联合国总部召开漂浮城市圆桌会议呼吁推动创新普惠大众

By on 2019-04-04

联合国副秘书长阿米纳·穆罕默德(Amina Mohammed)和联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫在纽约通过漂浮城市圆桌会议会场外的服务器,对内罗毕的青年讲话。照片版权:Oceanix公司/联合国人居署

纽约,201943—— 联合国人居署在联合国总部召开圆桌会议,召集建筑师、设计师、学者和企业家, 针对如何把漂浮城市作为可行的解决方案, 以应对气候变化、缺乏可负担的住房等城市挑战,展开讨论。

会议的联合承办方还包括致力于建造漂浮建筑的 Oceanix 公司、麻省理工学院(MIT)海洋工程研究中心及总部在美国的探险家俱乐部。

为期一天的圆桌会议聚集了70多名与会者,讨论推荐采用的漂浮城市结构和设计方案、如何在毗邻城市的地带建造漂浮建筑、如何把漂浮建筑用作住房以克服住房匮乏的难题,收容因海平面上升及受自然灾害、气候灾害威胁逃离家园的灾民。

联合国副秘书长阿米纳·穆罕默德在下午的会议上致开幕词,称圆桌会议促进了集思广益。

“我们来到这里,预想和重新设想我们生活的城市及城市议程,”她说。

人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫称,推动创新和新创意,现在正当其时。她补充道,创新和新创意必须普惠大众。

“我们必须保证,科技进步之益成为基本的权利,而非少数人的特权。联合国人居署做好了提供平台的准备,这样我们可以从全世界的所有地方集结最强的头脑,”她说。

著名建筑师 Bjarke Ingels 阐述了漂浮城市的设计方案。他说,漂浮城市将成为一万人的家园,有能力抵御恶劣的气候条件,自主产出能源和食品,管理供水、处理废弃物。

在纽约联合国总部,代表们参加联合国人居署合办的漂浮城市圆桌会议。照片版权:Oceanix公司/联合国人居署

“我们在尽力畅想一个建立在17条可持续发展目标基础上的国家,”他说。

诺贝尔奖获得者约瑟夫·斯蒂格利茨(Joseph Stiglitz)教授指出,应更广泛地应用这些创意。他说,“某些最重要的益处不会出现在漂浮城市里,而会在陆地上,如果你想到废弃物的回收利用和供水的话。”

他的观点得到 Suzy Amis Cameron 的响应。她与丈夫电影导演詹姆斯·卡梅隆都提倡环保。

“如果我们能够为漂浮城市创建一个闭环系统,那么这些城市会成为全球各地城市的典范,”她说。

Oceanix 公司的联合创始人 Marc Collins Chen 说,漂浮城市必须可负担,他们致力于建造一个缩小版的模型,首先解决小的问题。

圆桌会议听取了肯尼亚内罗毕一群青年的意见。他们通过称作Ava的移动端屏幕表达了对城市未来生活的看法。

在纽约联合国总部,联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫在人居署合办的漂浮城市圆桌会议上发表讲话。照片版权:Oceanix公司/联合国人居署

“青年有创意,但得不到支持和认同。尽管如此,他们也将继续努力,确保改变人民的生活,”马萨雷贫民窟的环保人士 Issac Muasa 说。他是去年联合国人居奖的获得者。

“青年是城市的未来,无论该城市是否漂浮,应该与青年携手同行,挖掘青年的创造力,与青年一起建设,”青年顾问拉斐尔 · 欧泊尤(Raphael Obonyo)补充道。

5月27-31日内罗毕举行的首届联合国人居署大会将以“推动创新、营造城市和社区更优质的生活”为主题。人居署副执行主任强调,这次圆桌会议还只是此类讨论的开端。

“我们想为各大公司、投资者、探险家、科学家创建一个平台,与人居署一道,为营造更美好的城市未来、为建设环境可持续发展的人类住区,实现突破性的创新,”他说。

Roundtable on floating cities at UNHQ calls for innovation to benefit all

By on 04/04/2019

The UN Deputy Secretary-General Amina Mohammed and the UN-Habitat Executive Director Maimunah Mohd Sharif talk to youth in Nairobi via a linkup outside the Roundtable on Floating Cities in New York ©Oceanix/UN-Habitat

NEW YORK 3 April 2019 – UN-Habitat convened a roundtable discussion of architects, designers, academics and entrepreneurs at UN Headquarters on how floating cities could be a viable solution to urban challenges such as climate change and lack of affordable housing.

The meeting was co-convened with Oceanix, a company looking to build the floating structures, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Center for Ocean Engineering and the USA-based Explorers Club.

The day-long roundtable of over 70 people discussed the proposed structure and design of floating cities, how they would be situated close to cities and could be used to house those fleeing from rising sea levels and other threats from natural or climate-related disasters in their home areas and overcome housing shortages.

The UN Deputy Secretary-General, Amina Mohammed, who made the opening remarks in the afternoon, said the meeting was pushing everyone’s thinking.

“We have come together here to think ahead and reimagine our cities and our urban agenda,” she said.

UN-Habitat’s Executive Director Maimunah Mohd Sharif said now was the time for innovation and new ideas adding that they must help everyone.

“We must to ensure that the benefits of technological advances are a basic right, not a privilege of the few. UN Habitat is ready to provide the platform so that we can engage the best minds in every part of the world,” she said.

Leading architect Bjarke Ingels explained the design of the floating cities which, he said, would be home to 10,000 people, could withstand severe weather conditions and would produce their own power and food and manage water and the disposal of waste.

Participants at the Roundtable on Floating Cities co-convened by UN-Habitat at UN Headquarters in New York©Oceanix/UN-Habitat

“We are trying to imagine a country based on the 17 Sustainable Development Goals,” he said.

Nobel Laureate, Professor Joseph Stiglitz pointed out a wider application of these ideas saying that “some of the most important benefits are not going to be in floating cities, but on land if you think about recycling waste and water.”

His words were echoed by Suzy Amis Cameron, who is an environmental advocate along with her husband, film director James Cameron.

“If we are able to create a closed loop system for floating cities, they will become role models for cities around the world,” she said.

The co-founder of Oceanix, Marc Collins Chen, said the floating cities had to be affordable and said they aimed to build a prototype on a reduced scale to solve the small problems first.

The meeting heard from a group of young people in Nairobi, Kenya who gave their thoughts on the future of urban living via a portable screen known as Ava.

UN-Habitat Executive Director Maimunah Mohd Sharif speaking at the Roundtable n Floating Cities co-convened by UN-Habitat at UN Headquarters in New York ©Oceanix/UN-Habitat

“Young people have ideas but they lack support and recognition but they will continue and make sure they change the lives of people,” said Isaac Muasa, an environmental activist in the informal settlement of Mathare and winner of last year’s UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour award.

“Youth are the future of cities both floating and non-floating and should bring them along and tap into their creativity and we can build together,” added youth advocate, Raphael Obonyo.

The theme of the first UN-Habitat Assembly in Nairobi from 27 – 31 May will be Innovation for better quality of life in cities and communities and UN-Habitat’s Deputy Executive Director emphasized that the roundtable was just the beginning of such discussions.

“We want to create a platform for leading companies, innovators, explorers, and scientists to engage with UN-Habitat in creating breakthrough innovations for a better urban future and environmentally sustainable human settlements,” he said.

Main Menu