.

肯尼亚北部的难民和当地居民欢聚一堂载歌载舞庆祝日本资助的项目

By on 2017-07-20

Kalobeyei2017720—— 肯尼亚图尔卡纳郡 Kalobeyei 难民营举行毕业典礼, 载歌载舞庆祝学员们获得日本技术证书。

日本驻肯尼亚大使馆一秘伊藤与(Ito Yo)先生向当地学员和难民学员们颁发了证书。他提醒毕业生们要把学到的正当谋生的技能付诸实践。

“日本政府很荣幸成为这个高尚项目的一员。我们很高兴并向所有推动这一培训项目的合作方表示祝贺。我们愿继续支持肯尼亚为人民谋福祉,”他说。

培训的技术是Do-nou,日语意为麻袋土料,即使用麻袋装填沙子、农业土壤或碎石。因为这项技术使用基础工具,而非昂贵的机械,所以是很好的替代技术,尤其是在农村地区。

培训项目由日本政府资助,联合国人居署、日本和平之翼(PWJ)和肯尼亚社区公路赋权组织(CORE)合作实施。培训为期八天,两名当地学员和两名难民学员参加了肯尼亚西部的肯尼亚公路和建筑技术学院(Kenya Institute of Highways and Building Technology)、Kisii培训中心的进阶培训,得到难得的机会进行考察和学习。

基础设施工程培训成果如下:

  • 对50名学员进行低成本耐久公路的建筑技术培训
  • 对20名学员进行使用本地建材建造蓄水池的培训
  • 使用Do-Nou技术建造530米公路(包括Kalobeyei的250米路段)
  • Kalobeyei新难民营的280米公路。公路建设由学员推动完成
  • 对学员开展实践培训
  • 在Kalobeyei镇附近建造库容1万立方米的水坝,促进更广大地区的水安全。水坝建设是地方社区培训和技术转让活动的组成部分

今天早些时候,伊藤先生正式启用Kalobeyei新难民营的蓄水池。这一设施同样由日本政府资助,本地居民赞誉它是天赐之物。“收到这份礼物,我们非常感激,因为它对我们解决问题大有帮助,”蓄水池建设团队主管Geoffrey Eweet先生称。

蓄水池除供应生活用水和牲畜用水,还用于小农农业,造福社区。Kalobeyei难民营由图尔卡纳郡政府、联合国人居署、联合国难民署(UNHCR)于2015年创建,得到日本政府支持,向难民和收容难民的本地社区提供综合服务。

“我常常收到多家机构的诉求,要求解决干旱和半干旱地区的问题。蓄水池是我们缓解此类问题的办法之一,我相信它将有助于Kalobeyei人民创建更美好的未来,”伊藤先生补充说。

在毕业典礼上,地区主管Kevin Ekomwa称,蓄水池和培训证明日本政府以人民的利益为本。“我很高兴日本和平之翼和联合国人居署努力推动难民和本地居民携手共进。我唯一的期望是我们建造更多的蓄水池,造福更多的本地居民,”他说。

培训项目的两名难民学员,刚果民主共和国的Chizungu Muchumbi和南苏丹的Daniel Ongejuk,代表5个国家的同事们发表讲话,表示希望拿到工作许可证,以便于把他们所学的技能付诸实践。

“这将有助于我们正当谋生,不再依赖食物配给,”Chizungu Muchumbi说。

Simon Njuguna幼时是流浪儿童,接受了Do-nou技术的培训后,现在成功经营着一家公司。他呼吁毕业学员创建自己的公司,参加政府的投标。

肯尼亚社区公路赋权组织(CORE)的Yuka Ikamura女士说,她很满意新学员建造的公路质量。她补充道,学员们的热情令她难忘。她承诺帮助寻找办法,帮助难民拿到工作许可证,与相关机构和政府部门共同合作。

日本和平之翼的Akemi女士说:“你们学以致用,令我感动。现在要靠你们了,要努力工作,使你们的生活更加美好。”

联合国人居署的Yuka Terada女士说:“联合国人居署承诺给予长期支持。我们将继续与难民和难民营展开合作。”

Song and dance as Japan funded project unites refugees and host community in northern Kenya

By on 07/20/2017

Kalobeiyei, Kenya 20 July 2017—Song and dance marked the ceremony where trainees of a Japanese technology were issued with certificates at Kalobeiyei Settlement  in Kenya’s Turkana County.

Awarding the certificates to the graduates – which was a mixture of the host community and refugees- First Secretary at the Japan Embassy in Nairobi Mr. Ito Yo challenged them to put into practice what they had learnt to earn themselves a decent living.

“The Government of Japan is happy to be part of this noble project. We are also happy and wish to congratulate all those who collaborated to deliver this training. We will continue to support you people in your endeavours,” he said.

They were trained in Do-nou technology which is Japanese word which means wrapping soil in a gunny bag. It involves use of gunny bags filled with sand, farm soil or gravel. Because it uses basic tools as opposed to expensive machinery, it has been found to be a good alternative especially in rural areas.

The training which was sponsored by the Government of Japan was a joint effort between UN-Habitat, Peace Winds Japan and Community Road Empowerment (CORE). At the end of the 8 day training four of them- two from the host community and two refugees- were taken for further training at the Kenya Institute of Highways and Building Technology and Kisii Training Centre in western Kenya, thus giving them a rare opportunity to travel and learn.

The outcomes of the training for infrastructure works are:

  • Training of 50 people on low cost and durable road construction technologies,
  • training of 20 people on water pan construction using locally available materials,
  • Construction of 530 meters of road using Do-Nou Technology (250 meters stretch in Kalobeyei town 280 meters in the Kalobeyei new site). The road construction was effected trainees as part of their practical training.
  • Construction of a 10,000M3 capacity dam near Kalobeyei town to boost water security in the larger area. The dam was constructed as part of local community training and technology transfer activities

Earlier in the day, Mr. Ito officially opened a water pan in the same area. The pan that was also funded by the Government of Japan was hailed by area residents as a godsend. “We are very grateful for this gift because it will go a long way in addressing some of our problems,” Mr. Geoffrey Eweet who was the team leader for the group that constructed the pan said.

Apart from providing water for domestic and animal use, the pan will also be used for small holder agriculture by the benefitting community. The Kalobeyei Settlement was established in 2015 between the Turkana County government, UN-Habitat and the UN Refugee agency, UNHCR, with support from the Japanese government to provide integrated services to refugees and local host communities.

“I have often seen appeals by many agencies to address the problems of arid and semiarid areas. This water pan is our way of contributing to mitigating such problems and I am sure it will help the people of Kalobeiyei to move to a better future,” Mr. Ito added.

Addressing the graduation ceremony, the area chief Kevin Ekomwa said the water pan and the training were proof that the Government of Japan had the interest of his people at heart. “I am also happy that Peace Winds Japan and UN-Habitat are working hard to see that refugees and the local people work hand in hand. My only wish is that we will get more water pans to benefit more of the locals,” he said.

Two refugee beneficiaries, Chizungu Muchumbi from DR Congo and Daniel Ongejuk from South Sudan, speaking on behalf of their colleagues from a total of 5 countries, expressed the wish to be helped to get work permits so they could put into practice what they had been taught.

“This will also help us to earn a decent living and stop relying on food rations,” said Muchumbi.

A former street boy who has trained in Do-nou technology and is now running a successful company Simon Njuguna challenged the graduates to form their own companies and look for tenders from the government.

Ms. Yuka Ikamura from CORE said she was satisfied with the quality of roads built by the new graduates adding that she was impressed by the enthusiasm they had shown. She promised to help explore ways of helping the refugees get work permits, working together with the relevant agencies and government departments.

Ms. Akemi from Peace Winds Japan said: I am impressed by the fact that you are putting into practice what you have learnt. Now it is up to you to work hard and make your lives better.”

On her part, Ms. Yuka Terada from UN-Habitat said: UN-Habitat promises to be around for some time and we will continue to work with the refugees and the host community.”

Main Menu