.

联合国四家机构“一体行动”救助加纳村民

By on 2018-04-06

201844—— 加纳 Bunkpuguru 区 Timpant 地区的 Zanman Sambian 酋长以民主方式治理部族,而非洲许多社区都未施行民主。 这位 65 岁的酋长拥有 17 名子女。 在他主持议事时,族民们散乱地坐在荫凉下,热辣的阳光把气温炙烤至近40度。 儿童、妇女、青年,几乎所有能参与的人都有机会围坐畅饮,倾听博学的酋长的教诲。

我们访问当日,酋长正在会见族民,谈论当地最新的奇闻——不同的联合国机构合作执行水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)项目,建立了一个供水点。 该项目旨在缓解加纳特定社区面临的某些问题。

Zanman Sambian 酋长治下地区由于易受洪灾侵害,被选作项目点,人口有163人。根据记录,该地区最近一次发生严重洪灾是在2010年8月,当时在持续一周的连续强降雨后洪灾肆虐了一个月。这个地区每年都会发生洪灾。洪灾造成严重的财产损失,一些社区成员被迫流离失所。由于水源的变化,社区成员还会出现严重的健康问题,如腹泻、疟疾等。社区没有制定对抗洪灾的应急方案。社区也没有堆放固体、有机和无机废弃物的垃圾场。

Bunkpuguru区的状况与许多地区一般无二,这些地区也开展了水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)项目。在加拿大政府的慷慨支持下,水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)项目给全部265个目标社区都带来转变,提供100%可用的、韧性的、抗洪的供水基础设施。在所有实施干预手段的项目点,以往随地大小便的现象司空见惯,现在对于环境卫生和个人卫生的态度有了明显的转变。

国家灾害管理组织(National Disaster Management Organization)报告称,该组织制定了备灾的实用工具和可靠的水安全计划,将加以主流化,纳入国家的政策和标准。设计抗灾的水和环境卫生基础设施在加纳是独一无二的举动。目前,这项设计已被加纳认可,将纳入其水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)大纲,并正在融入国家政策和标准。

许多受益人谈起项目带来的福利,而过去这些都是奢望。现在优化的环境卫生改善了儿童的健康。随地大小便已成为过去;女童能够安心上学,因为她们面对月经期更加自如;人们可以更好地关注经济活动。

这一具有突破意义的项目汇聚了联合国人居署(作为主导机构)、联合国儿童基金会(Unicef)、世界卫生组织(WHO)、联合国开发计划署(UNDP),由常驻加纳协调员办公室对项目加以整体指导和领导。

在阿卡拉的一次访谈中,加拿大高级委员会发展事务一等秘书Francis Bedros先生对项目取得的成就表示满意。“我们看到这个国家的广大地区遭遇破坏性的洪灾,深受触动,就采取了行动。我们着手帮助在这次灾难中受害严重的约265个社区,”他说。

这位外交官称,“起初面临的一些障碍是启动延迟,及项目设定目标过高。为了缓解洪灾的影响,项目建设了韧性的基础设施,制定了灾害管理计划,”他说。

Francis Bedros 先生钦佩,参与项目的四家联合国机构行动协调一致。“联合国人居署提供了进入联合国的联络点。它是非常重要的纽带,是项目推进所必需的。经历最初的少许磕绊后,项目进展顺利,每月及时提交报告,”他说。

联合国人居署城市基本服务部门协调员 Andre Dzikus 称,不同联合国机构之间的协调一致是项目成功的关键所在。

“这是联合国合作伙伴有史以来首次在加纳执行联合项目。四家机构合作执行这个项目。除了项目最初面临挑战,即把他们汇聚到同一平台,四家机构都能明确行动,彼此互补,并如捐赠方所称,履行使命,使项目取得圆满成功。联合国人居署作为这个联合项目的召集机构,为项目成功尤为尽力,”他说。

项目主管 Eric Moukoro 提到,项目涵盖了加纳的广袤地区,是艰巨的挑战。“项目覆盖了加纳近50%的面积,包括易受洪灾地区的偏远闭塞的社区。现场干预要求对项目最初的时间表做出调整。在相对短的时间内执行所有项目活动也是一个挑战。在常驻协调员办公室的支持下,项目采用渐进管理模式完成任务,克服了上述困难,”他说。

联合国常驻加纳协调员Christine Evans-Klock 称,四家机构新近协作在加纳特定地区开展了联合国的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)联合项目,必须加以鼓励。

她指出,联合国以“一体行动”为优先事项,此类合作项目将在全球多地推广,由联合国负责运作,救助民众。联合国人居署、联合国儿童基金会(Unicef)、世界卫生组织(WHO)和联合国开发计划署(UNDP)等联合国四家机构携手执行这个项目,得到诸多受益人与合作伙伴的赞许,取得了成功。

“这一创新项目结合了四家不同机构各自的专长,让他们并肩合作。这也是一个复杂的项目,” Christine Evans-Klock 女士在阿卡拉办公室接受采访时说。

世界卫生组织(WHO)驻加纳主任 Owen Laws Kaluwa 说:“这个项目成功率高,合情合理,因为这是有史以来首次不同的联合国机构一道工作却一体行动。”

他说,世界卫生组织在项目期间派出多名该领域的专家,保障最终的成果符合国际标准。“我们凭借庞大的全球专业人才库,选派一些专家赴加纳负责这个特定项目,”他在一次访谈中说。

“联合国执行这种大规模的项目具有相对优势,因为联合国可以从全球各地最精锐的人才库中选贤任能。在联合国儿童基金会,针对这个项目,我们组建了一个大型团队,在加纳总部和项目现场开展工作。”

联合国儿童基金会的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)事务加纳主管David Duncan对于联合国机构执行这个项目的优势持上述观点。

联合国儿童基金会(Unicef)水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)专家Niall Boot认为,该项目赋予儿童基金会机会,将其专长,即水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH),付诸实践。其它三家联合国机构也得到机会一展所长,结果就是联合国完成了一个出色的项目。

联合国儿童基金会Tamale现场办公室主任Margaret Gwada女士说,项目获得成功,克服了最初的延迟,实现了既定目标。“该项目为水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)部门提供了经验教训。该项目是行业首创,专门针对易受洪灾的社区,建设韧性的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)设施,”她说。

联合国开发计划署(UNDP)驻加纳助理主任Louis Kuukpen称,在加纳部分地区执行水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)项目,证明联合国“一体行动”的平台切实可行。

他对四家不同机构合作开展这个项目表示乐观。这次,联合国脱离了以往的既定轨道;以往这样的项目都由一家机构负责执行。他说,鉴于这个项目规模宏大,经历磕磕绊绊,尤其是在项目初期,是正常现象。

“尽管如此,我还是觉得,如果最初进行了更广泛的磋商,会有助于我们更快地推进项目。看来在项目初期,有的机构没有把项目弄明白。我们本来还可以改善项目的设计,”他说。

Under Delivering as One, UN agencies come to the rescue of Ghanaian villagers

By on 04/06/2018

4 April 2018–Chief Zanman Sambian of Timpant area in Bunkpuguru District of Ghana runs his chiefdom in a democratic way not found in many African communities. As he holds court, the 65-year-old father of 17 welcomes a hodge-podge of his subjects to sit under a shade as the fiery sun pushes the thermometer to the near reaches of 40 degrees. Children, women, the youth- almost anyone able to attend- is allowed the chance to sit and drink from the chief’s deep well of knowledge.

On the day we visit the chief is meeting his subjects to talk about the latest marvel in the locality- a water point that has been delivered by a group of different UN agencies working together in a WASH project aimed at alleviating some of the problems facing some selected Ghanaian communities.

With a population of 163, the area under Chief Sambian was chosen because it was prone to floods with the last serious flood recorded in August 2010 which lasted for one month after one week of continuous heavy rainfall. This community experiences floods on an annual basis. During the floods severe damage was caused to property and some members of the community were displaced. Community members experienced serious health conditions like diarrhea and malaria due to changes in water source. There was no emergency plan in the community to tackle floods. Finally, there was no dump site for solid, organic and inorganic waste.

The situation in Bunkpuguru District is replicated in many of the areas where the WASH in Disaster Prone Communities (DPC) was implemented. With a generous support from the Canadian government, the WASH in DPC provided a change in all the 265 targeted communities, with a 100% access rate to resilient and flood prone water supply infrastructure. Change of attitudes toward sanitation and hygiene is noted in all the intervention sites where open defecation was common.

The National Disaster Management Organization reports they have useful tools for flood preparedness as well as reliable water safety plans which will be mainstreamed into national policy and standards. The design of the flood prone water and sanitation infrastructure is unique in Ghana and have been accepted for integration in the WASH compendium for Ghana and are being integrated in National policies and standards.

Many of the beneficiaries talk of advantages hitherto they could only see in their dreams- health of gheir children has improved thanks to better sanitation; open defecation is a thing of the past; girls are staying in school because of better management of their menstrual cycles and people can better concentrate on economic activities.

This ground-breaking project brought together UN-Habitat (as the lead agency), Unicef, World Health Organisation (WHO), UNDP with the office of the Resident Coordinator providing overall guidance and leadership for the project.

In an interview in Accra, the First Secretary for Development at the Canadian High Commission Mr. Francis Bedros expresses his satisfaction with the achievements made by the project. “We were moved to act to after we saw the devastating floods that affected a huge swathe of the country. We set out to help some 265 communities whose lives had been hugely affected by the catastrophe,” he said.

According to the diplomat, some of the hurdles faced at the beginning were delays in kicking off as well as the high objectives which the project sought to achieve. To mitigate the effects of the floods, the project managed to build resilient infrastructure as well as coming up with disaster management plans,” he said.

Mr. Bedros is also impressed with the unity of purpose exhibited by the four UN agencies involved in the project. “The point of contact into the UN that UN-Habitat provided proved to be the all-important link that was needed to push the project forward. After the few hitches at the beginning the project went on smoothly with timely monthly reports being submitted,” he said.

On his part, the coordinator of UN-Habitat’s Urban Basic Services Branch Andre Dzikus says the unity of purpose exhibited by the various UN agencies was key to delivering a successful project.

“It is the very first time UN partners are implementing a joint programme in Ghana. Four agencies joined effort to implement this project. Beside the initial challenge of bringing them together under the same delivering platform, they have been able to crystalize effort based on a complementary role and mandate to bring this project to a full success, as mentioned by the donor. UN-Habitat as the convening agency of this joint programme, is particularly encouraged for its success,” he said.

The Project Lead Eric Moukoro cites the huge swathe of the country covered as having been a huge challenge. “The project covers nearly 50% of the Ghana superficies with remote communities difficult to access by the nature of their location in flood prone areas. Field interventions required several adjustments in the project initial schedule. The relatively short time to implement all the project activities was also a challenge. With the support from the RC office and the adoption of an Incremental Management Model to deliver the assignment, the project has been able to overcome those difficulties,” he says.

The UN Resident Coordinator for Ghana Christine Evans-Klock, says the novel collaborative efforts of the four agencies that worked on the Joint UN programme on WASH in Disaster Prone Communities (DPC) project in selected areas of Ghana was something that must be encouraged.

According to her, with the UN moving more towards prirotising the Delivering as One platform, such a collaboration would be replicated in many places worldwide where the UN is running projects to help the people. Four UN agencies- UN-Habitat, Unicef, WHO and UNDP joined hands in delivering the project which has been hailed by many of the beneficiaries and partners as successful.

“It was quite an innovative project that managed to get the relative expertise from four different agencies and have them work together. It was also quite a complex project,” Ms. Evans-Klock said at an interview in her office in Accra.

World Health Organisation (WHO) Ghana Country Director Owen Laws Kaluwa says: the success rate of the project was reasonably high considering that this was the first time we were working together as different UN agencies but delivering in unison.”

He said the organisation deployed many experts in the field during the project ensuring that the end result was meeting international standards. “We leveraged on our huge global resource base of professionals and we brought some of them to Ghana for this specific project,” he said at an interview.

“The comparative advantage that the UN has in executing a project of this magnitude is that it can tap into a pool of one of the most talented people from around the world. At Unicef we had a big team dedicated to this project both at the country headquarters and on site.”

This is how the chief of WASH at Unicef Ghana David Duncan views the advantage of having UN agencies carry out the project.

Niall Boot, a WASH Specialist with Unicef, the project gave the agency the chance to practice what it knows best- WASH. The other UN agencies also got the chance to play a part and at the end of the day, the UN delivered a good project.

On her part, the chief of Unicef’s Tamale Field Office Ms. Margaret Gwada says the project was successful and achieved the set targets after the initial delays were overcome. “The project provided learning for the WASH sector as it was the first of its kind- specifically targeting flood prone communities to build resilient WASH facilities,” she says.

To the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Assistant Country Director Louis Kuukpen, the WASH project carried out in parts of Ghana proved that the United Nations ‘Delivering as One’ platform was workable.

He was upbeat that by having four different agencies work on the project, the UN was leaving the beaten path where hitherto, such a project would have been handled by one agency. He says that the hiccups experienced especially at the beginning of the project were normal given the magnitude of what was being undertaken.

“However, I feel that wider consultations at the beginning would have helped us move forward much faster. It appeared in the beginning like some agencies did not understand the clarity of the project. We could have also improved on project design,” he said.

Main Menu