.

联合国人居署副执行主任在非洲城市峰会上告诉非洲城市“我们支持你们”

By on 2018-11-24

20181123日,摩洛哥马拉喀什 —— 在第八届非洲城市峰会政治会议的官方开幕式上,联合国人居署副执行主任维克多 · 基索布(Victor Kisob)发表讲话,称人居署始终支持非洲城市峰会,致力于 “释放非洲城市的潜能,促进非洲的可持续发展”。

基索布先生称,今年非洲城市峰会的主题 “向可持续城市和区域转变:非洲地方政府的作用” 是对地方政府及其他所有人的重要呼吁,倡导评估可持续城市和地方社区发展的举措。

“我们需要相互学习,找到新的办法,在乡村、城镇和城市,改善个人、家庭、社区的生活,尤其是贫民的生活,” 他说。

开幕式一开始,世界城市和地方政府联合组织非洲分会(UCLG-A)秘书长Jean Pierre Elong Mbassi 称,本届峰会将形成切实的推荐意见。塞内加尔达喀尔市市长Soham Wardini 概述了几个优先考虑事项,包括权力下放和发展中等城市。

随后,人居署和非洲开发银行发布了法文版的《2018非洲城市状况报告》。该报告聚焦国际直接投资对非洲城市地区的影响。人居署副执行主任维克多·基索布在会上指出,该报告是审视流入城市的国际直接投资的首份报告。

《非洲城市状况报告》的第一作者Ronald Wall 博士阐明,非洲城市的外国公司和投资者如何在非洲的发展中发挥着关键作用。“我们需要在发挥所长的基础上,创建新的、与我们的优势相关的部门,发展多样性,并使我们的条件更吸引投资者,”他说。

加纳地方政府服务管理办公室服务主管Nana Arthur 博士称,政府机构需要审视吸引投资、同时生产本土产品的关键因素,以助于解决失业问题。

在另一个会议上,非洲塞内加尔、科特迪瓦、喀麦隆、突尼斯、贝宁等国的城市代表与摩洛哥的城市代表、世界城市和地方政府联合组织非洲分会(UCLG-A)、摩洛哥城市机构联合会(MAJAL)、及人居署签署协议,促进交流城市和区域规划方面的做法。

摩洛哥城市机构联合会(MAJAL)主席 Khaddouj Guenou 女士说,“共享同一片地理空间是支撑摩洛哥决策的基础。摩纳哥决定促进非洲各地城市与城市之间在城市规划方面的协作,为30个成员提供专业知识,支持非洲各地的规划能力。”

此前,摩洛哥国土治理、城市化、住房与城市政策大臣阿卜杜勒艾哈德·法斯·费赫里(Abdelahad Fassi-Fihri)为一个会议揭幕。该会议题为“非洲的机遇与挑战”,强调规划对于创建更可持续的城市具有核心意义。他说,摩洛哥致力于建设非洲的“城市外交”,关注城市和区域规划、及权力下放。

UN-Habitat’s Deputy Executive Director tells African cities ‘we stand by your side’ at flagship summit

By on 11/24/2018

23 November 2018, Marrakesh, Morocco – Addressing the Official Opening Ceremony of the Political Meetings discussions at the Africities8 Summit, UN-Habitat’s Deputy Executive Director Victor Kisob, said the Organization had been with Africities from the start working to “unleash the potential of African cities for the sustainable development of the continent.”

Mr Kisob said the theme this year of Africities “The transition to sustainable cities and territories: The role of African local governments“ was a critical call for local governments and everyone else to review the approach to sustainable urban and local community development.

“We need to learn from each other and come up with new ways to improve the lives of individuals, families, communities, especially the poor, in villages, towns and cities,” he said.

At the start of the Ceremony,  the Secretary General of the United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLG-A), Jean Pierre Elong Mbassi said the summit would result in concrete recommendations and Mayor Soham Wardini of Dakar, Senegal outlined several priorities including decentralization and developing medium sized cities.

Later UN-Habitat and the African Development Bank launched the French version of the State of  African Cities Report 2018 which focuses on the impact of Foreign Direct Investment in Africa’s urban areas. UN-Habitat’s Deputy Executive Director Victor Kisob told the meeting that this was the first report to explore Foreign Direct Investment flows into cities.

The overall author of the African Cities Report, Dr. Ronald Wall, explained how foreign firms and investors in African cities can play a major role in the development of the continent. “We need to build on what we are good at and create new sectors that are related to our strengths to diversify and make our profile more interesting for investors,” he said.

Dr Nana Arthur, Head of Service in the Office of the Head of Local Government Service in Ghana said authorities needed to look at the key factors for attracting investment while also at producing their own goods which could help to address unemployment.

At another event, representatives from African cities in Senegal, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Tunisia and Benin signed agreements with counterparts in Morocco along with the United Cities and Local Governments-Africa, the Federation of Moroccan Urban Agencies (MAJAL) and UN-Habitat, to promote exchange of practices in urban and territorial planning.

The President of MAJAL, Ms Khaddouj Guenou, said “sharing a same geographical space underpins Morocco’s decision to promote city to city collaboration on urban planning across the continent and to offer the expertise of its 30 members to support planning capacity across the continent”.

Earlier Morocco’s Minister of National Planning, Urban Planning, Housing, and Urban Policy of Morocco Abdelahad Fassi-Fihri, opened the session on “Challenges and Opportunities in Africa ” stressing the central role of planning in creating more sustainable cites. He said Morocco was committed to building a ‘city diplomacy’ with Africa focused on urban and territorial planning and decentralization.

Main Menu