.

联合国人居署在基加利峰会上主持讨论为城市青年创造机会的主题会议

By on 2018-10-12

卢旺达,基加利,20181011—— 联合国人居署根据其在全球城市青年工作方面的丰富积累,分享了 2018 年非洲青年互联城市会议总结的经验教训。

超过 5,000 名与会者参加了青年联合峰会的首届联合国人居署城市青年联络会议,分享关于加强创新、建立强有力伙伴关系、为年轻企业家提供资金以及制定满足青年需求的政策的想法。

会议不仅讨论了非洲青年将全球解决方案改变为应对当地挑战的创新方法,还讨论了为何想出新解决方案是非洲社会、经济发展的关键。

联合国人居署非洲区域办事处主任Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza先生敦促青年人利用好专门支持他们的方案,而肯尼亚马库埃尼郡郡长Kivutha Kibwana)教授则表示,政府必须向青年提供获取机会所需的信息。他呼吁对关于青年人的政策进行审核,评估政策带来的影响,并鼓励非洲政府和所有利益相关方让青年人参与到对非洲整个大陆具有意义的可持续发展过程中来。

“要赋予年轻人权利,就必须先让他们知道自己有权利。大多数普通人错过了机会是因为政策制定者采用的是只针对精英的沟通方式,”他说。

与会讨论小组成员包括青年领袖、企业家和创新者,他们呼吁各国政府与地方政府、私营部门之间建立强有力的伙伴关系,确保政策和方案可辐射整个非洲大陆上青年人的生计。青年领袖还呼吁联合国人居署通过推动《新城市议程》成功实施方案在各个阶段的融合提供强有力的支持。该小组还指出,私营部门不仅在创造就业机会方面至关重要,在指导年轻企业家和初创企业方面也发挥着重要作用。

UN Habitat leads discussions on creating opportunities for urban youth at Kigali Summit

By on 10/12/2018

Kigali, Rwanda, 11 October 2018 –Drawing from its vast experience in working with urban youth globally, UN-Habitat shared lessons learnt at the African Youth Conneckt Urban Session 2018.

Over 5,000 participants attended the inaugural UN-Habitat Urban Youth Connekt Session at the Youth Connekt Summit to share ideas on enhancing innovation, building strong partnerships, financing young entrepreneurs and developing policies that are responsive to the needs of the youth.

The session discussed how Africa’s youth innovate by adapting global solutions to local challenges and how developing new solutions is key to the social and economic advancement of Africa.

The UN-Habitat Director of the Regional Office for Africa, Mr. Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza, urged youth to take advantage of programmes designed to support them, while the Governor of Makueni County in Kenya, Prof. Kivutha Kibwana, said governments must provide youth with the information they need to access opportunities. He called for auditing of youth policies to assess their impact and encouraged governments in Africa and all stakeholders to involve the youth for meaningful and sustainable progress on the continent.

“For young people to be empowered they have to be informed. Most ordinary youths miss out on opportunities because policy makers use means of communication that target only the elite youth” he said.

Panelists including youth leaders, entrepreneurs and innovators called for strong partnerships between national governments, local governments and the private sector to ensure that policies and programmes impact the livelihood of youth across the continent. The youth also called on UN-Habitat to provide strong support by promoting the inclusion of in its programmes at all stages for successful implementation of the New Urban Agenda. The panel noted that the private sector is a critical player in job creation as well mentorship of young entrepreneurs and business start-ups.

Main Menu