联合国人居署通过中国的可持续城市联盟扩大联合行动

By on 2019-04-30

徐州市委书记周铁根介绍云龙湖的生态景观修复工程

北京,2019430—— 值中国国家主席习近平宣布成立 “一带一路” 可持续城市联盟之际,联合国人居署宣布扩大协作。 其活动将在中国 “一带一路” 倡议框架内展开,通过新成立的 “一带一路” 可持续城市联盟扩大联合行动。

第二届“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛于4月27日在北京开幕,中国国家主席习近平宣布成立新的“一带一路”可持续城市联盟。人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士也出席了开幕会议。此前一天,谢里夫女士与国家发展和改革委员会副主任签署了新的“一带一路”行动计划。她还与国家发展改革委城市和小城镇中心签署了谅解备忘录。

谢里夫女士在本届“一带一路”论坛政策沟通分论坛的特别会议上发表讲话。她强调,政策、规章和制度的合作可以促进伙伴国家的城市和地区的共同繁荣。谢里夫女士承认文化多样性和气候变化带来的挑战,强调需要使韧性建设成为发展贸易网的基石,在城镇和城市搭建贸易网。在北京会见新成立的国家国际发展合作署副署长周柳军先生时,她谈到同样的话题,传达了同样的讯息。

谢里夫女士首次对华正式访问恰逢第二届“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛。本周早些时候,她在访华之始展开高层会谈,会见了住房和城乡建设部部长和自然资源部部长,及重要国家机构和国际机构的代表。4月27日,她继续访华之行,访问了江苏省徐州市和上海市。

徐州市政府于2018年荣获联合国人居奖,获奖原因是成功地实现了一度重度污染的煤矿中心的生态转型。这座拥有超过1000万户籍人口、400万常住人口的城市在过去20年里面目一新,彰显了城市生态修复的面貌。该市把昔日的煤矿改造成公园、湖泊、或新经济发展区。谢里夫女士分别会见了徐州市委书记周铁根先生和徐州市市长庄兆林先生。双边会谈后,谢里夫女士参观了几个城市公园和湿地,及遗产保护中心、社区综合服务中心。

上海市市长应勇会见执行主任

在访华之行的最后一天,谢里夫女士在上海受到市长应勇先生款待。上海是最早倡导联合国世界城市日的城市。市长先生热情欢迎谢里夫女士。上海市大力支持人居署,致力于保证世界城市日在全球和中国的庆祝活动逐年提升,成为人居署及其全球合作伙伴宣传工作的里程碑。

谢里夫女士还参观了上海世界城市日事务协调中心及新开发银行。新开发银行由金砖国家创建,总部设在上海。她参观了上海市中心田子坊的文创园区,接见了同济大学的校领导和学生,包括建筑与城市规划学院、环境科学与工程学院的师生。

在2018年履职人居署执行主任前,谢里夫女士曾任马来西亚槟岛市长长达七年。在访华之行的最后两天里,她会见上海市领导和官员,对上海市的愿景和决心深表赞赏。在所有场合,她都热情邀请代表们参加人居署即将举行的旗舰活动,包括5月在内罗毕举行的第一届联合国人居署大会、10月在马来西亚槟岛举行的第七届亚太城市论坛、10月在俄罗斯叶卡捷琳堡举行的2019世界城市日庆典、及2020年2月在阿布扎比举行的第十届世界城市论坛。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

UN-Habitat to extend joint engagements through China’s Sustainable Cities Alliance

By on 04/30/2019

Party Secretary Zhou Tiegen of Xuzou explaining the Yunlong Lake eco-restoration realization

Beijing 30 April 2019—Riding on the new Belt and Road Sustainable Cities Alliance announced by President of China Xi Jiping, UN-Habitat has announced more collaborations. These will be done in the framework of China Belt and Road Initiative which will now be extended with joint engagements through the new Belt and Road Sustainable Cities Alliance.

At the opening of the Second Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation in Beijing, on 27 April, President Xi Jinping of China announced a new Belt and Road Sustainable Cities Alliance. The opening session was also attended by UN-Habitat’s Executive Director, Ms. Maimunah Mohd. Sharif. One day earlier, Ms. Sharif and the Vice-Chairman of the National Development and Reform Committee (NDRC) signed a new Belt and Road Action Plan. She also extended the MOU with the China Center for Urban Development (CCUD), under NDRC.

Ms. Sharif addressed a special session of the Belt and Road Forum on the subject of policy connectivity. She underscored that policy, regulatory and institutional cooperation contributes to collective prosperity amongst the cities and regions in partner countries. Recognizing cultural diversity and climate challenges, Ms. Sharif underscored the need to make resilience the basis for the development of trade networks, and in the towns and cities that create these networks. She took up the same issues and messages when meeting in Beijing with Mr. Zhou Liujun, the vice-chairman of the new China International Development Cooperation Agency.

Ms. Sharif’s first official visit to China, at the occasion of the Second International Belt and Road Forum, had started earlier in the week with high-level meetings with the Minister of Housing and Urban-Rural Development and the Minister of Natural Resources, as well as with prominent national and international institutions. On 27 April, she continued her mission by visiting the cities of Xuzhou, in Jiangsu Province, and Shanghai.

The Xuzhou Municipal Government had received the 2018 Scroll of Honour for the transformation it had accomplished of this erstwhile heavily polluted mining center. The city of more than 10 million people and four million residents has reinvented itself over the past 20 years as a showcase of urban eco-restoration. The city has converted erstwhile mining sites in either parks and lakes or new economy development zones. Ms. Sharif was received by the Party Secretary and the Mayor, Mr. Zhou Tiegen and Mr. Zhuang Zhaolin respectively. After bilateral discussions, Ms. Sharif visited several city parks and wetlands, as well as a heritage conservation area and an integrated community center.

Mayor Ying Yong of Shanghai receiving the Executive Director

On the last day of her China visit, Ms. Sharif was in Shanghai where she was received by the Mayor Mr. Ying Yong.  The Shanghai Municipal Government was the original city promoter of the United Nations’ World Cities Day. The mayor welcomed Ms. Sharif warmly and offered strong support to UN-Habitat to ensure that global and national World Cities Day celebrations would be even stronger yearly advocacy milestones of UN-Habitat and its global partners

Ms. Sharif also visited the Shanghai Coordination Center of World Cities Day as well as the New Development Bank, which was founded by the BRICS association and is headquartered in Shanghai. She visited the creative heritage Tianzi Fang quarter in downtown Shanghai and met with the leadership and students of Tongji University, including of the colleges of architecture and urban planning as well as environmental science and engineering.

Having been mayor of Penang, Malaysia for seven years before she became UN-Habitat’s Executive Director in 2018, Ms. Sharif showed strong appreciation for the vision and determination of the city leaders and officials she met in the last two days of her visit. At all occasions, she extended warm invitations to UN-Habitat’s forthcoming flagship events, the first UN-Habitat Assembly in May in Nairobi, the 7th Asia Pacific Urban Forum in Penang, Malaysia and the 2019 World Cities Day celebration in Yekaterinburg, Russia, both in October and the 10th World Urban Forum in February 2020 in Abu Dhabi.

Main Menu