.

捐赠方对项目满意,讨论经验教训

By on 2018-05-21

阿克拉,2018516—— 作为水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)项目的主要捐赠方,加拿大政府对该项目的执行方式表示满意。

在阿克拉的一次项目后的访谈中,加拿大高级委员会发展事务一等秘书Francis Bedros先生表示,他确信该项目本来可以得到更高的关注度,但是他认为宣传的力度没有做到最大。

“我们看到这个国家的广大地区遭遇破坏性的洪灾,深受触动,就采取了行动。我们着手帮助在这次灾难中受害严重的约265个社区,”他说。

这位外交官称,“起初面临的一些障碍是启动延迟,及项目设定目标过高。为了缓解洪灾的影响,项目建设了韧性的基础设施,制定了灾害管理计划,”他说。

Francis Bedros先生钦佩参与项目的四家联合国机构行动协调一致。“联合国人居署提供了进入联合国的联络点。它是非常重要的纽带,是项目推进所必需的。经历最初的少许磕绊后,项目进展顺利,每月及时提交报告,”他说。

这位一等秘书认为,组建国家级的指导委员会及与当地政府会谈,有助于项目的顺利进展。“这个项目解决了实际需要,使加纳政府非常满意。四家联合国机构与加纳政府联系密切,国家灾害管理组织(National Disaster Management Organization)也大力推进该项目,”他说。

他指出,捐赠方最初对基础设施的实力心存疑虑。当抗洪举措证实韧性十足,这些疑虑就被时间抚平了。“我们需要社区参与,我们成功地做到了,区议会也亲力亲为,”他说。

这是加拿大第一次在加纳实施“一体行动”。项目成果令人鼓舞,意味着捐赠方未来可能有意推行类似的项目。该项目改善了家庭的环境卫生。

“贫困家庭筹钱建防洪厕所,通常十分困难。这些贫困户是我们致力于帮助的弱势群体,”他说。

然而,Francis Bedros先生称,项目的沟通做的不够好。“如此大规模的项目要求从始至终都有好的沟通策略,因为沟通是实施此类大规模活动的核心要素,”他说。

Donor impressed with project, talks of lessons learnt

By on 05/21/2018

Accra 16 March 2018—The Canadian government who was the main donor of WASH DPC Project has expressed its satisfaction for the way the initiative was executed.

In a post project interview in Accra, the First Secretary (Development) at the Canadian High Commission Francis Bedros was however convinced that the project would have done with more visibility, an aspect he says was not explored to its fullest.

“We were moved to act to after we saw the devastating floods that affected a huge swathe of the country. We set out to help some 265 communities whose lives had been hugely affected by the catastrophe,” he said.

According to the diplomat, some of the hurdles faced at the beginning were delays in kicking off as well as the high objectives which the project sought to achieve. To mitigate the effects of the floods, the project managed to build resilient infrastructure as well as coming up with disaster management plans,” he said.

Mr. Bedros is also impressed with the unity of purpose exhibited by the four UN agencies involved in the project. He says the point of contact into the UN that UN-Habitat provided proved to be the all-important link that was needed to push the project forward. After the few hitches at the beginning the project went on smoothly with timely monthly reports being submitted, he said.

According to the First Secretary, the formation of a steering committee at the national level and the meetings with local authorities at the field level helped to smoothen things. “Ghanaian authorities were impressed because this project addressed a real need. The four UN agencies were in contact with the government and the NAMDO was heavily involved in the project,” he said.

He said the donor’s initial fears over the strength of the infrastructure were allayed with time since the flood control measures have proved resilient enough. “We needed the communities’ nuy in and we managed to get it and the district assemblies were really hands-on,” he said.

This was the first Delivering As One project Canada was doing in Ghana and the results were encouraging meaning that the donor might be interested in a similar venture in the future. The project had seen improved sanitation at the household level.

“It is usually very difficult for poor households to save up and build flood resilient latrines and this is one vulnerable group we deliberately sought to help out,” he said.

However, Mr. Bedros said the communications aspect of the project was not well executed. “A project of this magnitude requires a good communication strategy from the beginning to the end because communications is a crucial component of an undertaking of such magnitude,” he said.

Main Menu