"With continuing support from our stakeholders, I am confident that we will enable transformative change in cities and human settlements and leaving no one and no place behind."

Talk to the Executive Director

"During my time as a Mayor of Seberang Perai and later Penang, Malaysia, I was afforded the opportunities to witness, address, and try to resolve first hand, urban challenges faced by cities and their communities. Rather than being discouraged, these challenges were opportunities to ensure inclusivity and public participation and address the concerns of all citizens. Today, in Nairobi, my new home, I am sometimes overwhelmed at the tasks before us. Moving from local and national to global is no easy task; I am fully committed to giving it my all. "

Past Executive Directors

Dr. Joan Clos was Executive Director from October 2010 to December 2017. He was elected Mayor of Barcelona, serving two terms from 1997 until 2006.

Dr. Anna Tibaijuka was the Executive Director of UN-Habitat from 2000 to 2010. She was the second highest ranking African woman in the UN system until her departure.

Dr. Klaus Toepfer was the Acting Executive Director from 1998 to 2000. He also served as the Executive Director of United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) from 1998 to 2006.

Mr. Darshan Johal was the Acting Executive Director from 1997 to 1998.

Dr. Wally N'Dow was Executive Director from 1994 to 1997. He served as the Secretary-General during the Habitat II assembly in 1996.

Ms. Elizabeth Dowdeswell was Acting Executive Director from 1993 to 1994. From 1992 to 1998, she led the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

Dr. Arcot Ramachandran was the Executive Director from 1978 to 1992. He was also the Administrator of the United Nations Habitat and Human Settlements Foundation.

Video Statements and Speeches