.

喀麦隆将主办第二届中非可持续城市化国际会议(ICCASU-II)

By on 2017-05-10

内罗毕, 2017 年 月 10 日 —— 第二届中加非可持续城市化国际会议(ICCASU-II)将于今年 12 月在喀麦隆举行。

正在召开的联合国人居署第 26 届理事会会议期间举行了一场新闻发布会, ICCASU 联合主席阿里翁·巴迪亚内(Alioune Badiane)在发布会上表示, 这将是在 2015 年 10 月 23 日至 25 日在加拿大渥太华召开的第一届 ICCASU 会议基础上举行的第二届会议。

据巴迪亚尼(Badiane)称,第二届中加非可持续城市化国际会议将为深入审查那些利于非洲大陆可持续城市发展的方式和方法提供可能。

第二届中加非可持续城市化国际会议将于2017年12月12日至14日在雅温得举行。巴迪亚尼透露,会前已签署一份谅解备忘录,该备忘录旨在建章立制,对喀麦隆共和国政府、加拿大渥太华大学和联合国人居署之间的合作进行管理。

“签订本协议旨在对三方从法律和财务层面进行义务性约束。本谅解备忘录项下之各项活动的具体合作条款已经过讨论和商定,这些条款符合所有缔约方提出的政策、细则和既定程序,现已成为本契约协议讨论的主题。”

按照谅解备忘录的约定,喀麦隆政府应负责向渥太华大学和联合国人居署提供所需的物流服务和财政资源,以确保会议成功举行。渥太华大学还应在国际公共和私营学术合作伙伴的协助下,与联合国人居署开展合作,推动城市发展知识、技术、实践和能力建设方面的共享,并在联合国人居署提供的资源可用的条件下,协助喀麦隆政府制定国家城市政策及其实施方案。

另一方面,在资源可用的情况下,联合国人居署的实体责任是通过提供技术援助和咨询服务来推动会议的组织工作。

喀麦隆住房和城市发展部长让·克洛德·姆博温楚(Jean Claude Mbwentchou)在致辞中代表喀麦隆向联合国人居署表示感谢,感谢其对ICCASU-II提供的支持,并邀请在场的所有国际合作伙伴参与到此次意义非凡的讨论之中。

姆博温楚部长回顾道,ICCASU-II将在《新城市议程》(已于2016年举行 的人居三会议上通过)通过一年后举行,这样大家会有机会将会讨论大多数非洲城市面临的城市问题。他指出,有了联合国人居署的帮助,ICCASU-II将能够在非洲开设一处国际城市研究中心。

姆博温楚部长在总结发言时再次向合作伙伴发出喀麦隆政府的邀请,请大家参加在非洲缩影喀麦隆举行的ICCASU-II会议,共同就所关心的挑战进行讨论。

Cameroon to host second International Conference on Chinese and African Sustainable Urbanization (ICCASU-II)

By on 05/10/2017

Nairobi, 10 May 2017—Cameroon will host the second International Conference on Canadian, Chinese and African Sustainable Urbanization (ICCCASU-II) in December this year, it was announced Tuesday.

At a press conference held on the sidelines of the ongoing 26th Governing Council of UN-Habitat, ICCCASU co-president Alioune Badiane said this would be the second such meeting, building up on the first one held from 23-25 October 2015 in Ottawa, Canada.

According to Badiane the organization of the second International Conference on Canadian, Chinese and African Sustainable Urbanization would allow in-depth scrutiny of ways and means for sustainable urban development advantageous for the African continent.

He revealed that ahead of the meeting, a Memorandum of Understanding had been signed which aimed to establish the rules that shall govern cooperation between the Government of the Republic of Cameroon, the University of Ottawa, Canada, and UN-Habitat in organizing the second International Conference on Canadian, Chinese and African Sustainable Urbanization in Yaoundé on 12-14 December 2017.

“The purpose and scope of this agreement is to establish the legally and financial binding obligations of all three Parties. The specific terms of cooperation for each activity under this Memorandum of Understanding have been discussed and agreed upon and are now the subject of this contractual agreement, in conformity with the policies, bylaws and processes in place at all Parties,” he disclosed.

Under the MoU, the Government of Cameroon shall undertake to provide the University of Ottawa and UN-Habitat with logistics and the financial resources required for the successful organization of the Conference. University of Ottawa, shall among others, facilitate sharing of knowledge, technologies, practices and of capacity building for urban development, with the assistance of international public and private academic partners and in collaboration with UN-Habitat, and subject to the availability of UN-Habitat resources, assist the Government of Cameroon in crafting a national urban policy with an implementation plan.

In his address, Cameroon’s Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Jean Claude Mbwentchou, expressed to UN-HABITAT the gratitude of Cameroon for its support in organizing ICCCASU-II and invited all the international partners present to take part in this important forum.

The Minister recalled that ICCCASU-II will take place one year after the adoption of the New Urban Agenda (HABITAT III, 2016) and represents an opportunity to dwell on issues related to the urban challenges faced in most African cities. He pointed out that ICCCASU-II will among others enable Africa to open an International Center for Urban Studies under the aegis of UN-Habitat.

Concluding his address, he reiterated the invitation of the Government of Cameroon to all partners concerned by the challenges to be discussed, to attend ICCCASU-II, in Cameroon, Africa in miniature.

Translate »
Main Menu