利益相关方批准在卡加多郡设立废弃物综合管理设施的建议

By on 2018-10-15

联合国人居署文森特·阿基蒂奥在肯尼亚恩贡召开的研讨会上做演讲,图片来自联合国人居署

内罗毕,20181011日 —— 由联合国人居署和肯尼亚政府联合举办的利益相关方研讨会确认了关闭恩贡垃圾场并启用卡加多可持续废弃物综合管理新设施(KISWAM)的环境和社会影响评估结果。 该项目主要利益相关方包括意大利发展合作署、米兰理工大学和卡加多郡政府。 研讨会还审查了意大利政府提供的 2,050 万欧元软贷款资助项目的执行情况。

KISWAM是一个资源回收设施,其中有机物质(占废弃物的60%以上)用来生产沼气和电力,以及通过废弃物回收和再利用重新获得有价值的资源。该设施依靠屋顶太阳能光伏系统生产的电力运行。在选择废弃物转换能源设施使用的技术时,主要考虑因素为确保项目为社会所接受、环境友好并在经济上具有可行性。推荐的技术是生物干燥器和生物反应器相结合,相比其他选择,该技术解决方案更灵活,也更经济。这种强劲的劳动密集型技术预计将创造200个新的就业岗位。

卡加多郡郡长约瑟夫·奥勒·伦库在研讨会发表讲话,图片来自联合国人居署at

卡加多郡郡长约瑟夫·奥勒·伦库先生赞同这一可行性研究的结果,并表示他和政府官员都渴望看到KISWAM项目立即启动并成功实施。值得注意的是,该项目的成功实施将促进在该国其他地区进行推广。环境和林业部秘书劳伦斯·西米图表达了对项目的支持,他说:“我们可以保证,政府会全力支持废弃物综合管理办法,这是现今实现废弃物处理的最佳选择。”

在由人居署城市能源部门主管文森特·阿基蒂奥代为宣读的主旨演讲中,联合国副秘书长兼联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫感谢肯尼亚政府和卡加多郡政府通过对KISWAM项目的积极支持创造了有利的环境条件,使得可行性研究得以成功完成,同时也感谢意大利政府对研究提供的技术和财政支持,。联合国人居署将利用其专业知识,通过创新和分享国际最佳实践,帮助合作伙伴提供基本服务。这些实践方法具有社会接受性、环境友好性和经济可行性,可以在其他地方推广复制。垃圾处理不当不但确实会影响公民的健康,而且排放危险的温室气体也会加剧气候变化。改善卡加多郡固体废弃物管理的倡议符合2018年世界人居日“城市固体废弃物管理”的主题。以环保的方式管理和控制都市固体废弃物是保护本地及全球环境的关键。

意大利发展合作署朱塞佩·卡波塞诺博士赞扬了意大利发展合作署、联合国人居署、肯尼亚政府和其他主要合作伙伴之间的紧密合作,他说这将有助于该项目取得预期的成果。他还表示,“在进行可行性研究时采用的与主要利益相关方磋商的参与式方法,能确保项目的所有权,而这将会产生巨大的成果。”

Stakeholders Endorse Proposed Integrated Waste Management Facility for Kajiado County

By on 10/15/2018

Vincent Kitio from UN-Habitat presenting during the validation workshop in Ngong, Kenya. Photo©UN-Habitat

Nairobi, 11 October 2018 – A stakeholder workshop convened jointly by UN-Habitat and the Government of Kenya has validated findings of the environmental and social impact assessment of closing the Ngong dumpsite and commissioning the new Kajiado Integrated Sustainable Waste Management (KISWAM) facility. Key stakeholders in the project include the Italian Agency for Development Cooperation, the Politecnico di Milano (POLIMI) and the County Government of Kajiado. The workshop also reviewed implementation of the project to be funded through a EURO 20.5 million soft loan from the Government of Italy.

The KISWAM is a resource recovery facility in which organic matter (constituting over 60 percent of waste) is used to generate biogas and electricity, and valuable resources recovered through recycling and re-use of waste. A rooftop solar photovoltaic system will generate electricity to operate the facility. Ensuring that the project is socially acceptable, environmentally friendly and economically viable were key considerations in the selection of technologies for the waste-to-energy facility. The recommended technology is a combination of bio-dryer and bio-reactor units, a more flexible and affordable solution than other options considered. The robust, labour- intensive technology is expected to create 200 new jobs.

H.E Joseph Ole Lenku, Governor Kajiado County in Kenya addressing the workshop participants. Photo©UN-Habitat

Endorsing findings of the feasibility study, the Governor of Kajiado County Mr. Joseph Ole Lenku said he and members of his County Government were eager to see immediate commencement and successful implementation of the KISWAM project. Noting that successful implementation of the project will lead to its replication in other parts of the country, the Environment Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forestry Eng. Lawrence Simitu expressed his ministry’s support for the project. “We assure you of the government’s support for an integrated solid waste management approach which is the best option today for waste treatment,” he said.

In her keynote speech delivered by Chief of the Urban Energy Unit Mr. Vincent Kitio UN Under – Secretary General and Executive Director of UN-Habitat Mme. Maimunah Mohd Sharif thanked the Government of Kenya and the County Government of Kajiado for creating an enabling environment for successful completion of the feasibility study through active support for the KISWAM project and the Government of Italy for its technical and financial support for the study. UN-Habitat will leverage its expertise to help partners deliver basic services through innovation and sharing of international best practices that are socially acceptable, environmentally friendly and economically viable using processes that can be replicated elsewhere. Improper disposal of waste does affects the health of the citizens and contributes to climate change through emission of dangerous greenhouse gases. The initiative to improve solid waste management in Kajiado County is in line with the 2018 World Habitat Day theme – Municipal Solid Waste Management. Managing and controlling municipal solid waste in an environmentally adequate manner is key for protecting our local and global environment.

Dr. Giuseppe Caposeno of the Italian Agency for Development Cooperation commended close collaboration between the Italian Agency for Development Cooperation and UN-Habitat, the Government of Kenya and other key partners saying it will enable the project to achieve its desired outcomes. “The participatory approach adopted during the feasibility studies whereby major stakeholders were consulted guarantees project ownership which will produce tremendous results,” he noted.

Main Menu