土著要求对于城市事务享有发言权

By on 2016-10-13

厄瓜多尔奥塔瓦洛,20161013日 —— 距人居三大会在基多开幕仅剩几天时, 各利益相关方召开会议, 讨论让土著参与城市化进程的重要意义, 尤其是土著青年和妇女。

在最近一次原生城市(Indigenous Cities)磋商会议上,厄瓜多尔的奥塔瓦洛获选,原因是奥塔瓦洛土著顽强不息。当地土著生产销售传统纺织品,发展了国际知名的纺织业,使文化和人民得以繁衍。

“土著有权对自己的部落和生活做主,”Luzmila Zumbrano在会上指出。“我们承认城市化有价值,唯一的条件是让土著享有发言权,尤其是妇女和青年。”

“联合国认可土著的权利,认可土著在各级政府的代表权,”联合国人居署青年和生计部门主管Douglas Ragan称。“全球青年寄望土著青年男女成为可持续发展的领导者。Youth 21项目的国际青年团体旨在采用土著参与联合国事务的模式,要求创建青年事务常设论坛,类似于联合国土著问题常设论坛。”

对于城市的可持续发展,至关重要的是保障土著等在城市治理、经济和社会生活中常常边缘化的群体,享有发言权。古往今来,土著始终受到社会、经济和政治排斥,这一情况在城市环境中尤为恶劣,土著常常被驱逐到传统界域之外。

土著受到排斥,享受不到完整公民权,在政策制定过程中没有发言权,无法积极参与城市进程。因此,重要的是承认、促进、保护、捍卫土著的权利,让土著参与各级所有政策制定的过程和所有议程。

全球共有3700多万土著,分布在70多个国家,他们的语言有5000多种。其中半数土著居住在城市。城市土著面对着多重挑战,贫困、缺乏经济适用的住房、高失业率等只是冰山一角。许多问题源自殖民时期,当时土著的语言和国家被掠夺,文化和生活方式受压制。

然而,城市土著即使在这样的压迫下也展现出了惊人的韧性。在发达国家,城市土著重建了富有生机的社区,把许多不同部落的土著团结起来。曾经被夺走的土地归还给了土著,传统的习俗得以复苏。

 

《原生城市宣言》

原生城市磋商会议凝聚了世界各地数百名土著的集体智慧。磋商会议及随后的《宣言》主要目标是探索各种方式,使土著和他们的社区主流化,融入《新城市议程》的设计、实施、监督和评估过程。

《原生城市宣言》以《联合国土著人民权利宣言》(UNDRIP)为基础。《联合国土著人民权利宣言》强调在实现土著生存、尊严和福利等最低标准的过程中土著的权利。对于全球诸多土著文化而言,至关重要的是,《联合国土著人民权利宣言》保护了突出个人权利的人权文件中可能不会提及的集体利益,保护了土著的个人权利,尤其是土著青年男女的需求。

《宣言》中另一个重要内容是要求城市中性别平等。《宣言》要求认可土著妇女在发展包容、安全、可持续的城市过程中发挥的关键作用。土著妇女促进了本地经济,在城市中传播土著文化,在城市空间中保存土著语言。《宣言》强调针对土著青年女性存在多重歧视,城市必须为所有人提供非歧视性的环境。

最后,《宣言》承认地方政府的关键作用,呼吁地方政府制定有效的社区契约,以创建安全包容的空间。温哥华市的韧性城市框架这一范例将被《宣言》启用,作为促进土著和城市合作的方式。

《原生城市宣言》将于10月14日在11:30至12:30召开的原生城市会议上由联合国人居署青年和生计部门发布。目前,人居三大会在厄瓜多尔基多的国立理工大学(Escuela Politécnica Nacional)召开。点击这里了解更多信息。

Indigenous peoples call for a seat at the urban table

By on 10/13/2016

Otavalo, Ecuador, 13 October 2016 – With just days to go until the opening of the Habitat III conference in Quito, stakeholders have come to together to discuss the importance of including indigenous peoples, and especially youth and women, in the urbanization process.

The host community of the last of the Indigenous Cities consultations, Otavalo, Ecuador, was selected due to the resilience of the Otavaleñan people. Using the production and sale of traditional textiles, the people of this community have developed a globally recognized textile industry, allowing the culture and the people to flourish.

“Indigenous people have the right to be in charge of their communities and their lives,” said Luzmila Zumbrano, speaking at the conference.  “We recognize the value of urbanization but only if indigenous people, especially women and youth, have a seat at the table.”

“The United Nations recognizes the rights of indigenous peoples and their representation in all levels of government,” said Douglas Ragan, Chief, Youth and Livelihood Unit, UN-Habitat. “Youth globally have looked to indigenous young men and women as leaders in sustainability. The international youth communities of the Youth 21 project sought to adopt the model of indigenous peoples engagement in the UN, through calling for the creation of a Permanent Forum for Youth, similar to the Permanent Forum for Indigenous Issues.”

Critical to the sustainability of cities is to assure that groups such as indigenous peoples who are often marginalized from the governance, economy and social life of the cities be heard. Indigenous people historically and to this day face social, economic and political exclusion, a situation which is exacerbated in urban contexts where they are often delinked from the traditional territories.

Indigenous people who are blocked from being full citizens have no voice in decision-making processes and are not active participants in urban processes. This is why it is important to recognize, promote, protect and defend indigenous peoples’ rights, and include them in all decision-making processes at all levels and in every agenda.

Globally there are over 370 million indigenous peoples in more than 70 countries speaking over 5000 different languages. Fifty percent of indigenous people are living in cities. The challenges faced by urban indigenous people are many fold – poverty, lack of affordable and decent housing, high unemployment, to name a few. Many of these have roots dating back to colonial times when indigenous peoples languages and nations were taken from them with a parallel suppression of their culture and ways of life.

Yet, urban indigenous peoples also have demonstrated amazing resilience even under these oppressive conditions. In the developed world, urban indigenous peoples have re-established vibrant communities that bring together a number of different indigenous peoples. Land once taken from their communities has been given back, traditional practices have been revived.

Indigenous Cities Declaration

The Indigenous Cities consultations brought together the combined wisdom of hundreds indigenous people from around the world. The main objective of the consultations and the ensuing Declaration is to explore ways and means of mainstreaming indigenous peoples and their communities in the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the New Urban Agenda.

The Declaration is based on the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) which emphasizes the right of indigenous peoples to achieve the minimum standards for their survival, dignity and well-being. Critical to the reality of many indigenous cultures globally, the UNDRIP protects the collective rights that may not be addressed in other human rights instruments that highlights individual rights, and safeguards the individual rights of Indigenous people; and specifically the needs of Indigenous young men and women.

Another critical area in the declaration is the call for gender equality in cities. The  declaration calls for the  recognition of the crucial role of indigenous women in the development of inclusive, safe and sustainable cities, contributing to the local economy, teaching indigenous culture in cities, preserving indigenous language in urban spaces. It highlights the multiple discrimination against indigenous women young; cities must provide a non-discrimination environment for everyone.

Lastly, the declaration recognizes the critical role of local government, and calls on them to create effective social pacts in order to create safe and inclusive spaces. The example of the City of Vancouver’s City of Reconciliation framework is one that will be used in the Declaration as a way in which indigenous people and cities can work together.

The Indigenous Cities Declaration will be launched at YoutHAB during the Indigenous Cities session from 11:30 to 12:30 on Oct 14th. The conference is being held at the Escuela Politécnica Nacional, Quito, Ecuador.  For more information go here

Main Menu