.

2017青年联接非洲峰会:造福非洲青年

By on 2017-08-04

联合国助理秘书长兼联合国人居署副执行主任艾萨·基拉博·卡西拉(Aisa Kirabo Kacyira)博士代表人居署出席了 7 月 19 日至 21 日在卢旺达基加利举行的 2017 青年联接非洲峰会开幕式。

峰会由卢旺达共和国总统保罗·卡加梅(Paul Kagame)阁下主持,汇聚了国际政府领导、跨国商界领袖、青年企业家、艺术家、青年意见领导者等,通过联接青年,向青年提供所需的技术、教育和机会,挖掘非洲的巨大潜能,使青年成为“新一代的问题解决者”。

90多个国家的2500多名代表参加峰会,交流意见,探索办法,利用信息通信技术(ICTs)和战略伙伴关系,释放青年的潜力,把青年与非洲提供的无限机遇联接起来。峰会还启动了青年联接非洲枢纽和青年联接非洲赋权基金。

围绕峰会的主题“从潜能到成功”,卡西拉博士参加了部长级圆桌会议,与非洲和国际领导一起讨论如何利用信息通信技术,让青年参与行动,摆脱贫困。

卡西拉博士强调,伙伴关系、方案和政策具有重要意义,有利于针对迫切的需求,帮助青年成为问题解决者,支持实施《可持续发展目标》和《新城市议程》。“地方政府和政策影响方必须利用上述伙伴关系和项目,了解机构、法律、规范框架的需求,”她补充道。

峰会提供机会,聚焦联合国人居署青年和生计部门的创新国家挑战方案。创新国家挑战方案让城市青年参与确认问题,赋权青年制定创新的信息通信技术解决方案,如发展无人机机制用于在医院间传送胰岛素,利用信息通信技术规范肯尼亚的公交服务,提高公交运营者的收入,从而惠及地方政府。

卢旺达在《2020年愿景》中关注青年和信息通信技术,致力于在2020年前成为中等收入国家。2017年青年联接非洲峰会和联合国人居署等机构推行的项目支持实现上述目标,针对影响青年福祉的决定,赋予青年发言权,向青年提供技术,使他们可以自谋职业。

YouthConnekt Africa 2017: Committed to Africa’s Youth

By on 08/04/2017

Dr. Aisa Kirabo Kacyira, Assistant Secretary General and Deputy Executive Director of UN-Habitat, represented the agency at the inaugural YouthConnekt Africa Summit 2017 from July 19 – 21 held in Kigali, Rwanda.

The summit, which was hosted by His Excellency Paul Kagame, President of the Republic of Rwanda, brought together international government leaders, multinational business executives, youth entrepreneurs, artists and youth opinion leaders to tap into Africa’s enormous potential by connecting youth with the skills, education and opportunities they need to become “a new generation of problem solvers.”

More than 2,500 delegates from over 90 countries attended the summit to exchange ideas and explore ways to use information and communication technologies (ICTs) and strategic partnerships to unlock the potential of youth and connect them with the endless opportunities that Africa has to offer. The summit also featured the launch of the YouthConnekt Africa Hub and the YouthConnekt Africa Empowerment Fund.

Within the context of the conference’s theme, “From Potential to Success”, Dr. Kacyira participated in a ministerial roundtable with African and international leaders on how to use ICTs to engage young people and lift them out of poverty.

Dr. Kacyira stressed the importance of partnerships, programmes and policy in addressing the urgent need to help youth to become problem-solvers and support the implementation of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the New Urban Agenda. “Local governments and policy influencers must draw from these partnerships and projects to understand what institutional, legal and regulatory frameworks are required,” she added.

This summit provided an opportunity to shine a spotlight on The Innovate Counties Challenge Programme, housed in the Youth and Livelihood Unit at UN-Habitat. The Innovate Counties Challenge engages urban youth to identify problems and empowers them to develop innovative ICT solutions, such as developing a drone system to transfer insulin between hospitals or using ICTs to regulate public bus services in Kenya and increase revenue collection for bus owners and consequently local governments.

Rwanda has focused on youth and ICTs in its Vision 2020 programme to become a middle-income country by 2020. The YouthConnekt Africa 2017 Summit and initiatives by organisations such as UN-Habitat support these objectives by giving youth a voice in determining what affects their welfare and providing them with skills that allow them to create jobs for themselves.

Main Menu