联合国人居署副执行主任支持《新城市议程》

By on 2017-06-16

布鲁塞尔, 2017 616日 —— 在欧洲重要的发展政策与合作论坛 “欧洲发展日” 活动期间, 联合国人居署强烈呼吁实施《新城市议程》, 引起关注。

只要加以妥善的规划和管理,城市化就可以成为促进经济发展、社会包容、环境可持续的有力工具。管理优良的城市化可以应对上述问题,提供可持续的解决方案。如何实现这个目标,使用哪些工具是政策实验室(policy lab)的焦点。政策实验室汇聚了南北半球实施《新城市议程》的各方代表。

“《新城市议程》针对城市的规划和管理,目标是实现全球可持续发展,”联合国人居署副执行主任艾萨·基拉博·卡西拉(Aisa Kirabo Kacyira)博士在小组讨论会的开幕词中强调。联合国人居署制定了实施《新城市议程》的行动框架,作为推动可持续城市化和人类住区的焦点。“这个框架阐明了实施《新城市议程》的必要要素,是世界各地的地方政府、区域政府、国家政府和利益相关方促进可持续城市化的优秀工具。”

非洲城市和地方政府联盟(UCLG Africa)秘书长让·皮埃尔·艺龙·穆巴斯(Jean Pierre Elong-Mbassi)强烈呼吁立即行动:“这个星球的未来掌握在城市居民手中。在基多举行的人居三大会通过了《新城市议程》,地方政府宣布是时候行动起来了”。

“如何推动制定国家城市政策”是Global Utmaning组织的Elin Fabre演讲的题目。Global Utmaning组织是《北欧宣言》(Nordic Declaration)的智库。《北欧宣言》是北欧国家实施《新城市议程》的区域性举措。“在多利益相关方的活动中,我们利用瑞典利益相关方团体的庞大网络,归纳切实意见,起草国家城市政策。在6月20日举行的全国城市论坛上,我们将落实这些计划,提交给瑞典政府”,Elin Fabre概括道。

气候变化高层会谈讨论了城市在应对气候变化的战斗中发挥的重要作用。卡西拉博士指出可持续发展目标(SDGs)、《巴黎协定》(Paris Agreement)、《新城市议程》之间的联系:“后者指的是国家、区域和地方如何使用战略工具,实现可持续发展和应对气候变化的目标。”她还强调,全球市长气候与能源盟约是城市气候行动的强大工具。加入盟约的城市有7451个,其人口数为674,790,274,占全球总人口的9.32%。这些城市承诺履行全球市长气候与能源盟约,期盼未来有更多城市加入盟约,加强盟约内的合作。

UN-Habitat Deputy Executive Director roots for New Urban Agenda

By on 06/16/2017

Brussels, 16 June 2017– With a strong call on the implementation of the New Urban Agenda, UN-Habitat marked its presence at the European Development Days, the major forum on development policies and cooperation in Europe.

Urbanization, if planned and managed properly, is a powerful tool for economic development, social inclusion, and environmental sustainability. A well-managed urbanization addresses these topics and provides sustainable solutions. How to achieve that and which tools can be used was the focus of a policy lab which brought together representatives working on the implementation of the New Urban Agenda in the global South and North.

“The New Urban Agenda is all about planning, managing our cities in order to achieve sustainable development worldwide” stressed Dr. Aisa Kirabo Kacyira, Deputy Executive Director of UN-Habitat in her opening remarks to the panel discussion. As focal point for sustainable urbanization and human settlements, UN-Habitat has developed the Action Framework for Implementation of the New Urban Agenda. “This framework aims to set out the essential ingredients for the implementation of the NUA and is a good tool for local, regional and national governments and stakeholders worldwide who are working towards sustainable urbanisation.”

Jean Pierre Elong-Mbassi, Secretary General of UCLG Africa, sent out a strong call for immediate action: “The future of this planet is in the hands of city dwellers. We came from the Habitat III conference in Quito with the New Urban Agenda, and we as local governments say that now it is time for action”.

“How to push for the formulation of a National Urban Policy” was the topic of a presentation by by Elin Fabre from Global Utmaning, a think tank associated with the Nordic Declaration, the regional approach of Nordic Countries towards the implementation of the New Urban Agenda. “In a multi-stakeholder exercise, we draft concrete ideas for a National Urban Policy with our vast network of stakeholder groups in Sweden. At the ‘National Urban Forum’ on 20 June, we will put these plans in concrete terms and present it to the Swedish Government”, outlined Fabre.

In a High-Level Panel on Climate Change, which discussed the important role that cities play in the fight against climate change, Dr. Kacyira drew the connection between the SDG’s, the Paris Agreement and the New Urban Agenda: “The latter is the ‘how’ that offers national, regional and local actors a strategic tool to achieve the targets on sustainable development and climate change.” She also highlighted the importance of the Global Covenant of Mayors as a powerful tool for climate action in cities. 7,451 cities, representing 674,790,274 people worldwide and 9.32% of the total global population, have already committed to the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy, hopefully even more will join and strengthen their cooperation under this umbrella.

Main Menu