.

住房贷款推动非洲实现《新城市议程》

By on 2017-02-13

内罗毕,2017213日 —— 最近,在联合国人居署总部召开的一次工作会议上,非洲负担得起的住房贷款中心(CAHF)发布了《非洲住房贷款年鉴2016》的主要成果。 该中心执行主任Kecia Rust重申, 需要把住房视为一项公共利益, 要保障所有收入群体均能享有适当的住房。 这也是联合国人居署长期以来通过“以住房为本”这一举措倡导的立场。

Kecia Rust女士称,一个国家的住房部门举足轻重,关系到人民的福祉。公共部门与私营部门需要更多地接触与合作,加大对负担得起的住房的干预和投资,如社会保障住房和创新贷款项目等。

 

公共决策者处于主导地位

© 联合国人居署 /Julius Mwelu

“以住房为本”的举措倡导中央和市政决策者在住房开发工作中摆脱原有的次要角色,鼓励他们发挥带头作用,推行包容性贷款政策、加强管理、加大对基础设施的公共投资等。

非洲负担得起的住房贷款中心的《年鉴2016》显示,非洲的抵押市场仍然面临诸多挑战。解决负担不起住房的问题,要求金融机构大胆创新,重新设计抵押贷款方案,服务于中低收入人群。例如,有一个方向可以更广泛的深入,即拉长分期还款的期限,降低月还款金额,以减轻借款人的负担。赞比亚采取了这一方法,为中等收入家庭提供抵押贷款,还款期限长达20年,近期还款期限有望延长至30年。

为了实现所有人的适当住房权,鼓励中央和地方政府为投资者营造赋权的环境,向开发商推行简化的规范,以刺激他们更多地投资开发住房。此外,政府还应加大工作力度,鼓励非政府组织和其它社会运动资助低收入项目。例如,非洲住宅组织(Shelter Afrique)启动了“双五千住房大赛”,表彰以低于5000美元的价格为终端用户设计宜居、可持续住房的创新开发商。该金融机构承诺资助获奖的设计方案在非洲建设5000个住房单位。

此外,各级政府还需要加强监督、数据采集、报告等,以便全面了解非洲市场的供需动态。在这方面,一些国家已经取得了进展:肯尼亚中央银行、坦桑尼亚中央银行、尼日利亚联邦住房贷款委员会公布的季度报告阐述了包括抵押贷款部门在内主要经济指标的表现。

必须把住房视为主要的经济指标,这是因为住房常常带来商品和服务的更大需求。必须改革全套法律体系:税收政策和进口直接关系到住房成本,使用本地生产的材料可以推动创收和就业。提供负担得起的、充足的租赁房这一解决方案对于低收入家庭尤为关键,然而,非洲的城市决策者并未把这一点作为重中之重。

只有重新把住房作为城市发展的核心,并相应地调整政策和法律,才能实现《新城市议程》的目标,建设真正造福非洲乃至全球人民的城市。

非洲大陆的一些国家在全球的经济增长速度最快。如,2015年,埃塞俄比亚的国内生产总值增长率为9.6%,列全球第三,科特迪瓦的增长率为8.4%,列全球第五。坦桑尼亚、刚果民主共和国、塞内加尔、莫桑比克、喀麦隆紧随其后,国内生产总值增长率均高于6%。这些国家的经济不断增长,伴随着中产阶级的膨胀和迅速的城市化,导致住房需求攀升,尤其是对中低收入家庭而言。如,仅撒哈拉沙漠以南非洲地区一地,贫民窟人口就超过200万,占城市总人口的59%。这是非洲各国政府未来要应对的一大挑战。

Don't Miss >

    The Role of Housing Finance in Making the New Urban Agenda a Reality in Africa

    By on 02/13/2017

    Nairobi, 13 February 2017– During a working meeting held at UN-Habitat headquarters recently, the Centre for Affordable Housing Finance in Africa (CAHF) presented the key findings of its 2016 Yearbook on Housing Finance in Africa. CAHF Executive Director Kecia Rust reiterated the need to consider housing as a public good to ensure that adequate housing is accessible to all income groups, a position that UN-Habitat has long been advocating for through the ‘Housing at the Centre’ approach

    Ms. Rust argued that a country’s housing sector plays a crucial role in the overall welfare and well-being of its people. There needs to be increased engagement and collaboration between the public and the private sectors so as to increase interventions and investments in affordable homes such as social housing and innovative finance packages.

    Public decision-makers in the driver’s seat

    © UN-Habitat /Julius Mwelu

    The Housing at the Centre approach advocates for national and municipal decision-makers to step out of their traditional back-seat role regarding housing development and encourages them to take the lead through inclusive finance policies, increased regulations, and stronger public investments on infrastructure.

    CAHF’s Yearbook shows that mortgage markets in Africa still face many challenges. Addressing the affordability gap will require that financial institutions be innovative and bold in redesigning their mortgage packages to target low- and middle-income persons. One of the directions that could be explored more widely, for example, is longer amortization periods to reduce monthly payments, which would lighten the burden on borrowers. This is a route that Zambia has adopted through a mortgage programme for middle-income households that offers repayment periods up to 20 years, with a view of increasing it to 30 years in the near future.

    To realize the Right to Adequate Housing for All, national and local governments are encouraged to create an enabling environment for investors through simplified regulations for developers to incentivize them to invest more in housing development. Additionally, governments could sharpen practices in the sector by encouraging NGOs and other social movements to fund low-income projects. For instance, Shelter Afrique is launching the 5000 for 5000 Home Competition to reward creative developers who will design a livable and sustainable home with a price tag below USD 5,000 for the end user; the financial institution has committed to fund 5000 units of the winning design across Africa.

    Moreover, there is a need for all levels of government to improve monitoring, data collection and reporting so as to fully understand the demand and supply dynamics of the African markets. In this regard, some countries are already making progress: the Kenyan Central Bank, the Tanzania Central Bank and the Nigeria Housing Finance Hub are releasing periodic reports on the performance of major economic indicators including the mortgage sector.

    Housing must be seen as a leading economic index as it often leads to higher demand for goods and services. A legislative overhaul must take place: tax policies and imports carry direct consequences on the cost of housing, and the use of locally produced materials can generate wealth and employment opportunities. Improving access to affordable and adequate rental housing solutions is particularly critical for low-income households, though it has overall not been prioritized by urban decision-makers in Africa.

    Only by repositioning housing at the centre of urban development and adjusting policies and laws accordingly will we be able to realize the New Urban Agenda’s goal to create cities that are truly for all in Africa and across the world.

    The African continent holds some of the world’s fastest growing economies. In 2015, for example, Ethiopia ranked third with a 9.6 per cent GDP growth and Côte d’Ivoire was fifth with 8.4 per cent. Close behind, Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Mozambique, and Cameroon all showcased GDP growths at rates higher than 6 per cent. The ever increasing economic growth of these countries, coupled with the growing middle class and rapid urbanisation have led to heightened housing demand, especially for low- and middle-income households. In Sub-Saharan Africa alone for example, more than 200 million people live in slums, representing 59 per cent of the total urban population. A major challenge for African Governments to address in the coming years.

     

    Main Menu