“我喜欢内罗毕市的哪方面”联合国人居署呼吁媒体人性化处理城市问题

By on 2019-05-17

 

内罗毕,2019514—— 联合国人居署和阿迦汗大学传媒研究生院为新闻记者开办培训班,敦促他们把城市问题看成一个专门的领域,就像环境、运动和商业领域一样。

人居署外联司司长 Christine Musisi 女士对参加培训的 23 名新闻记者说,媒体是擅长讲故事的强大工具。

“媒体应该引导领导人和大众去关注城市化问题,并使领导作为公民社会的一份子坚守诚信,” 她说。

为了使新闻记者们思考城市化带来的机遇和挑战,她向阿迦汗大学传媒研究生院的这批学员们提问,他们喜欢和不喜欢内罗毕的哪些方面。

“我喜欢这座城市的喧嚣。这是一座创业者、创新者云集的城市。人们很有韧性。城市变革速度快。这里是机遇之城,” 一名学员说。

“我希望内罗毕精简公共交通系统,提高安全,改善城市空间的规划,提升城市空间的包容性,改善水、固体废物管理、空气质量及负担得起的住房供应,” 另一个学员说。

巴西大使兼常驻联合国人居署代表Fernando Coimbra先生是常驻代表委员会主席。他阐述了将于5月27-31日在内罗毕召开的第一届联合国人居署大会的重要意义。

“那将是激动人心的时刻。大会将讨论人类面临的最重要的问题之一。大会将汇聚全世界的代表,共同思考并找到创新的解决方案,” 他说。

Fernando Coimbra 大使激励媒体捍卫弱势群体的权利,关注被落下的人们面临的挑战,这样,政治家和决策者才会倾听并行动起来。

人居署项目司司司长 Raf Tuts 先生概述了人居署的全球使命,激励媒体以建设性的方式成为公民的城市之声,提升对土地、就业和公共服务等问题的关注。

人居署非洲地区办事处的 Thomas Chiramba 先生强调了人居署在肯尼亚的工作,称三分之一的肯尼亚人住在城市地区,城市城镇中56%的肯尼亚人是贫民窟居民,人口高达640万。他指出,在肯尼亚,人均支出的最大消费项目是住房和交通。

人居署城市规划和设计处协调员 Shipra Narang-Suri 女士说明了人居署在肯尼亚北部的 Kalobeyei 新难民营开展的工作。在那里,人道主义和可持续发展工作结合起来,以保障本地居民和难民享受更好的、长期的成果。

针对第一届联合国人居署大会的主题“创新提升城市生活质量”,人居署青年和生计部门主管 Douglas Ragan 先生说,在基贝拉贫民窟和马萨瑞贫民窟,小型科技创业公司“基贝拉地图”是第一个把基贝拉绘入世界地图的机构。这种做法有助于解决贫民窟居民的疾苦,提供了更好的基础设施和服务,制定了更有效、更高效的政策。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

“What I love about Nairobi city” – UN-Habitat calls for the media to humanize urban issues.

By on 05/17/2019

 

NAIROBI, 14 May 2019 – Journalists who took part in a training organized by UN-Habitat and the Aga Khan Graduate School of Media and Communications, were urged to see urban issues as an area of specialization like environment, sport and business.

Addressing the 23 journalists, Ms. Christine Musisi, UN-Habitat Director of External Relations Division, said that media was a powerful tool to tell a story.

“The media should draw the attention of leaders and the general public to the issues of urbanization; and to also hold our leadership accountable as part of civil society,” she said.

To get the journalists thinking about the opportunities and challenges of urbanization, she asked the group who met at the Aga Khan University Graduate School of Media and Communication what they liked and disliked about Nairobi.

“I love the chaos of the city, it is a city of entrepreneurs and innovators, the resilience of the people, its fast pace of change and is a land of opportunity,” said one participant.

“I would like to see Nairobi’s public transport system streamlined, enhanced safety, better planning and inclusivity of urban spaces, improved water and solid waste management and air quality and access to affordable housing” said another.

The Ambassador of Brazil and Permanent Representative to UN-Habitat, Mr. Fernando Coimbra, who chairs the Committee of Permanent Representatives, explained the importance of the first UN-Habitat Assembly which is taking place in Nairobi from 27 – 31 May.

“It will be an exciting time. The Assembly will discuss one of the most important issues facing humanity – and for the world to meet, think and find innovative solutions together,” he said.

Ambassador Coimbra challenged the media to champion the rights of the under privileged and focus on the challenges faced by those being left behind so that politicians and decision makers listen and act.

In his overview of the global mandate of UN-Habitat, Mr. Raf Tuts, UN-Habitat Director of Programme Division, challenged the media to be the urban voice of citizens, to raise issues of land, employment and public services, in a constructive way.

Mr. Thomas Chiramba of the UN-Habitat Regional Office for Africa, highlighted UN-Habitat’s work in Kenya, stating that a third of Kenyans live in urban areas and that 56 per cent or 6.4 million Kenyans living in cities and towns are slum dwellers. He noted that in Kenya, the average citizen’s biggest costs are for housing and transport.

Ms. Shipra Narang-Suri, UN-Habitat Urban Planning and Design Branch Coordinator, explained UN-Habitat’s work with the Kalobeyei Integrated Refugee Settlement in Northern Kenya where humanitarian and sustainable development efforts come together to ensure better, long-term outcomes for both local populations and refugees

On the UN-Habitat Assembly theme of innovation for a better life, Mr. Douglas Ragan, Chief of UN-Habitat’s Youth and Livelihoods Unit said that small tech start-ups such as Map Kibera in the informal settlements of Kibera and Mathare, were the first organization to put Kibera on the world map. This helped to address the plight of slum dwellers by providing better infrastructure and services and develop more effective and efficient policies.

 

Main Menu