.

第六届非洲发展会议在内罗毕召开,非洲大陆持高度乐观态度

By on 2016-08-27
TICAD opens

© 现代非洲; CC BY-SA 4.0

内罗毕,2016827日 —— 第六届东京非洲发展国际会议(TICAD VI)于周六在内罗毕开幕, 这将全面释放非洲发展潜能, 各方都对此持高度乐观的态度。 这种乐观态度并非空穴来风, 因为日本政府承诺将给予非洲大陆约100亿美元用于基础设施建设。

此外,日本首相安倍晋三承诺将在联合国安理会启动措施,帮助一个非洲国家在2023年之前获得常任理事国席位。安倍表示,该笔资金将用于医院、道路和发电设备等基础设施建设。他说:“日本希望与非洲一道,共同解决影响非洲发展的问题,决不放弃。”TICAD的正式开幕式在内罗毕肯雅塔国际会议中心举行,安倍首相在开幕式上发言说:“安理会是联合国最强大的组织,但其中却没有非洲的常任理事国……日本也一直在审视着这个席位。”

担任会议主持人的肯尼亚总统乌呼鲁·肯雅塔(Uhuru Kenyatta)敦促各国领导人推动建立公平的全球贸易。他说,虽然发达国家已从之前的开放性贸易中获益,但它们仍采取自我封闭的发展方式,这一趋势着实令人担忧。“事实上,回顾过去我们可以发现,当今最为富庶之国几乎无一例外皆是通过与别国贸易的方式获得财富。在上个世纪,实现繁荣的关键因素一直是自由公平的贸易、区域基础设施一体化、享有经济自由的高素质公民和负责任的政府。

这是非洲发展会议首次在日本以外的地区举行,此次会议期间,近10,000名代表齐聚内罗毕。约35个非洲首脑有望出席该会议。此前,分析师预测非洲与会者可能希望构建出一个能创造可持续发展的商业和投资环境的新框架,该框架不仅要经得起商品价格大幅下降的冲击,也要有能力打击包括有碍发展的恐怖主义在内的不断升级的威胁。

“而另一方面,首相安倍晋三将会出席这次会议,希望借此机会促进日本企业的发展,并在最后一片待开发疆域获取更大的份额,”该分析师补充道。预计8月28日与会代表们将通过《内罗毕宣言》。该文件将包括流行病的预防措施和对高质量基础设施的呼声,这是非洲发展的必要动力。肯雅塔总统今天说,近30个非洲国家元首和政府首脑聚集在内罗毕进行了发展会谈,这代表着大家为帮助非洲共享繁荣所立下的雄心壮志。

他说,第六届非洲发展会议(TICAD)在肯尼亚举办,非洲欲借此机会提高其在国际贸易中的参与度。“日本秉承着伙伴精神接受了这些目标,我们同意将TICAD发展为实现我们共同目标的工具。这一步极具远见,”肯雅塔总统说。他还说,全球体系中关于贸易和安全的多边协议正面临着压力,因为一些富庶国家正采取行动反对全球化。

“在过去的半个世纪里,繁荣的关键要素是自由和公平的贸易、区域基础设施一体化、享受经济自由的高素质公民和负责任的政府,”肯雅塔总统说。“然而,现在有许多国家更趋向于孤立主义或在贸易中占据极其不公的位置,”他补充说。安倍首相表示,内罗毕TICAD会议开启了非洲和日本关系的新篇章。

他说,日本投资者将继续与非洲人民合作,以推动非洲大陆的繁荣发展。乍得总统兼非洲联盟主席伊德里斯·代比·伊特诺(driss Deby Itno)在开幕式发表演说,呼吁日本增加在非投资。

TICAD VI opens in Nairobi with heightened optimism for African continent

By on 08/27/2016
TICAD opens

© Africanmodern ; CC BY-SA 4.0

Nairobi 27 August 2016 —The 6th Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD VI) opened in Nairobi on Saturday with heightened optimism that it will help unlock Africa’s full development potential. This optimism was not misplaced considering that the government of Japan pledged to give some USD 10 billion towards infrastructure development in the African continent.

Furthermore the Prime Minister Shinzo Abe promised to kick start measures in the United Nations Security Council and have an African country get a permanent seat in the body by 2023. Mr. Abe said the fund will be used to build infrastructure such as hospitals, roads and energy generation facilities. “Japan is a country that hopes to resolve the problems affecting Africa together with Africa and will not let up,” he said. Speaking during TICAD’s official opening at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre in Nairobi, the Prime Minister said, “UN Security Council is the most powerful body of the UN but there is no African permanent member in it…Japan is also eyeing a similar seat,” he said.

The meeting host, Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta urged leaders to push for fair global trade.He said there is a worrying trend for the developed world to turn inwards, even after benefiting from open trade before. “Indeed, if we look back, the wealthiest countries today with very few exceptions, got rich by trading with others. The critical ingredient of prosperity in the last century has been free and fair trade, infrastructure integration of regions, educated citizens who enjoy economic liberty and responsible governments.

The meeting saw almost 10,000 delegates congregate in Nairobi for the first ever TICAD event to be held outside Japan. Some 35 African heads of state were expected to attend. Analysts had predicted that African participants would be hoping for a new framework that would create a sustainable business and investment environment that could withstand sharp drops in commodity prices and fight escalating threats such as terrorism which hampers growth.

“On the otherhand, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, who will be attending the conference wants to promote Japanese businesses and push for a bigger share in the last frontier,” the analysts added. The delegates were expected to adopt the Nairobi Declaration on August 28. The document is expected to include pandemic prevention measures and call for high quality infrastructure, a necessary engine for African development. President Kenyatta today said the gathering of close to 30 African Heads of State and Government in Nairobi for development talks signals the collective ambition to build shared prosperity for all Africans.

He said the Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD) process, whose sixth conference Kenya is hosting, is part of Africa’s search for increased opportunities in global trade. “Japan embraced these ambitions in the spirit of partnership, and we agreed to establish TICAD as a vehicle for our collective efforts. This was a visionary step,” said President Kenyatta. He said the global system of multi-lateral agreement on trade and security is under stress due to the actions of some of the wealthiest countries that are now turning against globalization.

“The critical ingredients of prosperity in the last half century have been free and fair trade; infrastructure integration of regions; educated and productive citizens who enjoy economic liberty and responsible government,” said President Kenyatta. “Yet there is now a trend among many countries to turn toward more isolationist or grossly unfair positions on trade,” he added. Prime Minister Abe said the Nairobi TICAD conference opens a new chapter in the relationship between Africa and Japan.

He said Japanese investors will continue partnering with Africans in the continent’s drive for prosperity. The opening ceremony was also addressed by the President of Chad who is also the chairman of the African Union, Mr Idriss Deby Itno, who called on Japan to increase its investments in Africa.

Main Menu