.
Don't Miss >

    حقوق الإنسان

    Human rights top Human_Rights_Icon

    إن حقوق الإنسان، والتي تتضمن الحق في السكن الملائم والمياه الآمنة والصرف الصحي، منصوص عليها في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان.

    والصكوك الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، ومنها العهد الدولي للحقوق الإقتصادية والإجتماعية والثقافية والذي صادق عليه معظم الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة. ومع إقرار هذه الحقوق لا يكون لها طابع طوعي، فإنها تفرض إلتزامات على الدول والمجتمع الدولي، فتكون عالمية ولا يمكن التنازل عنها أو سلبها ويحميها القانون. يشير الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان إلى السكن الملائم في المادة 25، كما يشير العهد الدولي للحقوق الإقتصادية والإجتماعية والثقافية إلى نفس الشئ في المادة 11.

    اضغط هنا لبوابة يوم حقوق الانسان 2015

    كيف يستطيع النهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان المساهمة في مستقبل حضري أفضل؟

    إن التحديات الناتجة عن التوسع الحضري، مثل زيادة عدم المساواة وانتشار الأحياء الفقيرة، هي أعراض لعجز أكبر حجمًا في احترام حقوق الإنسان في المدن خصوصًا الحق في السكن الملائم والحق في مياه شرب آمنة وصرف صحي. فقط مع احترام كافة أبعاد حقوق الإنسان سوف يحقق التوسع الحضري مراده كقوة تحويلية. وتتعلق أبعاد حقوق الإنسان بإتاحة الحق في السكن الملائم، والمياه الآمنة والصرف الصحي والوصول إليه، وقبوله، ومواءمته، وجودته وملائمته.

    إن حقوق الإنسان، والتي تتضمن الحق في السكن الملائم والمياه الآمنة والصرف الصحي، منصوص عليها في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان والصكوك الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، ومنها العهد الدولي للحقوق الإقتصادية والإجتماعية والثقافية والذي صادق عليها معظم الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة. ومع إقرار هذه الحقوق لا يكون لها طابع طوعي، فإنها تفرض إلتزامات على الدول والمجتمع الدولي، فتكون عالمية ولا يمكن التنازل عنها أو سلبها ويحميها القانون.

    يحدد النهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان نمط من علاقات حقوق الإنسان ما بين الفرد، وهو صاحب المطلب المبرر من الدولة، والدولة وهي المسؤولة عن تنفيذ الإلتزامات. يتمثل التأثير الناتج عن ذلك في إزالة الكثير من القرارات من نطاق صناعة القرار الخيري الصادر عن الدولة ووضعها في إطار إلزامي حتى تبرهن الدولة على المجهودات الجادة لإعمال الحقوق التي صادقت عليها. فإن الدولة تخضع للمساءلة من خلال مؤسسات الحوكمة الدولية فيما يتعلق بمستوى التقدم المحرز في إعمال الحقوق ذات الصلة. ينطوي النهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان على الإبتعاد عن تقييم حاجات المستفيدين والتركيز على تمكين وبناء قدرات اصحاب المطالبات للتأكيد على حقوقهم.

     

    كيف ينفذ ذلك النهج القائم علي حقوق الانسان؟

    وفقًا للنهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان ينبغي أن تلتزم عملية التوسع الحضري بمبادئ حقوق الإنسان والمتعلقة بالمساواة وعدم التمييز، والإدماج والمشاركة، والمساءلة وسيادة القانون. وعلى نحو متوازٍ ينبغي على المدينة، باعتبارها مخرجات لهذه العملية، أن تلبي معايير محددة لحقوق الإنسان على سبيل المثال السكن الملائم، الوصول إلى المياه والصرف الصحي، والخدمات الصحية والتعليمية، والمشاركة في القرارات التي تؤثر على سكان المدينة أو أي حقوق أخرى تنص عليها اتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان والتي صادقت عليها الدولة محل النظر. إن النهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان يضيف قيمة للتخطيط الحضري من خلال إضفاء صفة شرعية على ترتيب الإهتمامات حسب الأولوية فيما يتعلق بالفئات الأكثر تهميشًا في المجتمع وإشراكهم في عملية التخطيط. وبالفعل فإن وضع وتنفيذ شكل ملائم للتخطيط الحضري هو شرط أساسي في الكثير من السياقات الوطنية من أجل تطبيق الإلتزامات الخاصة بحقوق الإنسان في السياق الحضري.     

    لماذا يقع الاختيار علي الموئل؟

    يلتزم الموئل بميثاق الأمم المتحدة والذي يقر حقوق الإنسان كاحد ركائزه، كما أن الموئل مكلف خصيصًا من الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة لتعزيز المدن اجتماعيًا وبيئيًا بشكل مستدام بهدف توفير المأوى الملاءم للجميع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك وباعتباره جزء من منظومة الأمم المتحدة الموئل مكلف باحترام وتعزيز وحماية حقوق الإنسان في كافة أنشطته. فإن كافة تدخلات الموئل تركز على القيم المنصوص عليها في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان والتي تدفع إلى الحق في مستوى ملائم للمعيشة والذي يعتبر الحق في السكن الملائم جزءًا منه. كذلك يعتبر الموئل هيئة رئيسة في تنفيذ الحق في مياه الشرب الآمنة والصرف الصحي. وقد صار تطبيق النهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان في مجال التنمية من المنابر المحورية للقيام بالتحولات الحديثة في استراتجيات التنمية، ونتيجة للنجاح في تنفيذها فقد تلقى دعم قوي من قيادة الأمم المتحدة والدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة.    

    كيف يقوم الموئل بدمج حقوق الإنسان؟

    بدأ الموئل في التعاون مع مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لحقوق الإنسان مع بداية 2002، للعمل سويًا للإعمال الشامل والتدريجي لحقوق الإسكان تحت رعاية برنامج الأمم المتحدة للحق في السكن. وفي بداية 2013 تمت الموافقة على دمج حقوق الإنسان كأولوية من خلال مجلس إدارة الموئل عبر إدرجها في الخطة الإستراتيجية 2014 – 2019. لهذا فإن عملية الدمج تمكن الموئل من مراعاة حقوق الإنسان في كافة أجزاء برنامج عمله.

    فلنبدأ!

    لدمج وإعمال حقوق الإنسان يتطلب الأمر إطار للعمل، وضمن هذا الإطار يكون من الضروري وجود نتيجة استراتيجية توضح الأثر المرجو من عملية الدمج على حياة المطالبين بهذه الحقوق. تتمثل النتيجة الإستراتيجية المرجوة في إعمال الحق في السكن الملائم والخدمات الأساسية للفقراء والسكان الأكثر ضعفًا بالمناطق الحضرية. 

    يدعم هذه النتيجة الإستراتيجية أربع انجازات متوقعة:

    1. قدرة الموئل على تمكين الأطراف المعنية بقضايا حقوق الإنسان فيما يتعلق بالسكن الملائم والخدمات الأساسية.
    2. قدرة المطالبين على التأكيد على الحق في السكن الملائم والخدمات الأساسية.
    3. خضوع الجهة المسؤولة إلى المساءلة عن إعمال الحق في السكن الملائم والخدمات الأساسية.
    4. حماية وتنفيذ واحترام معايير حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالسكن الملائم والخدمات الأساسية من خلال الجهات المسؤولة

    Menu Title

Human rights

Human rights top Human_Rights_IconHuman Rights, including the rights to adequate housing and safe water and sanitation are contained in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and international human rights instruments, including  the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights which have been ratified by most UN Member States. These rights, once so endorsed, do not have a voluntary character. They impose obligations on states and on the international community, they are universal, cannot be waived or taken away, and are legally protected. The Universal declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) refers to adequate housing in article 25. The International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) also refers to the same in article 11.

Click here for Human Rights day 2015 portal.

How can a Human Rights based approach (HRBA) contribute to a better urban future?

The challenges of urbanization, such as rising inequality and the prevalence of slums, are symptoms of a larger deficit to respect human rights in cities, particularly the right to adequate housing and the right to safe drinking water and sanitation. Only when all dimensions of human rights are respected will urbanization realize itself as the transformative force that it is. The human rights dimensions relate to the availability, accessibility, acceptability, adaptability, quality and appropriateness of the rights to adequate housing, safe drinking water and sanitation.

Human Rights, including the rights to adequate housing and safe water and sanitation are contained in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and international human rights instruments, including  the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights which have been ratified by most UN Member States. These rights, once so endorsed, do not have a voluntary character. They impose obligations on states and on the international community, they are universal, cannot be waived or taken away, and are legally protected.

The human rights-based approach defines a pattern of human rights relationships between the individual – who is the claim-holder with justified claims on the state – and the state – which is the duty-bearer. This has the effect of removing many decisions from the realms of benevolent or charitable decision-making by the member state, and placing an obligation on it to show evidence of serious efforts to realise the rights it has ratified. The state is held accountable through international governance institutions for making progress in fulfilling the relevant rights. A human rights-based approach involves moving away from assessing the needs of beneficiaries towards empowering and building the capacity of claim-holders in asserting their rights.

How is the Human Rights based approach doing that?

According to the human rights-based approach, the process of urbanization should adhere to the human rights principles of equality and non-discrimination, inclusion and participation, accountability and the rule of law. Concurrently, the city, as the outcome of this process, should meet specified human rights standards, for instance:  adequate housing, access to water and sanitation, health and education services, work, participation in decisions that affect city inhabitants, or any other rights codified in the human rights treaties ratified by the country in question.

The human rights-based approach adds value to urban planning by legitimizing prioritization of the interests on the most marginalized in society and their participation in the planning process. Indeed, the creation and implementation of an appropriate form of urban planning is a precondition in many national contexts for the fulfilment of human rights obligations in the urban context.

Why UN-Habitat?

UN-Habitat is bound by the UN Charter, which recognize human rights as one of its pillars, and is specifically mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all. Further, as part of the UN family, UN-Habitat is mandated to respect, promote, and protect human rights in all of its activities. All of UN-Habitat’s interventions are underpinned by values contained in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights that promote the right to an adequate standard of living, of which the right to adequate housing is a part.  UN-Habitat is also a key agency in the implementation of the right to safe drinking water and sanitation.

Applying a HRBA to development has become one of the essential platforms for recent transformations in development strategies and – due to their successful implementation – has received strong support from the UN leadership and the UN Member States.

How is UN-Habitat mainstreaming Human Rights?

UN-Habitat commenced cooperation with the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights as early as 2002 to work together for the comprehensive and progressive realization of Housing Rights under the auspices of the joint United Nations Housing Rights Programme. In early 2013 mainstreaming of human rights was approved as a priority issue by the UN-Habitat Governing Council through its inclusion in the 2014-2019 Strategic Plan. Mainstreaming thus empowers UN-Habitat to apply human rights considerations to all parts of its work programme.

Let's get started!

To mainstream and implement human rights, a framework for action is required. Within this framework it is necessary to have a strategic result that indicates the intended impact of mainstreaming on the lives of claim-holders. The strategic result aimed for, is that the human rights to adequate housing and basic services are realised for the urban poor and the most vulnerable urban dwellers. The strategic result is supported by four expected accomplishments

  1. UN-Habitat is enabled to empower stakeholders on human rights issues related to adequate housing and basic services.
  2. Claim-holders are able to assert rights to adequate housing and basic services.
  3. Duty-bearers are held accountable for achievement of rights to adequate housing and basic services.
  4. Human rights standards for adequate housing and basic services are protected, fulfilled and respected by duty-bearers.

Main Menu