使用数字化工具在加沙地带促进人权,创建包容的公共空间

By on 2019-01-21

加沙地带,2019117日 —— 联合国人居署与联合国妇女署完成了为期两年的一个项目。 该项目旨在加强加沙地带妇女和青年的人权,提高他们有效地参与冲突后的重建和复兴的能力。

该项目由比利时王国政府资助,人居署和妇女署联合执行,合作方有巴勒斯坦住房委员会、爱莎妇幼保护协会和 GGateway 等。该项目使用数字技术,依托妇女和青年的参与,建立三个安全的、性别敏感的公共空间,以提升参与度和诚信度,促进赋权和包容。因社会凝聚力不足而备受压力的逾13万居民得益于该项目。三个安全包容的公共空间通过该项目创建起来。其中,第三个也是最后一个公共空间位于加沙地带中心的 Al-Zawayda 市,于2018年12月31日启用。

项目开展 Al-Zawayda 社区花园的建设及其他活动,旨在促进青年和妇女参与加沙地带在冲突后的重建进程。4450多名青年和少年获益于各类培训项目和宣传研讨会,主题涉及公众参与、性别平等的理念、防止和应对性别暴力等。

参与项目的各城市聘用了九位女建筑师,让她们加入公共空间的参与式设计过程,以期为她们提供进入劳动力市场必备的技能和专业知识。

“比利时相信,数字化创新比以往任何时候都更快地制造着发展机遇。互联网和数字技术已经推升了经济、社会和政治的发展,包括大幅拓宽了个体享受权益的能力,”比利时总领事Danielle Haven说。

“这个项目从根本上讲,传递着希望。建设安全的公共空间,让青年和妇女参与设计和决策过程,是环境更安全的保障,尤其对成年和未成年女性而言。我们来这儿之前去了一家公园,看到在设计阶段就把所有人的需求考虑在内,非常感动。我们很高兴看到,太阳能得到使用,残疾人的通行受到关注,”她补充道。

人居署巴勒斯坦办公室主任 Zeyad Elshakra 强调,人居署致力于营造更美好、更可持续、更包容的城市环境,促进所有人平等使用和享受城市空间,不受任何歧视,尤其是社会边缘人群,即妇女和青年等。“在此,我们邀请所有行动者,包括各政府及合作伙伴在内,发挥青年的能力和能量,塑造和建设他们所在地方的环境和社区,以实现不把任何一个人落下的目标,”他说。

“我们希望以这个项目作为开端,在其基础上与合作伙伴们协作执行其他项目,尤其在妇女经济赋权、妇女参与决策过程、保护妇女不受任何暴力侵害等领域,”妇女署加沙地带办公室主任 Heba Zayyan 说。

该项目促进在加沙地带实现《可持续发展目标》的目标11和目标5,执行《新城市议程》,举措是改善城市环境,尤其注重改善边缘人群的生活条件。为实现上述目标,该项目建设包容、性别敏感的公共空间,在边缘地带促进安全、有韧性的城市环境,赋权成年和未成年女性,提高她们的认识,以推动她们参与决策过程。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

Digital tools utilized to promote human rights and create inclusive public spaces in the Gaza Strip

By on 01/21/2019

Gaza, 17 January 2019 – UN-Habitat and UN Women have concluded a two-year programme to advance the human rights of women and youth in the Gaza Strip and improve their capacity to participate effectively in post-conflict reconstruction and recovery.

Funded by the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium, the programme has been implemented jointly by UN-Habitat and UN Women in cooperation with the Palestinian Housing Council, AISHA Association for Women and Child Protection, and GGateway for Outsourcing Information. Digital technology was utilized to leverage participation of women and youth in establishing three safe and gender responsive public spaces that promote participation, accountability, empowerment and inclusion. More than 130,000 residents subjected to the stress of fragile social cohesion have benefited from the project. Three safe and inclusive public spaces have been developed under this programme. The third and last public space in Al-Zawayda town in the middle of the Gaza Strip was inaugurated on December 31, 2018.

Development of the Al-Zawayda community garden was accompanied by activities to promote engagement of youth and women in the process of post-conflict reconstruction in the Gaza Strip. More than 4,450 youth and adolescents have benefited from training programmes and awareness raising workshops on civic participation, concepts of gender equality, and prevention of and response to Gender Based Violence.

Nine female architects offered paid job placements in the targeted municipalities were engaged in the participatory design process for the public spaces to equip them with the skills and expertise needed to enter the labor market.

“Belgium believes that digital innovations are creating development opportunities faster than ever. The Internet and digital technologies already boost economic, social and political development, including by vastly expanding the capacity of individuals to enjoy their rights”, said Danielle Haven, the Consul General of Belgium.

“This project, by its very essence, carries a message of hope. Building safe public spaces by involving young people and women in the design and decision-making process ensures a safer environment, especially for women and girls. We visited one park before coming here and were very impressed by how the needs of all were considered at the design stage. We are happy to see the use of solar power and the attention given to access for people with disabilities”, she added.

Head of UN-Habitat Office in Palestine, Zeyad Elshakra emphasized UN-Habitat’s commitment to building a better, sustainable and more inclusive urban environment that promotes the equal use and enjoyment of cities without discrimination of any kind, especially for the most marginalized segments in the society, namely women and youth. “On this occasion, we invite all actors including governments and partners to utilize the capacity and harness the energy of young people to shape and develop their own environment and communities in order to accomplish the journey of leaving no one behind”, he said.

“We hope that this project is a start that we can build on to implement other initiatives in collaboration with our partners especially in the fields of women’s economic empowerment, women’s participation in decision making process and women’s protection from all kinds of violence”, said the Head of UN Women Office in Gaza, Heba Zayyan.

The project contributes to achievement of Sustainable Development Goals 11 and 5 and implementation of the New Urban Agenda in the Gaza Strip by improving the urban environment and living conditions for marginalized groups, with a special focus on. It has achieved this through development of inclusive and gender responsive public spaces that promote a safe and resilient urban environment in marginalized localities, and through empowering and raising awareness of women and girls to enhance their participation in decision making processes.

 

Main Menu