联合国人居署呼吁广泛支持应对日益艰巨的减废挑战

By on 2019-05-28

智慧减废城市新闻发布会的发言人。该会议是首届联合国人居大会的平行活动。

内罗毕,2019528—— 联合国人居署呼吁所有国家政府、区域和城市政府加入智慧减废城市运动。

这一运动在2018年10月1日世界人居日期间由麦慕娜 · 莫哈德 · 谢里夫女士发起,旨在支持城市确认废物处理领域的差距,并找到适合每个城市需求的干预举措。

近 70 个城市签字加入智慧减废城市运动。该运动聚焦四个主要行动领域,即知识和优良做法分享、废物数据和监控、宣传、项目开发和融资。

废物处理在地方政府预算中占很大份额,影响公共健康。固体废物收集和处理不佳,会导致肆意倾倒和燃烧垃圾,造成污染。改变公众态度,使废物量减到最低、停止乱扔垃圾、规范拾荒者、提高回收和再利用、充足资金、及建设适用的填埋场以规划固体废物,可以帮助城市改善当前的固体废物管理状况,节约资金,成为“智慧减废城市”。

“我们很高兴加入智慧减废城市运动,5月25日,我们在基西(Kissi)镇组织了一次清扫活动,”肯尼亚基西郡能源、水和环境、自然资源执行委员会成员Skitter Mbugua博士说。“人居署与基西郡合作改善了废物管理,我们还一起制定了本郡的废物管理战略,通过一个试点项目开办了一家废品回收厂。25个青年在这家回收中心工作,他们分拣垃圾,回收塑料,用以制作可用的容器。”

英雄行星(Planet Heroes)组织的Przekek Pyziel先生说,该组织正在创建全世界第一个生态众筹平台。他说:“我们通过网络宣传募集资金,支持决心并努力改变的社区。我们合作支持智慧减废城市,我们将推进这项运动。”

智慧减废城市运动还与英雄行星组织等合作伙伴联系密切。通过把社区组织与积极参与清洁城市或实地回收的废物管理创业者组合配对,将向他们提供资金支持。捐款方将直接在线资助环保活动,支持他们开展工作。

全球有20亿人享受不到城市固体废物收集服务,30亿人无法用到可控的废物处理设施。如果现在不解决这些问题,那么到2025年,垃圾场将产生8%至10%全球人类活动引起的温室气体排放量。

“我们审视影响社区的各项挑战,包括霍乱的频繁爆发等。作为马萨雷非正式住区的青年,我们决定找到废物管理的解决办法。我们每个月从每户收50先令垃圾费。我们给每户提供麻袋作为垃圾袋,然后我们把垃圾收走、运到指定地点。这也为青年提供了就业机会,”肯尼亚马萨雷环保青年组织主席、联合国人居奖获得者Issac Muasa说。

“人居署要感谢参加智慧减废城市运动的所有70个城市和地方政府。他们遵循这项运动的原则,推动可持续的废物管理。我们期待有更多城市和地方政府在本周加入这项运动,”人居署城市基本服务处协调员安德烈·迪兹库斯(Andre Dzikus)先生说。

This is an old version of our website and it is no longer updated. For more updated information, please check our new website

UN-Habitat calls for wide support to address increasing waste challenges

By on 05/28/2019

Speakers at the Press Conference on Waste Wise Cities on the sidelines of UN-Habitat’s first Asssembly

NAIROBI, 28 May 2019 – UN-Habitat has made a call to all governments, regional and city authorities to join its Waste Wise Cities campaign.

The campaign, which was launched during World Habitat Day by Ms. Maimunah Mohd Shariff on October 1 2018, aims at supporting cities identify gaps in their treatment of rubbish as well as finding interventions that suit the needs of each city.

Nearly 70 cities have signed up to the Waste Wise Cities campaign which is focusing on four key action areas namely knowledge, good practices sharing; waste data and monitoring; advocacy; project development and financing.

The disposal of waste accounts for a large portion of the local government budget and affects public health. Poor solid waste collection and disposal results in uncontrolled dump sites and waste burning resulting in pollution. A change in public attitudes to minimize waste and stop littering, the regularisation of informal waste pickers, increased recycling and reusing, sufficient funding and solid waste planning including adequate landfill sites, can help cities to improve the current state of solid waste management and save money to become ‘Waste Wise Cities’

“We are glad that we joined the Waste Wise Cities campaign and on 25 May we held ca lean-up in Kisii town,” said Dr. Skitter Mbugua who is on the Executive Committee for Energy, Water and Environment and Natural Resources for Kisii Count, Kenyay.”. UN-Habitat has worked with Kisii County in improving waste management and together we have developed a waste management strategy for the county and we have a waste recycling plant through a pilot project. We have 25 youth who are working at this recycling centre, they sort out waste and recycle plastics and mould them into usable containers.”

Mr. Przekek Pyziel of Planet Heroes which says it is creating world’s first eco-crowdfunding platform said: “We raise money using internet campaigns to support communities that are determined and working hard to make a difference. We join hands to support waste wise cities and we shall promote the campaign.”

The Waste Wise Cities campaign also ties up with partners such as Planet Heroes,. By matching Community Based Organizations and waste management entrepreneurs who are actively engaged in cleaning cities or recycling on the ground, they will receive financial support for their work from the Patrons, who will directly fund environmental activities online.

Globally 2 billion people do not have access to municipal solid waste collection services and 3 billion people lack access to controlled waste disposal facilities. If not addressed now, dumpsites will produce eight to ten per cent of the global anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions by 2025.

”We looked at challenges affecting our community including frequent Cholera outbreaks, as youths in the informal settlement of Mathare we decided to find a solution for waste management. We collect Ksh.50 per month from each household. We offer the households gunny bags for them to put their waste and we collect and take to designated places. This has also created employment to the youths,” said Isaac Muasa Chair Mathare Environment Conservation Youth group in Kenya and UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour winner.

“UN-Habitat would like to thank all the 70 cities and local governments who have joined the Waste Wise Cities and committed to the campaign’s principles for sustainable waste management. We expect many more cities and local Governments to join during this week,” said Mr. Andre Dzikus, Coordinator of UN-Habitat’s Urban Basic Services Branch.

Main Menu