.

成千上万斯里兰卡学生通过学校花园学习

By on 2018-07-23

斯里兰卡马纳尔,20187—— 通过让学生参与环境友好型活动, 斯里兰卡各地学校的整体表现和出勤率得到了提高。 这为成千上万因冲突而背井离乡后回国的学生带来了希望, 并确保他们的家庭以可持续的方式重新安置。

联合国人居署正在支持在斯里兰卡北部马纳尔地区实施“绿化学校”倡议,这一倡议旨在通过建设中小学校建筑、提供水、环境卫生和个人卫生设施以及建设教师宿舍来改善学习环境。这一倡议预计将惠及一万多名返乡者——其中包括5,500名学生。

“绿化学校”倡议得到了日本政府资助的两个项目的支持——通过社区驱动改善马纳尔地区学习环境的可持续重新安置、改善生计的社区基础设施重建以及北部地区、东部地区女性赋权项目。

“绿化学校”倡议为选定的学校提供了几种树苗,包括芒果、木瓜、番石榴、菠萝蜜和椰子,用于围栏和种植蔬菜地块,还提供了学校园艺套件,包括花园软管、洒水器、铁锹和其他工具。尽管马纳尔地区天气干燥,但在该倡议实施三个月后,四所学校花园中的植物都长势喜人。

通过绿色围栏、学校园艺和植树活动,这一倡议改善了学校的绿化环境。通过持续提供新鲜水果和蔬菜,该倡议将不断促进学校供餐计划。

“每名学生都分配到一棵植物并负责照顾。每种植物都有益处,因为它会结出水果或长成蔬菜。该倡议还鼓励学生在自己的家庭花园中进行园艺活动”,其中一所参与学校的老师M. C. Mary Rejes女士说。

该倡议还有助于给儿童心态带来积极变化。“这些树木和蔬菜将给我们带来很多好处,包括防止土壤侵蚀、遮荫和提供营养。照顾分配给我的植物现在已成为一种爱好,我非常喜欢这一活动,”一名中学生Thiyakarasa Sritharan说。

教师们认为,学校花园和绿色围栏培养了学校儿童的纪律性和责任感,而他们又将健康饮食、自力更生和环保意识等良好习惯传递给家人。家长通过学校发展委员会同经过农业进修部官员培训的员工一起直接参与到学校花园的维护中。

该倡议正在推广到更多学校,联合国人居署致力于确保该倡议的长期可持续性发展。

“绿化学校”倡议鼓励所有利益相关方参与其中,这一倡议得到了农业部、区域教育办公室和马纳尔区秘书处办公室的认可,并得到了当地农民组织和学校发展委员会的支持。

联合国人居署最近对斯里兰卡国家方案的评估表明,2013 – 2017年间总体上和特定项目上都取得了令人满意的成果。这些成就在灾后建设、住房、城市规划、气候变化、减少灾害风险、水和卫生、低收入住区建设和升级以及人道主义救济等领域都很明显。

评估表明,国家方案为“2030年可持续发展议程”的第11项目标以及其他目标都做出了重大贡献,使城市和人类住区具有包容性、安全性、韧性和可持续性。

Thousands of Sri Lankan students learn from gardens in schools

By on 07/23/2018

Mannar, Sri Lanka, July 2018 – Engaging students in environmentally friendly activities is improving overall performance and attendance in schools across Sri Lanka, giving hope to thousands of students who are returning after being displaced by conflict and ensuring their families are resettled in a sustainable way.

UN-Habitat is supporting the implementation of the Greening Our Schools initiative in the northern Sri Lanka district of Mannar which aims to improve the learning environment through construction of primary and secondary school buildings, provision of water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) facilities, and construction of teachers’ quarters. It is expected to benefit over 10,000 returnees –  among them 5,500 schoolchildren.

The Greening Our Schools initiative draws support from two projects funded by the Government of Japan – Sustainable Resettlement through Community-driven Improvement of the Learning Environment in Mannar District and Rehabilitation of Community Infrastructure Improvement of Livelihoods and the Empowerment of Women in Northern and Eastern Provinces.

The Greening our Schools initiative provided selected schools with several varieties of saplings including mango, papaya, guava, jackfruit and coconut for fencing and planting in vegetable plots along with school gardening kits consisting of a garden hose, sprinkler, spades, and other tools. Three months into the initiative, gardens in four of the schools were flourishing despite the dry weather in Mannar district.

Through green fencing, school gardening, and tree planting the initiative has improved the green environment in schools. By providing sustainable supplies of fresh fruit and vegetables the initiative will contribute increasingly to school feeding programmes.

“Each plant has been assigned to a student so they take responsibility for looking after it. Every plant has a benefit as it will bear either fruits or vegetables. This initiative has also encouraged students to undertake gardening activities in their own home gardens,” says Ms. M. C.Mary Rejes, a teacher in one of the participating schools.

The initiative has also helped bring about positive change in the children’s mindsets. “These trees and vegetable plants will give us a lot of benefits including protection from soil erosion, providing shade and nutrition. Taking care of the plant assigned to me has now become a hobby and I enjoy it very much,” says Thiyakarasa Sritharan, a middle school student.

Teachers believe the school gardens and green fencing inculcate a sense of discipline and responsibility among school children who pass on good habits such as healthy eating, self-reliance and environmental awareness to their families. Parents have been involved directly through school development committees with many trained by agricultural extension officers helping to maintain the school gardens.

The initiative is being expanded to more schools and UN-Habitat is committed to ensuring long term sustainability of the initiative.

The Greening Our Schools initiative which encourages participation by all stakeholders has been endorsed by the Department of Agriculture, the Zonal Education Office and the Divisional Secretariat Offices in Mannar district and has the support of local farmers’ organizations and school development committees.

A recent Sri Lanka Country Programme evaluation by UN-Habitat shows satisfactory overall and project-specific results achieved for the period 2013-2017. These achievements were evident in the areas of post-disaster construction, housing, urban planning, climate change, disaster risk reduction, water and sanitation, low income settlements and upgrading, and humanitarian relief.

The evaluation showed that the Country Programme made significant contributions to Goal 11 of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development on making cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable – as well as to other Goals.

Main Menu