

Examples of how mayors from China partner with community groups and utilise local authority resources to provide water, sanitation, education and waste management services in deprived neighbourhoods provided participants with practical examples from Asia. “Private-public sector partnerships are facilitating basic service provision, where access is a problem. Mayors therefore, have a strategic role to play,” underscored Gianni, Benjamin from Carleton University. Cherie Howard from United States of America highlighted how private sector road paving innovations are providing lasting and affordable eco-friendly solutions in poor neighbourhoods and as a result, are easing mobility and enhancing inter-regional collaboration. “As private sector, we welcome this level of cooperation that will catalyse the development and formation of partnerships amongst developing and developed countries.

People centred cooperation

Cooperation with organised groups is crucial, as part of inclusive approaches that have proven successful. Towards this end, a network of mayors and professionals is being rolled out by the Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme as a way of strengthening cooperation, sparking innovation and fast-tracking the implementation of transformative initiatives that contribute to the improvement of living standards and conditions of slum dwellers.

In conclusion, cooperation will feature global, regional, national and local initiatives that are inclusive and ensure that no one is left behind, particularly women, youth and disadvantaged groups.

Main Menu