.

区分贫民窟与非贫民窟以了解居民问题

By on 2017-11-30

2017年11月30日,意大利贝拉吉奥 —— 虽然全球约有10亿人居住在贫民窟,但许多国际数据采集项目,包括人口普查,都没有跟踪记录居住在贫民窟的人口的空间特征。 当前,在官方统计数据中贫民窟常常消失不见,隐匿于城市平均数值中。 然而,居民占据的空间很重要,因此,农村数据和城市数据都需采集。 确认并分解城市空间,区分贫民窟与非贫民窟,直接关系到确认贫民窟居民的城市需求。

依据《可持续发展目标》关于城市和人类住区的目标11,成员国认可《千年发展目标》中监督贫民窟的工作,同意在未来15年里继续监督贫民窟/非正式住区居民、及住房匮乏的居民的人口比例。这个新使命为提高贫民窟人口数据的采集与分析水平提供了机遇。

因此,意大利贝拉吉奥召开会议,旨在确认理想的方式,供各国在全国人口普查和调查中区分城市中的贫民窟与非贫民窟。

广大与会者,包括国家统计局、研究人员、非政府组织(NGOs)、项目经理、联合国多边机构、双边捐款方、职业协会、政策制定者等,制定议程,迈出关键的第一步,确认最贫困的城市地区。这样做,将向各市政府、城市经理、各地区、非政府组织、捐款方、政策制定者等提供更多的粒状数据(granular data),以便确认优先的干预举措和投资选择,改善城市健康状况调查。分解城市贫民窟、非贫民窟居民的疾病和贫困压力,会便于突出贫民窟居民的重要问题,也便于政策制定者关注这些问题。

贝拉吉奥工作组制定了路线图,在国际和地方舞台上推进三项关键行动:

  1. 确认当前使用的技术,以回顾并前瞻贫民窟的人口数,并分析不同技术的优劣;
  2. 针对各国如何在人口普查和调查中把城市贫民窟/非贫民窟融合起来,提出建议;及
  3. 制定全球研究议程,了解哪些方法最适合用于确认贫民窟,包括利用地理空间数据和机器学习来测试潜在的新技术。

大多数健康调查,如人口统计与健康调查、多指标类集调查(Multi-Indicator Cluster Surveys)等,都使用人口普查的抽样框(sampling frames),无法区分城市地区的贫民窟和非贫民窟。最新出版的《柳叶刀》(Lancet)系列调查总结,由于城市贫困忽略了共享物质环境和社会环境造成的邻里效应,证明城市贫困是贫民窟健康不佳的表现。

上述建议概述了改变这一问题的方法,包括在全国人口普查和调查中采集贫民窟数据等。这一建议要求设计下一代人口普查时,把人口普查最低层的枚举区标记为城市地区的贫民窟或非贫民窟。

贝拉吉奥工作组将致力于在各类论坛上提升贫民窟/非贫民窟区分问题的重要性,包括2018年2月在吉隆坡举办的世界城市论坛、2018年7月在纽约举办的高层政治论坛、人口大会、2018年10月举办的世界数据论坛、2018年11月在乌干达坎帕拉举办的国际城市健康大会等。

此外,贝拉吉奥工作组还将成立正式工作组,承诺行动的利益相关方将继续汇聚广大力量,保障贫民窟居民的发言权。最后,工作组将制定指南并把指南分发到全国各统计机构,按步骤履行程序,保障在全国抽样框内绘制和划定贫民窟空间。

Distinguishing slum from non-slum areas to identify occupants’ issues

By on 11/30/2017

30 November 2017, Bellagio Italy – Despite an estimated one billion people around the world living in slums, many global data collection exercises including censuses do not track spatial distinctions of populations living in places identified as slums. Today, slums are often invisible in official statistics, generally hidden within urban averages. Yet the spaces people occupy are important; it is for this reason that rural and urban statistics are collected. Identifying and disaggregating urban spaces as either slum or non-slum identifies uniquely urban-related needs specific to slum residents.

With Sustainable Development Goal 11 on cities and human settlements, member states acknowledged the Millennium Development Goals’ slum monitoring efforts and agreed to continue monitoring the proportion of people who live in slums/informal settlements or those facing inadequate housing for the next 15 years. This renewed mandate opens the window to improve how data on the populations living in slums can be collected and analysed.

For this reason, a meeting was convened in Bellagio, Italy to identify optimal ways countries can distinguish slum from non-slum urban areas in national censuses and surveys.

A broad range of participants, including National Statistical Agencies, researchers, non- governmental organizations (NGOs), program managers, multilateral UN Agencies, bilateral donors, professional associations, and policymakers mapped out an agenda to take this first crucial step in pinpointing urban areas with the greatest levels of deprivation. This would provide Municipalities, City managers, countries, NGOs, donors, and policymakers more granular data with which to prioritize interventions and investments to improve the study of urban health outcomes. By disaggregating the disease and deprivation burden of slum and non-slum urban residents alike, it will be easier to highlight issues of importance for people who live in slums and focus attention on these issues for policy makers.

The Bellagio group developed a roadmap to move three key actions forward on international and local stages:
1. Identify techniques in use today to identify slum populations prospectively and retrospectively, analyzing the strengths and weaknesses of the various techniques;
2. Provide recommendations on how countries can integrate slum/non-slum urban designations in their censuses and surveys; and
3. Develop a global research agenda to understand which methods are most robust in identifying slum areas, including testing potential new techniques using geospatial data and machine learning.

Most health surveys, such as the Demographic and Health Surveys and Multi-Indicator Cluster Surveys that use sampling frames taken from censuses are unable to distinguish between slum and non-slum clusters in urban areas. A recently published Lancet series summarizes the evidence on why urban poverty is an inadequate proxy for health in slums, as it ignores the neighbourhood effects of shared physical and social environments.

The above recommendations outline steps to change this problem, including that slum-specific data to be collected in national censuses and surveys. This recommendation requires the next generation of censuses to be designed such that the lowest levels of census enumeration areas are tagged as slums or non-slums for clusters located in urban areas.

Moving forward, the Bellagio group will work to elevate the importance of slum/non-slum designations in various fora, including the February 2018 World Urban Forum in Kuala Lumpur, the high-level political forum in July 2018 in New York, population conference, the World Data Forum in Dubai, October 2018, and the International Conference on Urban Health in Kampala, Uganda, November 2018.

In addition, the group will convene a formal working group in which committed stakeholders will continue marshalling wide-ranging efforts to ensure that people who live in slums count. Ultimately, this group’s efforts will result in a guide that will be disseminated to national statistical agencies to apply step-by step-procedures to ensure that slum spaces are mapped and accounted for in the national sampling frames.

Translate »
Main Menu