培训男女青年以推动可持续城市化

By on 2018-12-27

内罗毕,20181227—— 联合国人居署与肯尼亚梅鲁(Meru)郡政府合作开展建筑、软创业和领导技能的培训,对象为参与梅鲁青年服务的 1000 人中选拔的 60 名青年。 培训内容包括利用 Makiga 技术,用土、水与水泥混合制作稳定土块(SSB)。 其中,Makiga 技术是专门用于制作稳定土块的设备。

梅鲁郡政府与人居署于 2018 年 4 月签署伙伴关系协议以来,创办了梅鲁青年服务中心(MYS),向青年提供技术和软技能培训,以赋权梅鲁郡的青年。在 6000 名申请者中共选出 1000 名青年,参与梅鲁青年服务当前开展的各类发展项目。 其中一些青年在梅鲁技术学院学习各门课程。

稳定土块技术是环境友好型的新举措,砖块制作过程无需烧柴生烟。生产成本大幅降低,因为所需的土、水泥和水本地齐备。 这项举措支持可持续发展,强化了本地社区的能力,使本地社区可以遵循《新城市议程》,有效参与可持续城市化。

学员们的培训过程包括领会个人的创业技能、如何创办一家小企业、财务规划和管理、使用信息通信技术等。学员们制作出了600多块砖块,将培训活动推向高潮。他们还制定企业规划,开启了自己的造砖厂的注册流程。

作为实操技能培训的补充,课程把学员分成小组,鼓励他们在完成具体任务的过程中展现领导才能和团队精神。这个过程使学员们更好地理解了分工、时间管理、及营造可持续商业环境等。学员们还为砖块确认了市场机遇,包括用于建造政府学校、私营机构、本地教堂、郡政府办公室等。

“郡政府设想,向男女青年传授就业技能和财务能力、创造就业机会,将有助于根除梅鲁郡的失业现象,” 青年事务部门主管 Flora Kananu Nyaga 女士感谢人居署提供培训及所需的设备。

学员们对郡政府和人居署表示感谢,承诺把他们学到的知识和技能与没有得到机会参加这次培训的青年们共享。“我们学习了技术和专业技能,在培训员那里大受启发。我们自信,我们能制作砖块、创办企业、培训他人,” 学员 Christopher Kimathi 说。

Young men and women empowered for sustainable urbanization through training

By on 12/27/2018

Nairobi, December 27, 2018 – UN-Habitat and the County Government of Meru in Kenya have come together to provide training in construction, soft entrepreneurship and leadership skills to 60 youth selected from a group of 1,000 in the Meru Youth Service. The training included production of Stabilized Soil Blocks (SSB) made by mixing soil, water and cement using Makiga technology, a specialized machine for production of Stabilized Soil Blocks.

Following a partnership agreement between the County Government of Meru and UN-Habitat concluded in April 2018, the Meru Youth Service (MYS) has been created as a means of empowering young people in Meru County by providing them with technical and soft skills training. A total of 1000 youth selected from a pool of 6000 applicants are currently engaged in various Meru County development initiatives being undertaken by MYS. Some have been enrolled for various courses at the Meru Technical College.

The SSB technology is an environmentally friendly new approach to making building bricks without burning smoke-producing timber. Production costs are reduced significantly as the soil, cement and water needed are readily available locally. This approach supports sustainable development and strengthens the capacity of local communities to participate effectively in sustainable urbanization in line with the New Urban Agenda.

Participants were taken through the process of identifying personal entrepreneurial skills, how to start a small business, financial planning and management, and the use of ICT.  The training culminated in participants producing more than 600 building blocks. They also developed a business plan and initiated the process of registering their own block building business.

To compliment hands-on skills training, participants were placed in groups and encouraged to demonstrate leadership and teamwork in accomplishing specific tasks. The process led to better understanding of division of labor, time management and the creation of a sustainable business environment. Participants were also able to identify market opportunities for building blocks, among them construction of government schools, private institutions, local churches, and offices for the county government.

“The county government envisions empowered young men and women with marketable skills and the financial capacity to create job opportunities that will help eliminate unemployment in Meru County,” said Chief Officer for Youth Affairs Ms. Flora Kananu Nyaga who thanked UN-Habitat for providing training and the equipment required.

Participants expressed gratitude to the County Government and UN-Habitat and pledged to share the knowledge and skills they had gained with other young people who did not get an opportunity to join the training. “We have learnt technical and professional skills and we have been greatly inspired by the trainers. Now we are confident that we can produce building blocks, create a business and train others,” said Christopher Kimathi, one of the trainees.

Main Menu